We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't think I would like it but I did” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I didn't think I would like it but I did”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I spent a few nights here recently for work and was most surprised. I had visited the hotel and thought it lacked atmosphere. However, when staying there the experience was very different. The bar area is welcoming, the service quick and friendly and the area very clean. There is also a poolside bar with fire pit tables, although I didn't see them lit. You can dine out there also. The room had a balcony looking across the bay to Downtown Dan Diego and the Coronado Bay Bridge. The sunrise in the morning, from this location was quite the way to start the day! The bathroom was very spacious and the bath tub huge! The meeting rooms upstairs were well laid out with large open windows to the water. A great view when you have been in presentations all day. There is a water taxi to Downtown San Diego but I had my car so drove customers to dinner. All in all, a great place to have a smaller conference.

Room Tip: Say you want a balcony on a lower level. I don't like having to walk for miles to and from my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aukgalgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    455
    136
    48
    25
See reviews for
397
354
31
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent eight nights at the resort partially for business and partially on vacation. The place is clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and genuinely cares about you and your comfort. The place is very relaxing with a view of the San Diego bay and the San Diego Skyline. Although the place seems remote from everything, it is actually minutes away from the San Diego downtown and the beautiful and quaint Coronado downtown. The amenities are abundant and although the hotel has its own restaurant with a limited menu, it is within walking distance from the Ferry Landing with many wonderful eateries and shops. We would definitely to try to go back given the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valiant10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a very nice property. All employees were very professional, courteous and polite. Room rate for our group was very reasonable. I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast buffet is very good albeit a bit overpriced at $22 (as best I can recall) A couple days I couldn't find the butter at the buffet and had to ask for it which was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmishesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

As a biz traveller, I stay in plenty of hotels and many are Marriott. This property is wonderful in every way - well appointed rooms, fabulous location and views, good food (somewhat hotelly though), excellent service and staff, very nice fitness facilities and pools. Didn't use the spa. We walked 6 minutes on the sea walk to a nice water front dinner at Il Fornaio. Maybe I just picked the right dates, but the rates were good. Extremely competitive to hotels in downtown. And a much more tranquil place. Ask for a bay front room! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FishSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had an absolutely fabulous wedding and reception here and have told everyone. The setting, staff, food could not be beat. The wedding planner, Indira, was the best. I had a Spa day on sight and felt very pampered. All of the suggestions for tours made our added stay so much fun.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldiekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Last year we had our wedding at the Marriot. Can I tell you how perfect and beautiful it was?! The staff made our day fabulous, the rooms were great, and the whole environment was beautiful. We are lucky to have such a great place to have our anniversaries at. There is so much to do in walking distance and downtown San Diego is so close by water taxi. If anyone has questions I would be sure to answer honestly. THANK YOU SAN DIEGO!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayshan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
1.0 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Property: Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing