We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back every summer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We will be back every summer!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have 2 young boys that still talk about this place and it's been a month since we were there. The hotel is a little older but there was plenty of space in the room, super fluffy bedding, it has an updated bathroom with deep bath and separate glass shower -- and the patio on our first floor room was super spacious. The location is amazing. You literally are right on the bike path which is right on the water. I know a lot of people flock to the Del Coronado Hotel side of the island but for someone who's staying for a few days, I think there's way more available to you staying at the Marriott that's within walking distance. We literally walked to the shops/restaurant area at the Ferry Landing (only a 5 minute walk and you MUST go to Village Pizza - best. pizza. ever!!) probably 3 times a day and it was a beautiful, super easy walk even for my 4 year old. We met locals walking their dogs and everyone is super friendly (who could be mad living on an island, right?!). The check in process at Marriott was quick and simple (very sweet front desk gal) and upon arrival, we had a gift from the Concierge -- warm cookies and delicious fresh fruit -- nice touch!! We also went to Sea World one day and it only took about 10 minutes to drive to. The only things I'll mention as not-so-great: the traffic on Coronado was not something I was expecting and there are a few areas that only have 2 way stop signs that can get a little hairy to drive through. Second, the breakfast buffet at the hotel is pricey and doesn't have a whole lot. For 4 of us it was over $70 and that was with the 4 year old being free. The underground parking on property was also about $25/day. We still give the whole experience with Marriott 5 stars and my entire family wants to make this an annual event. I rave about this place to everyone. Seriously, look at the picture. That's the view FROM MY ROOM.

Room Tip: ask for the first floor facing the bridge side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    502
    152
    50
    25
See reviews for
446
395
33
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice resort right on the water, but I'm currently sitting on the floor next to the door in order to get a consistent $12.95 internet connection. You can connect anywhere in the room, but only for a minute or two before losing the wireless signal. Not exactly the way most of us want to work. Additionally, I cannot use the internet I paid for in the conference area! I have to go to a "public" area (where it's "free") or return to my room just to check emails. Why is it that the hotels that charge for wireless have the worst network connections? I don't seem to have this problem with hotels offering free internet. Perhaps part of the problem is paranoia that you might use a connection that's free and they lose their $13 buck a day?
Also, this may be a CA thing, but you must actually leave the property to have a smoke, except for one small area near the front doors, quite a hike from the rooms.
So, if you dont smoke and don't want to use the net, it's great. Otherwise, choose another hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms have balcony, but no smoking out there. Choose a 2nd or 3rd floor room for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

THE HOTEL: The property was very clean and tidy. Fresh paint and beautiful landscaping. The pool and hot tub are big and the area around it is very nice. The restaurant we didn't use but the outside dining area looked attractive and at night the burned decorative heaters to take off the chill. By the pool at night, they also had a bonfire pit that was in use to anyone who wanted to sit there. Pool is open late, real nice. There are many small ponds on the property with ducks in them. Walking paths all over and they lead to a main large public path infront of the property that runs the shoreline. About a 7 minute walk up the shore and you arrive at the Coronado Village where there's shops, restaurants and also where the ferry across the bay is located.

THE ROOM: It was good, nothing to say, write home about but it fit the bill. It seemed like some things were updated while other things were not. Overall though, nothing to really complain about other than we just wish we had a microwave in the room. We only had a mini fridge.

CUSTOMER SERVICE AND CONCIERGE: We had great experiences with all the staff on the property we encountered. All friendly and courteous. If you are not familiar with the area, I highly, highly recommended talking to the concierge. My wife and I tried to discover San Diego on our own for a couple hours and wound up frustrated and back at the hotel having accomplished nothing. We talked to the concierge and got so much great advice from her as well as maps, and flyers of local attractions. We got a ton of pointers and do's and don'ts. What a lifesaver!!

PARKING: As we discovered, daily rates are $30/valet, $25/self park, or park on the street directly infront of the hotel 24/7 for FREE! There are also plenty of free lots right around the hotel but we managed to find a spot on the street every time. Save your $$.


A FEW TIPS:
If you plan on staying mostly on Coronado Island then this would be a great location. If most of what you're planning is in San Deigo I'd recommended a different location to stay. To drive to Downtown San Deigo is fairly quick but the on and off ramps into San Deigo off the Coronado bridge gets quite confusing and signs are terrible. There's limited parking in Downtown and it can get expensive too so you're better off taking the ferry but it has it's pluses and minuses too. If you take the Ferry, I recommended getting on before 9am (check the actual schedule) because it's FREE in the early morning and you also receive a FREE return voucher. Otherwise expect to pay about $4plus each way per person. The Ferry ride is about 15 minutes but you may find yourself waiting almost an hour if you miss one for the next one to take you. Otherwise you need to either take a ferry across which runs once per hour

Room Tip: Recommended for those who plan on staying mostly on Coronado Island for their stay. All rooms appear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Marriott is a nice place. The service was friendly and spot on. The concierge was helpful in filling all my requests and hise restaurant recommendations both in Coronado and San Diego were excellent.
We had a great week there. The views are stunning. The pool is good. The landscaping was quite spectacular and everything was kept neat and trimmed.There is NO beach, but the island has a walking/bike path right off the hotel. The ferry landing area is a 5-10 minute walk, with restaurants, groceries, fast food, and shopping.
Was not impressed with any of the food we had at the hotel, so would not eat there unless no other choices were available. I rented a car and just parked it on the street outside the hotel. Never had a problem finding a parking space.
We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool and across to San Diego. The room was very spacious and well maintained. Housekeeping was perfect.
We would return.

Room Tip: loved our room overlooking the pool and out to San Diego with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here while visiting family over the holidays. The room was huge and well appointed and the bathroom was very clean...love that!

We ate in the lobby bar and the tacos were yummy! The servers were friendly considering they had to work Christmas day.

The staff was extremely helpful and because I'm a Marriot member the Wi-fi was free. The only complaint I have is the parking fee...a bit much at $30.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisualGirl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This "Resort" does not deserve that label. There's nothing resort about it. The rooms were well appointed, but outdated. The balcony in the room had spider webs and it was dirty. The walkways are in a need of power washing..Everything was dirty except the lobby. The staff was very attentive and professional. It cost $30 per night to valet park or $25 for self park.
At the pool there was no one to move chairs or help with towels. They also did not have enough people to get a drink or serve any food. We ended up going to the market and making sandwiches..The landscaping was not kept up. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone...

Room Tip: Try to get a bay view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maruchi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific ocean
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for business, safe neighborhood, uncrowned pool, nice restaurant, fantastic Cottage Rooms, for this level price range hotel it was excellent. A 7 minute walk to stores and shops, but that distance kept it quiet and safe feeling. Pool had chaises with cushions. Nice park for kids next door. Coronado business district was clean and safe. Best to have a car to get around. Staff very nice, room well equipped.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
274 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,742 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing