We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Way to Stay on the Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, VA
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Stay on the Bay!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! A great location tucked just below the Coronado Bridge, it has a great peaceful vibe, activities galore, access to a nice running/walking path along the water as well as the waterfront shops of Coronado...it is spacious, yet you feel as if in a quaint village. The staff is great from the valets to the desk, restaurant and other service personnel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonparkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    513
    158
    51
    25
See reviews for
468
405
33
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have enjoyed the Marriott on Coronado Island for about 13 years now! Since CA is close, every year we talk about buying a summer home to escape the heat of Arizona. But when you have a hotel like this one, on Coronado, why would you want to spend your summer doing laundry, cooking and making up your own bed!! :D
They do it all for you so you can relax and chill by the pool. Check them out, and for a special treat, book one of the villas on the property!

Room Tip: We like the bayside room for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Let me start by saying the place is in a great location. We were able to walk to the beach, stores and restaurants. The views are wonderful and the staff is very friendly. The pools are great, a large one usually loaded with kids, and a smaller one that, when we went, we were the only ones there.

We were there for 3 nights and 2 of the 3 nights were terrible. Our room was on the first floor (our 1st mistake), just down the hall from the entrance (our 2nd mistake). The room above us sounded like a herd of elephants were occupying it the 2nd & 3rd night. And they were active most the night. Through out the day and into the night we heard the luggage racks going up & down the hall, kuchunk, kuchunk, kuchunk as they wheeled past our room on the tile floor - this was ever day/night.

IF we go back, and that's a big IF, we will request a top floor room farthest from the entrance/elevators.

The additional reason I say IF is because the 2nd day there our room didn't get cleaned. We called and they sent someone fairly quickly, which was nice. But they forgot to replenish some towels, so we had to call again. We also requested a new iron since the one in the room had a short in it and it would only work if you held the cord a certain way. The new iron never arrived so we made due. I know it doesn't sound earth shattering, but it's kind of disappointing for a Marriott.

We travel quite a bit and have stayed at other places on Coronado without issues. Even though they have lots of positives going for them, we will look at other places first for our next trip.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near entrance or elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our 3rd time to stay here and it is always superb!! Terrific location-quiet, yet close to everything. We could walk to good restaurants, the beach/harbor, etc. Good room service too!!We are returning this September for the Vintage Auto Races.

Room Tip: They are all good. Especially the one we had that was next to the hot blonde's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I recently visited the San Diego area and stayed at the Marriott Coronado Island Resort. The view of the San Diego skyline was fabulous, especially in the evening. You can take a nice stroll along the water to the Ferry Landing where you can grab a bite to eat, shop, or catch the ferry to San Diego. A quick ride or if you want to walk and you are around area restaurants. I felt that the location of the hotel was fantastic. The hotel was up-to-date, the rooms were spacious, and the staff eager to help. We ate the restaurant once. The food was good, the service was slow. The only complaint I have was that the cell service was less than desirable. In fact, I think it was the worst I've every had in a hotel. Looking up a location of a restaurant or menu would take forever, it it happened at all. So, instead I or the whole family would have to go down to the concierge desk to view a menu to ensure everyone could find a dish they liked. Not a big deal, but it would have been more convenient to do it quickly at the pool or in our room. In spite of that, I would definitely stay at the Marriott Coronado Island Resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoRC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on three occasions, most recently, for my sister's wedding. The property is beautiful and my kids loved the flamingos and pool, but beyond that, it is similar to other hotels of the same caliber.

Room Tip: Ask to face the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel was wonderful, the staff was great. The only complaint is they have no laundry rooms and with 3 children that is always needed and the $25 self park is crazy high. Easy walk to eat, great pool, loved the water taxi. No need to drive which is always nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 916sacmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing