We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were so blessed to be able to stay at the Marriott Coronado Island for our daughter's wedding. From the beginning the staff was so helpful, offering us a room rate that was extraordinary for a hotel of this quality. Our entire stay was wonderful and everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff was so helpful. The parents of the bride and groom as well as the newlyweds' rooms were all upgraded at no extra charge. One of the guests left a favorite mirror in her room which was returned to her by mail at no charge. There is ample parking on the street for those who choose not to use the garage, and best of all, it is walking distance to all the amenities around the Ferry landing area and Centennial park, where our wedding was held. There are great views of the water, the bridge, and especially the city skyline after dark. Overall, we could not have asked for a better experience, especially for such an important occasion. I really hope to return soon and so do the new couple! We were actually there in May of 2010 but the memory is still so sweet I felt I had to review it.

Room Tip: Views of the city are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    497
    148
    50
    25
See reviews for
437
392
33
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great rooms all with balconies. Flamingos, health club and two pools. Bike rental was convenient but almost double in price. The location is close to Ferry not near the open ocean beach or the famous Hotel Coronado. Health Club has exercise classes including Yoga. The spa prices are high. 60 minutes massages for $ 180!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful inside and out. I had no complaints during my stay. The grounds are so beautiful that a whole vacation could be spent there. No bad reports for any of the helpful and friendly employees. Wish every hotel rental could be as positive as this one. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This beautiful hotel is in a perfect setting, including the flamingoes out the front of the hotel. A short walk to the ferry to mainland San Diego, but no need to leave Coronado or the hotel as there is plenty to see and do and in such lovely surroundings. Our room was wonderful, so light and airy with a balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linbylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, PA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Just being on Coronado is a huge plus, but the 10-minute walk to the ferry and the bay view made out stay that much better. The accommodations were far more than acceptable and the resort (pool, not tub, bar, restaurant, etc.) added to the experience. We felt a touch nickel-and-dimed on a couple of things and so five stars were out of the question. But we departed feeling like this was a great alternative to staying at one of the big city hotels.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank A_and_B_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott47, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments, we truly appreciate the feedback. Our apologies if you felt some of our ancillary charges were too high; I will personally look into the charges and ensure that the expenses are similar to other San Diego Resorts; if not we will adjust. Once again, thank you for staying with us, we appreciate it.

Sincerely
Tim Herrmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Everything about the hotel was wonderful. The staff were extremely helpful and all had very contagious "sparkly" attitudes. The room was very clean and large. We had a room overlooking the pool area and had a fantastic view of the San Diego skyline. We didn't rent a car as we were able to take a water taxi or ferry over to San Diego walk or take public transportation to just about everything we desired. We will definitely stay at the Marriott Coronado Island Resort again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank only1cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott47, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
A sincere thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us, we value your feedback and will share the observations with our associates, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely
Tim Herrmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We considered many hotels in San Diego but made the right choice by staying here. It is a beautiful hotel across the bay with lovely views of the city.

Our room faced the pool and was very spacious. The pool was good as was the gym.

We used the hotel ferry service which cost €6 each way which was convenient for getting around the city which we did by the trolley bus on a two day pass.
Breakfast was reasonable and there are two superb restaurants within walking distance.
The staff were excellent and booked for us.
The only complaint was the cost of the car park which was € 100 for three nights which we thought was expensive.

Room Tip: Pool facing was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdithWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott47, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank for the comments regarding your stay here at the Coronado Island Marriott Resort. We value your input and agree with you 100%, we are the pefect place to stay! Thank you for staying with us, hope to see you again.

Sincerely
Tim Herrmann, Genaeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing