We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently stayed at this property for a midweek R and R and found it to be exactly what I needed. Large, clean rooms with fantastic views, a friendly and attentive staff and a good restaurant. I enjoyed being able to wander the grounds and the easy access to the attractions on the island. I arrived early and checked in well before the posted time which was much appreciated and relaxed for my entire stay.
This would be a great location for those looking for a quick get-away or a romantic weekend in San Diego!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are great and offer views of San Diego and all the ships coming up the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PassTravelF00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    449
    133
    48
    25
See reviews for
391
340
31
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went for business. The rooms were clean and the service in the hotel was good. It was easy walking distance to several shops and eateries. The concierge was very helpful. The menu was limited in restaurant but the food was good. The only down side after eating there for several days while at the conference I wish they had more of a selection. The atmosphere and setting was wonderful. Overall a very good experience. The bedroom was roomy and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Aside from one complaint I heard from a coworker (found a dirty band aid in his room, for two days), this hotel was very nice. the concierge was very helpful to me, the food served was great. never have I has better scallops! The Pacific Cobb salad was good, even if it had a little too much dressing. The waitstaff was a little lacking on.our last day, but overall it was fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaKat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Earlier this month we had a 2 night stay at the Marriott Hotel on Coronado before joining a cruise sailing from San Diego. A large comfortable bedroom overlooked the Bay, with wonderful views of San Diego. Extremely helpful, friendly reception staff and conceirge (Norma??), who made enquires for us, as to where we could find a camera shop in San Diego. We were too busy sightseeing, to make much use of the excellent facilities the hotel has to offer. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for comfort, peace and quiet, attractive grounds to wander in or just sit by the pool. A path along the waterfront takes you to the ferry landing, cost $8 to get over the Bay. It was a $25-28 taxi/cab ride from the airport, but well worth staying on Coronado. We could not have found anywhere better to have stayed.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Bay, especially for the night time views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasider63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I spent a few days there recently while at a conference. A very nice place to stay at the wonderful Coronado Island. Good location with nice views and scenic routes for jogging. There is a very nice patio with a bar and pools for relaxing. Can be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustatorius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Returned for a quick 3 day visit to celebrate a birthday. Front desk staff are among the best that we've experienced nation-wide as loyal Marriott guests. Treated to an upgrade that provided a relaxing, peaceful space. A pesky ant infestation was handled efficiently, but villa left with insecticide smell that forced us to the cold patio with all doors and windows open for hours. Still, the managers including Emily, Natalie, etc were responsive and we will return ... recommend highly.

Room Tip: Communicate ahead of time what you are looking for in a room; always an important part of a successf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veritasboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I visited this property for our "babymoon", and had a wonderful stay. The staff was polite and very attentive. The room was spacious, albeit a little dated.

The facilities are in good shape, and we took advantage of the pools, hot tubs, tennis and basketball courts.

While you may be tempted to find a hotel right on the beach, I would argue that the Marriott Coronado is the best location on the island. You are only a few blocks to tons of restaurants, coffee shops, and a grocery store. It's an easy commute to downtown Coronado (less than 5 minutes), and street parking is easy. We didn't pay for parking the entire week, plenty of spots around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
1.0 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,156 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Property: Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing