We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here in September. The hotel was nice and clean as you'd expect. I did not stay on any Marriott points, so I paid for everything - which you got the sense that if they could charge you to breathe the air, they would. Only thing complimentary was the morning paper. I stayed durign the week, and never saw the pool bar open for business. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had ample space. I ate breakfast on campus and found the staff very helpful and attentive. Food was as you'd expect. The have a fitness room which has mostly cardio, but they do have some free weights and machines, so you can squeeze in a decent workout. There is also a beach path out front which is good for running.

Another bonus is that you can walk up the street to Orange ave and grab dinner, or a beer. Plenty of spots to choose from there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank offshore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    436
    133
    47
    25
See reviews for
368
336
31
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my 3rd night in San Diego and decided to spend Sunday night in a little more mellow area (I had stayed the previous 2 nights in the Gaslamp district). The grounds are very pretty and the pool is a decent size. It was Sunday so it wasn't very busy.

Getting checked in still took a decent amount of time, nothing of major concern but we did eat at the restaurant on the grounds and it did take forever. I don't believe it was our servers fault (Jose had a great personality and was attentive) but this was beyond slow, over 20 minutes to get our appetizers and then the food was another 30 minutes. On Monday when we sat down just to get a small snack and a few drinks, after 15 minutes we just got up and left because no one had ever approached us...even after I left the host know.

The rooms were very nice, spacious but I'm not a fan of first floor units due to security reasons so make sure your patio is locked. Bed was nice, and the bathroom was above average. Felt this was a nice "beach" style resort. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My family and I enjoyed staying yet another vacation at the Marriott Coronado this summer. As always, the rooms were clean, staff friendly and location great. The children enjoyed the close proximity to the beaches and Tidelands Park Playground as well as the hotel pool. We all enjoyed ferry rides across the bay to different destinations as well as walking along the promenade to restaurants.

This is an older hotel, but it has been renovated. The breakfast buffet serves the standard fare you would expect and the food is average. The location makes this our go to place for Coronado vacations!

Room Tip: South side bay view has the best views or the pool, downtown San Diego and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ4Moi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is right across the bay from downtown. The cab ride was about 10 minutes from the airport. The hotel is spread out in pods, so it makes the hotel feel intimate and peaceful. I loved the pool because it never seemed really busy. The bar tender at the pool (like most of the staff) was both friendly and layed back. There was also a hot tub as well as another lap pool. Plenty of other activities that we never even got around to. Lots of great little restaurants and shops are just a short, beautiful walk (5 minutes) away. The hotel lies right on the water and there is a wide sidewalk/promenade that you can either walk or rent bikes or rent seways to get around. There is also both water taxi and ferry options to bring you across to the city. We rented a convertible from the Hertz across the island and they literally drove it over to us to use with 20 minutes. Rooms were comfortable and well equipped. We had a mini fridge (that wasn't loaded with a bunch of product we had to buy), so we could buy our own drinks and stock it for the week. The hotel also has a decent little store for stuff like hairspray (which my wife forgot). The bathrooms were immaculate . . . even the ones off the pool area. The food was pretty good, but a little pricey, as you'd expect. The restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating, including a cool large fire pit table as well as smaller ones. There's even a hammock. I'm sure we'll be back.

Room Tip: The layout is a little strange, so, you might request a room overlooking the main pool if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location is perfect and we have traveled here the last eight summers in a row. Being from LA it's a nice easy drive to a wonderful little island community. The Marriott has a lot to offer from their tennis courts, spa, gym, access to the jet skis, water ferry, large pool with plenty of seating, and more. you also can't beat the views of downtown San Diego or the numerous things to do on the island. However, as a long time guest, the hotel has seen better days. The rooms and landscaping are getting a little tired and the buffet is a third the size it used to be in the past. The dinner food also leaves a lot to be desired. In closing, if you are looking for a medium priced hotel in average condition, this is a great option to the busy and much more expensive Hotel Del. The parking is not cheap at $22 a night, but the staff if outstanding and again, you can't beat the location and the access it gives you to the island and downtown surrounding areas! It's great for kids and is very family oriented. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It's all about the Bay view and being on the top floor. Being a family oriented place, you tend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from four days at the Marriott Coronado Island, and really enjoyed it. Great room overlooking the bay, great service, and great food. The staff was courteous and helpful. I would stay at this property again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank pauljco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's a Marriott Resort and it's on Coronado across from San Diego. Situated at the end of "the strand" that connects this could-easily-become-an-island-if-the-ships-need-to-leave-fast peninsula from the mainland, all the pieces are in place for a terrific facility. Views. Weather. Big rooms. Lovely layout. Even little aviaries throughout the facility that you can walk into. I had a very low-maintenance, comfortable time. I will say that the staff seemed very "background" to the experience, rather than exuding hospitality. The exception would be Javier, who works as a catering waiter. He was a one-man show. Lots of personality. Everyone else seemed to be in a "wait until asked" mode, and even then weren't always quick on the trigger (the concierge didn't know what time their own bar closed). I forgot my razor (actually, I had a razor handle and the wrong kind of blades) and was directed to the gift shop. Oy. Now that was my fault. But when I stopped in later to buy a Snickers bar, I had to put it back. I couldn't pay the ridiculous mark-up. I know it's not uncommon for hotel shops to gouge, but when accomodation isn't flowing freely, the exploitation becomes even more apparent. I don't know if it's an in-house shop or a vendor, but it becomes a part of the experience. Pay attention, Marriott ... it's in these details. Ohhhh ... I was here on business and attended several catered events. The food was terrific. Even the "box lunch" kind of redefined the term. Fill up on that so you won't need to get a snack from the gift shop.

Room Tip: Do ask about functions on the hotel that are held in the courtyards adjacent to rooms. One of our e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxhalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
1.0 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
0.7 mi away
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#65 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Property: Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing