We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nice, rooms big but could use updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park KS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice, rooms big but could use updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We moved here from Loews Coronado. Wanted to be closer to town. Hotel is nice it is more of a beach cottage feel. Walk out side to get to your room. Paid $19 more for bay/pool view, was worth it Rooms are spacious but in need of an update. Chips in tile in bathroom and caulking is old and discolored, carpet dirty in spots. Pool food is so so. Expensive. Didn't eat bfast or dinner here. The ferry is $6 pp per way. Ridiculousy expensive for a family and during week last one back to hotel is 8:25pm. There is another ferry at Marketplace for $8.50 pp round trip. Drops you off next to USS Midway Musuem or on 5th Ave. If you have a car I recommend driving into San Diego. Less than 10 min drive and parking is plentiful for a minimum charge. Faster and cheaper than the ferries. The weather in San Diego is amazing. Bring jackets for nightime even in summer!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkv4ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    436
    133
    47
    25
See reviews for
371
336
31
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Coronado island is the perfect getaway during the high temperatures of summer. We left weather at home of 105 and arrived here to a cool 70degrees! We were very pleased with the marriott and all the accomodations it has to offer. We dined outside and the food was delicious. The spa is first rate and the staff was very kind and accomodating. The view is gorgeous and the pool is gigantic. No criticism from us on this visit coronado island and the marriott inn and spa!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a seven-night stay at the Marriott Coronado Island resort and loved it! After staying at the Hotel Del last summer, we were a little worried we'd miss being right on the ocean. However, so many aspects of the Marriott were better than the Del that we will choose this hotel from now on. First, the pool area: having a child, the pool is a very important feature. The Marriott's pool had a true resort feel and had a beautiful view of the downtown San Diego skyline right across the bay. Second, the location. Though not on the beach, it is so easy to get to. We enjoyed being on the bayside and seeing the skyline, and loved the walking path. We walked to the ferry landing shops and to the great playground the other direction. Third, we felt the Marriott just had a more relaxed feel overall. The Del is hectic and busy all the time with non-guests who want to visit this historic hotel. Our room at the Marriott was great, service was great, self parking was easy and great. We can't wait to return, hopefully next summer!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AllieBrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Marriott resort on Coronado Island is an excellent place to stay in San Diego. We had room 232, which offered a great view of the city skyline across the inlet. The rooms are very large. Our family of four had plenty of space. We had a couple of friends that live in San Diego come over to visit us, and our room had a decent size countertop / bar in the center of the room and a large balcony which, combined with the view, offered a nice place to have a few drinks before heading out for dinner. The parking is a little expensive. Self parking was good, though, because you could park close to the elevator and get to the hotel lobby without much walking. Their Gym is a decent size, and they offered free headphones to plug into the machines while watching TV (a nice touch). Their pool was very warm (almost too warm), but again, very nice. You will need to drive to the beach, but we found that parking easy as long as you head over in the morning. You may want to consider parking on the nearby streets to save some $. There were many non-metered spots closeby in the surrounding neighborhood. Water coolers were set up in the lobby every day with a different type of fruit in them for flavor. Our kids enjoyed checking in the morning to see what the water flavor of the day would be.

Room Tip: Room 232 is an end unit overlooking downtown San Diego.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyof4inpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

While this is a beautiful resort and we had a wonderful view of the harbor and the bridge, I was disappointed in Marriott's nickel & dime-ing. I guess this goes for all Marriotts but for the price we paid per night you would think they could offer some free amenities or at least some breakfast. The water shuttle they mention on their site is actually $6/person each way, internet is $13/night (the "free" wireless internet they claim is only in the lobby), they even wanted to charge me a delivery fee to bring me a spoon from the kitchen (and no, they wouldn't just let me come get it). They also wouldn't let me take my own bags. Only the bellman could use the luggage carts (and of course, that means a tip). None of these fees are mentioned on the website. It got pretty ridiculous. We were splurging to celebrate our anniversary in a more expensive hotel and I left feeling like it wasn't really worth the extra money especially since we were out and about a lot. Unless you're planning on spending your entire stay in your room or at the resort (in which case, this hotel would be wonderful), find a cheaper hotel that offers some free amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fallenstar2716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This had not been my first choice hotel but after staying here I will never stay anywhere else in San Diego. While this is a 'resort" and I am sure some people never leave the grounds for their entire stay, it is very easy to get to San Diego using either the hotel water shuttle or the local ferry. (We walked from Amtrak station to ferry to hotel--no need for a rental car!) There are several good restaurant options within easy walking distance if you don't want to eat at the hotel. The grounds are lovely, complete with ducklings, fish and flamingos. Our room was good-sized and had a balcony which was a great place to sit and read the newspaper, etc. There are several pools and hot tubs, including a lap pool for more serious swimmers. The main pool overlooks the Bay and was a great place to watch fireworks after the ball game at Petco Park. The service was very attentive throughout.

My only complaint is that the breakfast buffet is VERY expensive even on weekdays--$50+ for two people is a lot.

One note--it is not on a beach--beach is about 2 miles away and reachable by bus which stops outside the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our family really liked the Coronad Marriott. We upgraded to a bay room view as suggested by many here and loved looking at the ships and the activity on the bay. All the staff is great and very helpful. The room is nice (note --their rooms have two "doubles" rather than queen beds) and the bathroom is large. The restaurant food is excellent, even if a bit overpriced ala most hotel restaurants. Overall a really great stay.

TIPS:
1. The hotel is on the "bay" side of the island. This is great for biking and the nearby playground. Not so great if you're into the beach. I know some have said you walk or bike to the beach, but if you're a family with young kids, it's not practical. We were going to dump our rental car prior to going to Coronado, but decided to keep it and boy were we glad we did. Just avoid driving in rush hour in morning and afternoon since the island gets very busy because of the military base traffic coming/going on/off the island.

2. Parking on Coronado - Plenty of free parking as well as metered parking. We went to the beach at all different hours and were always able to find free parking close to the beach.

3. Village Pizza - If you're looking for family friendly eating near the hotel, walk to the pier area and eat at Village Pizza. Very family friendly and good food and prices.

4. Marriott Rewards Members - If you're a Marriott Rewards member, look for specials. We got a room at a great price and included free self-parking, internet as well as hotel credits for each night to use at the gift shop, restaurant, biking, etc.

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade for the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.0 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
0.7 mi away
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#66 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Property: Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing