We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved our Villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Let me preface this by saying we stayed in one of the remodeled one bedroom villa's that is waterfront. It was spendy but the separate location away from the main hotel was perfect for our family of mom and dad and one year old twins. It was like having your own condo, and we never stepped foot into the actual hotel with the exception of checking in. The room had everything you needed outside of a washer/dryer and a oven. Outside of that it was a perfect location for a family trip to San Diego, and was exactly what we wanted for this trip. I can't comment on the actual hotel rooms which have gotten mixed reviews on this site, but the villas are well worth the extra money and have plenty of room for a family of four. We used one of the satellite pools for swimming and it was empty most of the time. I would appreciate free WIFI which in this day and age should be included in any hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naport44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    455
    136
    48
    25
See reviews for
397
353
31
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The staff were so helpful !!!!!!!! One in our party was disabled and they made sure to fully consider and meet her needs. Valet parking is available but not needed--there is plenty of
parking close to the various sections of the resort. Some of their extras like bottled water in the room and valet parking are expensive but it is nice they are available. Rooms were spacious and very clean.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the bay!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beck48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've been to San Diego before and were looking for somewhere to relax for a few days before we flew home. The hotel location is fantastic and everything you need is within walking distance. The rooms are large and we had a great balcony with a lovely water view.

We took the hotel ferry over to downtown a couple of times which is very convenient but a little bit expensive if you are using it regularly. Once you get there you are 10 mins walk from the shops and from the trams to both San Ysidro and north towards Old Town and Mission Valley.

I would definitely recommend this for a few days if you've been to San Diego before. If not you may be better in downtown.

All in all a beautiful hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenabombana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here every year except 2 since the hotel opened up in June, 1988, and we continue to see a noticeable slippage in product quality and amenities. The restaurant previously offered coffee in the morning for free. Now they charge $2.50 per person. Believe me, it's not the money, but just a case of principal. Blandness has taken hold of the entire hotel/motel, and make no mistake this is NOT a resort but a glorified hotel. Drink prices in the pool area are absurd. Service was great though....enthusiastic, young staff eager to please. Their self-parking rates are a rip-off. Do yourself a favor and park on the street. Spots are always available. There is just a
noticeable "dumbing down" of this once lovely, classy facility. It's obvious they are interested in young families and booking conventions and meetings. They can have it since this is definitely the last year we will stay here. To even say it is average at best is to compliment the management. The unique architecture and construction will only take you so far. Do yourself a favor and stay on the other side of the island. Coronado has a lot more to offer than the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I had somewhat low expectations of the resort after hyper- focusing on a few of the negative reviews. I had precious little time to decide on our family's accommodations so I had quickly scanned Trip Advisor for reviews of various San Diego area hotels. I can honestly say that we really liked the resort and are so happy we stayed there. The resort staff was friendly and professional, check in was a breeze, our connecting rooms were clean and spacious and we had a great view of the San Diego skyline. The outdoor pool was heated to a perfect temperature and the poolside service and food was fine. To put it in perspective, after we checked out we continued our vacation at the 5 star Pelican Hill Resort up the coast. We all agreed we had more fun at the Marriott Coronado Resort and in San Diego. We would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had wished to stay nearer to the convention center for Comic Con instead of being so far away. The drive wasn't long, but it was slightly complex and parking near the convention center is difficult. However, it wasn't long before I was grateful for the "getaway" that Coronado provided. It was so lovely to depart the extreme sensory overload of Comic Con and retire to such a serene and lovely hotel filled with kind hosts and quiet rooms. I would have loved to stay longer and enjoy the many services offered at the hotel and on the island.
The hotel is clean, quiet, and comfortable. My room was very spacious and even included a private patio. The service was polite, attentive and kind. They had serviceable wireless for my business needs. It's near many restaurants and the beach. The water taxi is conveniently available to go to San Diego (though I couldn't take advantage). I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our room was clean, spacious, and very smartly furnished. The bathroom was a delight, with a separate shower and tub, and a well-sized sink area. We only ate at the hotel for breakfast, but we loved the abundant outdoor seating. It was wonderful to be able to start the day in the fresh air with a view of the city over the bay. All staff members we encountered, from the maids to the front desk personnel, were very friendly and helpful. Our waiter at breakfast even remembered our usual drink order each morning, which helped make our stay a little more special.

The hotel is located on the less busy side of Coronado, not directly on the beach. However, it is close to the ferry landing, the bike path, and several good restaurants. It's also far less crowded than the Hotel Del Coronado side, which can make it a bit more relaxing.

The only slight negative we had is that the air conditioning in the room seemed a bit weak. Fortunately, the weather wasn't too hot, so it wasn't a real problem for us, but I suppose it could be if temperatures are higher than normal.

All in all, though, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LADreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
1.0 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#71 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,215 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Property: Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing