We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Coronado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coronado Inn
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Toledo, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Just recently visited this hotel last week for 5 days. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a nice, quiet, boutique type hotel with individual attention. Very clean and the location was ideal. The fresh juices and ice tea left on the porch all day were refreshing after a walk or just to sit at many of the tables under the palm trees and relax. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Can't wait to go back to same hotel again!!!
Leslie from Ohio

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seashell_ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    31
    14
    18
See reviews for
55
38
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

This motel is very outdated. Pillows smelled musty and the room was extremely cold when we checked in. The heater is very loud but it does drown out the noise from the busy street (cars and busses run all night and rush hour starts around 5am for people coming off the bridge). I brought ear plugs which saved me from not sleeping at all.
Continental breakfast is located outside, so don't plan to eat there during the winter, coffee was good but they only had oatmeal and prepackaged sweet rolls, ding dongs and hostess cupcakes.
TV was also very small located in the corner of the room which was difficult to see. Very basic motel that we will not stay at again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the musty pillows, noisy heater, traffic noise, limited parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mjnishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. While we cannot control traffic noise coming from 3rd street and Orange Avenue, we would suggest that you request a room alongside the office or the back should you decide to give us another opportunity in the future and we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coronado hotels

Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

The web site makes this property look charming and wonderful but when you get here you will find an aging outdated run down property. Not quite ready for the wrecking ball but close. Expect to be awakened by rush hour traffic on the way to the Navel Air Station which begins about 4:30 AM. The doors on the units fit poorly and have no weather stripping so lots of noise and what ever bugs are crawling around can come in. The door in our room has to be kicked forcefully to come in. The quality of the interior paint is quite poor with mismatches and poor touch ups. The heating and AC unit is ancient/poorly, sealed, dirty and smelly and very noisy such that you will not use it much. There is no exhaust fan so the steam from the tiny shower builds up in your room. Think cold and damp at night and humid & sticky during the day. The breakfast consists of sugery juice, vending machine sweet rools, instant oatmeal (no milk) and coffee and apples. Thats it. On the exterior of the building is a lot of water/moisture damage as well as in the rooms. I wonder how much mold is inside the walls? When the place is full as it was one night of our stay if you arrive back at the motel later you may have to park a block away on the street as the parking lot is very limited and there are a lot of condos in the area. To sum it up think old, not as clean as some, very noisy starting with rush hour traffic before 5:00 AM and continuing until midnight with diesel buses coming by several times an hour, and very very damp.

  • Liked — cheap $160/night ?
  • Disliked — old & dirty
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JadedTravelerUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. While we cannot control traffic noise coming from 3rd street and Orange Avenue, we would suggest that you request a room alongside the office or the back should you decide to give us another opportunity in the future and we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

This is a very nice small motel in a great location. The staff is very friendly and the rooms very comfortable. You can walk to everything on the island and catch the ferry to go to downtown San Diego. For the price and location this is a great stay,

  • Liked — location, and nice rooms, freindly staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sourdoughought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2008

The Check in was at 3 and as we got to the office the staff were very friendly and helpful, we got our room straight away, no hassle. The Room itself was quite spacious, including a microwave, fridge, big tv, ac, clean shower, and by far the most comfortable bed that i've ever slept in! Clean also! Its very close to everything and in a quiet area with a swimming pool. We only stayed one night but had a great time. I would really recomend the Coronado Inn. One (and maybe the only) downside was the fact that the WiFi wasn't great, the signal was never really strong signal and it kept cutting out now and then.
Vlad

Helpful?
Thank VladSikora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROSBY
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2008

The staff was helpful and friendly. Room was a little small but what little time we spent in it , it wasn't that bad.. It was nice to have a frig and a microwave in the room. We didn't notice the noise from the road even with being right beside it. The parking wasn't the best but we only had a problem with that the last nite we were there. It wasn't a new or fancy hotel but it served all our needs. We were pretty please with our stay there.

  • Liked — the staff and location to the ferry
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2008

I made a reservation with the inn a month in advance and was promised a crib by a staff member, which they falsely advertise for. They called less than 48 hours from check-in time to tell me they did not have a crib. When we tried to confront the situation we were not allowed to talk to a manager or supervisor. I was informed by the staff member who promised the crib that she was told to 'handle' the situation since she caused the problem. I couldn't even get the supervisor's last name or any owner information after being extremely upset. This was handled very unprofessionally. They make false promises and have false advertising. The inn and staff can't be trustes. This was a huge inconvienance to our family and I am very upset with this establishment!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Horrible service and unprofessional staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaSanDiegoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. It's unfortunate that there was a misinformation given to you at the time and we're truly sorry for it. If you decide to give us another opportunity in the future and we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
694 reviews
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Property: Coronado Inn
Address: 266 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1411
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing