We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coronado Inn
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Coronado Inn and the second time, I found myself much more contented. Let's be honest--it must be one of if not the cheapest hotel on the island, so it's not surprising that it lacks a few amenities. My room was clean with one lamp that worked pretty well. The tvs are old with clumsy remotes; my bed was comfortable and the shower, while very small, worked fine. If you're looking for a bit of chic, stay elsewhere. If you're looking for an inexpensive and basic hotel, you couldn't do better.

Room Tip: It's what used to be called a "motor court," so cars park close to the rooms on the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    29
    13
    17
See reviews for
54
35
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ok, I went to Coronado to attend a conference at the Hotel del Coronado. I got the ticket late, so all the other hotels were booked. I knew going into this adventure that it wouldn't be the nicest of places, and I figured, since I was on a business trip, all I really cared about was a clean bed and a shower. Coronado is a pleasant place, so it was in a decent area, but that's about all it has to offer. The "continental breakfast" is cold cereal and bad bagels served on the front steps of the office, in the parking lot. The place has been there a while, as is evidenced by the very worn everything. I wound up in the building in back of the property, with a screen door that had it's knob mounted in the same space where the door knob sat, so the two doors could not both close at the same time. Which isn't a big deal, except the screen door flapped open and semi-closed all night long. Several blinds were broken, they didn't even replace the tiny bars of soap daily... I was there for 4 days, used the same nub of soap the entire time. It was a mile walk to to Hotel del Coronado, which was pleasant. There are a lot of restaurants, pubs, stores, and a movie theater within 10 minute walk of the property, so that was nice. The TVs barely worked, the remotes not at all, and they did nothing about it when I asked. Since I spent so little time in the room, I chose to ignore the issues and make the most of my time in Coronado. I would have had an entirely different attitude if i were staying there for leisure or if I had to spend any significant time on the property. I wouldn't recommend this place for anyone, I'd stay away.

Room Tip: Go to another facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigelectricmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coronado hotels

Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

got there late, put us in a room, the heater blew out smoke and set the smoke detector off, blinds broken, the other room the heater did not work at all. got home from vacation and the double charged us for one night!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dagwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This inn was a very good value. We debated staying in downtown San Diego, but chose this place instead because the location is perfect for a stroll on the beach in the morning or evening and with parking included is a great value for the San Diego area and very close to downtown sites. It is really the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohhbedelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denio, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

August was my 2nd time staying here, the other was two summers ago. Coronado is a very expensive island to stay on, so the rates here are more than reasonable. Unfortunately, you get what you pay for. The first stay was across the street from the main lobby, and the rooms were really small, and pretty basic. You had to walk across the street (2 cross walks) to the main building, pool, continental breakfast, etc...It wasn't so bad that it stuck in my memory, although my family complained a lot... So this last trip, I thought "what the heck". I got a room with 2 queens, and it was located near the lobby building and pool. This time, I won't forget my complaints! I had ants like crazy in the room, and right outside. I could have overlooked it, but there were so many- in my suitcase, in my makeup bag, just everywhere.The room was sparse, but decent, but the mattresses weren't sleep-inducing in the least. But being August, and hating heat, I was just happy the AC worked, because I couldn't cool off in the pool. It hadn't been skimmed, and all the ants that weren't in my room were floating in the pool, along with every other bug on the block. Luckily, I had family on the island staying at the Marriott, which had an amazing pool. Long story kind of short, the facilities left a lot to be desired, but the staff was really helpful and nice, so... if you want an inexpensive stay in Coronado, and are willing to sacrifice a little comfort, this would be the spot... If you want a clean pool and a comfy bed, be willing to pay a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The inn is located on Orange, which is the main street on Coronado. The rooms are clean and functional. They have a TV, and microwave, and a small fridge. The shower is very small. The rooms are noisy and the inn allows dogs, which makes for a noisy experience. The beds are not very comfortable. It's a long walk to the beach and restaurants located near Hotel Del Coronado.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the complex so you don't get road noise from Orange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When we have had out-of-town guests visiting, we generally try to keep them on Coronado vs. "across the bridge" on the San Diego side. In picking Coronado hotel/motel locations for our guests, because of their complaints about the conditions existing at the Coronado Inn, we choose other properties. The Coronado Inn is anything but nice, the mold and mildew that is growing within their walls is only "painted over" to encapsulate vs. properly removed and, the room rate is pure robbery.

Staying at this property is really not a good idea!

Room Tip: Stay at the nearby Marriott Island Resort Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillHCoronado_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
1.0 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Property: Coronado Inn
Address: 266 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1411
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing