We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Affordable, Clean, Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coronado Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coronado Inn
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Affordable, Clean, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This inn was a very good value. We debated staying in downtown San Diego, but chose this place instead because the location is perfect for a stroll on the beach in the morning or evening and with parking included is a great value for the San Diego area and very close to downtown sites. It is really the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohhbedelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    29
    13
    17
See reviews for
55
36
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denio, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

August was my 2nd time staying here, the other was two summers ago. Coronado is a very expensive island to stay on, so the rates here are more than reasonable. Unfortunately, you get what you pay for. The first stay was across the street from the main lobby, and the rooms were really small, and pretty basic. You had to walk across the street (2 cross walks) to the main building, pool, continental breakfast, etc...It wasn't so bad that it stuck in my memory, although my family complained a lot... So this last trip, I thought "what the heck". I got a room with 2 queens, and it was located near the lobby building and pool. This time, I won't forget my complaints! I had ants like crazy in the room, and right outside. I could have overlooked it, but there were so many- in my suitcase, in my makeup bag, just everywhere.The room was sparse, but decent, but the mattresses weren't sleep-inducing in the least. But being August, and hating heat, I was just happy the AC worked, because I couldn't cool off in the pool. It hadn't been skimmed, and all the ants that weren't in my room were floating in the pool, along with every other bug on the block. Luckily, I had family on the island staying at the Marriott, which had an amazing pool. Long story kind of short, the facilities left a lot to be desired, but the staff was really helpful and nice, so... if you want an inexpensive stay in Coronado, and are willing to sacrifice a little comfort, this would be the spot... If you want a clean pool and a comfy bed, be willing to pay a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The inn is located on Orange, which is the main street on Coronado. The rooms are clean and functional. They have a TV, and microwave, and a small fridge. The shower is very small. The rooms are noisy and the inn allows dogs, which makes for a noisy experience. The beds are not very comfortable. It's a long walk to the beach and restaurants located near Hotel Del Coronado.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the complex so you don't get road noise from Orange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

When we have had out-of-town guests visiting, we generally try to keep them on Coronado vs. "across the bridge" on the San Diego side. In picking Coronado hotel/motel locations for our guests, because of their complaints about the conditions existing at the Coronado Inn, we choose other properties. The Coronado Inn is anything but nice, the mold and mildew that is growing within their walls is only "painted over" to encapsulate vs. properly removed and, the room rate is pure robbery.

Staying at this property is really not a good idea!

Room Tip: Stay at the nearby Marriott Island Resort Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillHCoronado_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. If you decide to give us another opportunity in the future, we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coronado hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Adequate hotel. Problems with hot water in shower first day but fine thereafter. Shower did not drain. Hotel is right on busy corner so expect some traffic noise. Difficult to get into hotel as driveway is actually on Orange, requiring quarter-mile drive east to double-back to hotel. Limited parking. Take your chances if you leave during the day and good luck getting back into hotel (or out) during rush hour Coronado traffic. Quality service from staff. Very nice light breakfast provided.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screaminremo303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My family and I stayed three nights at the Coronado Inn. Granted, this is an older property, and the rooms are not high style, but the location cannot be beat, nor can the price. The room was clean (and I am very picky about cleanliness), and the kitchenette was very convenient, given the prices to dine out around the area. The beds were not the most comfortable, but tolerable. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was fine, nothing fancy, but better than nothing! We did not get a chance to enjoy the pool, but it was clean. There are also grills just outside of the pool area that you can use. Parking is a little sketchy, but we always managed to find a place every time. The ferry to San Diego and shopping are only a 10 minute walk away. If you are looking for a high class place with tons of amenities , this is not the one. But if you are looking for a clean, convenient, wallet friendly place in beautiful Coronado Island, this fits the bill!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tina197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was tolerable. We rented what was called the large kitchen suite. Had one bathroom for four adults. Needs major repair and updating. The continental breakfast was stale bagels, fake tang and fresh fruit on some mornings. The location is right on Orange Ave -- the main street -- but will definitely not return to this one. If you are looking for ambiance you won't find it here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. It's unfortunate that your concern was not handled promptly but rest assure that if and when you decide to give us another opportunity in the future, we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Property: Coronado Inn
Address: 266 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1411
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing