We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Coronado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coronado Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was tolerable. We rented what was called the large kitchen suite. Had one bathroom for four adults. Needs major repair and updating. The continental breakfast was stale bagels, fake tang and fresh fruit on some mornings. The location is right on Orange Ave -- the main street -- but will definitely not return to this one. If you are looking for ambiance you won't find it here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. It's unfortunate that your concern was not handled promptly but rest assure that if and when you decide to give us another opportunity in the future, we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    31
    14
    18
See reviews for
56
38
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago. Will not be back.

We stayed in room 1 the first night. The room was ok inside, but it was incredibly noisy all night because it is the closest room to the intersection. The next morning we were ready to leave no matter what, but they had a room open up away from the street. That room was noisy too because of marines partying in a nearby room. The 2nd room (don't remember the room number) was a bit shabby inside and needed some minor drywall, painting and other work.

The location is great, but I'll look into other options next time I want to stay in Coronado.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, and especially avoid room 1, the closest to the instersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zorba91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. While we cannot control traffic noise coming from 3rd street and Orange Avenue, we would suggest that you request a room alongside the office or the back should you decide to give us another opportunity in the future and we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coronado hotels

Reno, Nv
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

After making a last minute decision to stay on the island for a few mid-week days, I found a lot of sold out or very expensive $350+ rooms so i was excited when i found availability here. There is a mix of pro's and cons.
Con's:
The bed! Very hard and old. My third and last night I tossed and turned, my body sore from the very hard mattress.
The A/C! I was here during a heat wave and the little old wall unit was not able to cool the room down very well.
Pro's:
The price! Only $139 in August
The room had a microwave and small refrigerator.
The service! The employees were wonderful!
The complimentary bottled water and coffee all day long.
The complimentary breakfast. Cereal, oatmeal, pastries, bagels, and fruit.

The parking is not guaranteed on site and my last night I did have to park up the street. Even the back lot was full.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renodecor8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We checked in on July 11th and out on the 15th while were attending Comic Con. Our stay here was awesome! We will be going back here again!

Staff was friendly. Grounds and room were kept clean. We did not hear any noise from traffic or other guests during our stay. Location is in walking distance to the passenger ferry so we took the ferry to and from the convention center.

Loved walking the entire area around the hotel. So peaceful. Surroundings are beautiful and people there are so nice.

Loved having a full kitchenette in our room! Was great to be able to stock the fridge during con week! Great money saver!

Enjoyed the free breakfast at the hotel every morning! Cereals, pastries, muffins, fruits, coffee and more!

We were offered free ice cold bottled waters from the rental office anytime we wanted them!

Shower water pressure was good. Air conditioner ran great. Had no problems with anything during our stay! Very pleased!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganFC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Loved the staff - courteous, fun and family owned. I prefer staying at independents rather than chains. I think the hotel was lovely. Loved the space in the rooms. They let us bring our dogs. Close to EVERYTHING. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staubbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights and had a wonderful time. We were a bit concerned when we checked in due to a foul odor but when we found that it was coming from an open dumpster and mentioned it at the desk it was quickly taken care of. The desk staff was always helpful and courteous and helped with restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. The maid service did a great job of cleaning and freshening the room each day.
Our room was a small bungalow type single king and was equipped a refrigerator and microwave as well as the regular TV, iron, blow dryer, etc. The furnishings and bed were acceptable although not "premium" quality and wireless internet was fast and reliable.
There was a light continental breakfast each morning and coffee, bottled water, and lemonaide available throughout the day.
This is not "luxury" hotel but was comfortable and while we were concerned at first this proved to be a very pleasant stay at the "cheapest hotel on Coronado".

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phantom0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the hotel. The first time we had no problems (a few years ago). This time, I made the reservation online, clearly stated that we were 2 adults and 2 kids and a dog. I got a confirmation (generic). When we arrived, tired but happy to be on a long anticipated family vacation, we were given the key to a small room with one full sized bed! I returned to the office and the young man was nice--said oh no! This happened again? He said he had another room, with 2 beds but that he would have to call the manager to ask her if it was alright to release it to us. She apparently said no, but that she would agree to LET us pay for a rollaway bed! I explained that the 4 of us plus a dog would not fit into a full sized bed and 1 rollaway. He kept saying how sorry he was but had no way to help us. In the end, we had a room with a king bed, and a rollaway and one kid on the floor with the dog. Not the restful vacation we paid for and reserved well in advance. The manager said anyone who wants more than one bed has to make a special request in the note section. It's just illogical that you can tell them that you have a family of 4 and a dog and they would not know that you need more than one full sized bed. If this is their idea of logic, we will find another place to stay in the future. We love Coronado, but won't patronize someone who doesn't care to have our business. We are good customers, clean, tidy and quiet. SOmeone will appreciate us in this bad economy. We'll try the Loews Resort next time.

Room Tip: Never trust that you will get a room that will be appropriate for your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wheelpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. It's unfortunate that your concern was not handled promptly but rest assure that if and when you decide to give us another opportunity in the future, we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
695 reviews
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Property: Coronado Inn
Address: 266 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1411
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing