We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Village Pizzeria

Village Pizzeria
Ranked #11 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Established in 2002, Coronado's locally owned and family operated Village Pizzeria offers an authentic slice of New York City in the heart of beautiful Coronado, California. Using only the freshest ingredients, Village Pizzeria prides itself on going to great lengths to preserve the integrity of the iconic New York style pie, down to importing authentic New York water to replicate the perfect thin crust dough. Located just a block away from the Pacific Ocean, the restaurant's original Orange Avenue location provides cozy interior dining and ample outdoor seating, allowing guests to enjoy the coastal vibe of the area. Village Pizzeria's second location opened in 2007, just steps away from the bay, boasting a spacious event-ready patio perfect for any family gathering. With nearly 20 pizzas to choose from, Village Pizzeria also delivers a healthy, tailor-made spin on old-school New York pizzeria offerings. Touting four different crust options for each pizza-original NY-style crust, thin crust, Sicilian style, and gluten free-as well as a variety of specialty pizzas such as "The Billy Goat" a white pie with fresh spinach, roasted red peppers, onions, sun dried tomatoes, basil, balsamic vinaigrette and goat cheese, as well as "The Islander" with Canadian bacon, pineapple, onions and bell peppers. In addition, the restaurant's menu features a variety of made-to-order salads, pastas, calzones, hoagies and desserts.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We make frequent visits to Coronado Island and always have the delicious white pizza at the Village Pizzeria. The crust is is perfect and lots of choices of extra toppings if you like. Salads are quite tasty as well. Happy hour is a good bargain for snacks and drinks. A very good little place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azact3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    147
    60
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great pizza . . . but expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stopped in at Village Pizzeria after a day at the beach and it was perfect! Outdoor patio seating where sand on your legs and in your hair really didn't matter! It's about cold beer - draft, craft or bottled - and pizza.

The pizza was on the thinner side, but not crunchy thin, which is how we like it. We ordered a small white pizza and a small meat pizza which came with two types of sausage, Canadian bacon, pepperoni and both were delicious!! We also ordered a Greek salad which was also very good! My daughter had the kids mac n cheese which she devoured and the other daughter had the kids spaghetti and meatballs which came with two giant meatballs. Everything was tasty and there were no complaints, as picky as we are, this is unusual. :)

This is a pizza joint on the boardwalk along the Coronado Pier. Lots of families and kids, very casual and potentially loud. It's not the white table cloth, upscale type of eatery. That being said, the ambiance and atmosphere are great and we'd definitely go back. Service was friendly and prompt which is big with me. The prices were a little high - $9 for a small salad and $25 for a 14" pizza, $8 for a draft beer (16 oz), but it is Coronado afterall, so not entirely surprising.

Worth a try . . . or two!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocsmom0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, South Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I notice there are reviews for the location on Orange and also the bayside locale. This is for the location near the Del. We had a calzone and split it and it was excellent. They make a GIGANTIC pizza that is enough for a whole family for like $40-50 as well. Sauce was good, plenty cheesy, and they crust was really nice. Overall, good little stop!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alistair_connor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice view & atmosphere - pizza just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Village Pizzeria is in a great location. Nice view & atmosphere while dining. Service was fine. We weren't overwhelmed with the Pizza and thought it was just OK. Thought it was a bit expensive for the quality of the pizza but suppose one is paying for the view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sd2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Possibly worst pizza I ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The crust was flavorless, the sausage tasted worse than dog food might, we ordered red onions on it and they were stringy as could be, the sauce tasted like it came out of a spaghetti jar. I should have sent this pie back but did not to embarrass my wife. The craft beer I ordered was flat as could be.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing