We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best I have ever been to!”
Review of Bandera

Bandera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: American Cooking with a Southwestern Flavor.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best I have ever been to!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Oh my god, was the food delicious or what ... It's just amazing ... everything we ordered on the table was fantastic ... not just very good, FANTASTIC!!

I would highly recommend it for folks who visit the area. The place is lively even on weekdays and expect to wait at least 30mins on weekdays to get a table.

They have a nice bar area where you can get started with the drinks. They have a full bar on the offer. I fancied that they had sugar-free Mojitos which were good!

For the food, everything was amazing ... we had Grilled Artichoke (4 out of 5) and Iron skillet cornbread (5/5) ... in fact, the best cornbread I've ever had! The main course included the following on the table: Mediterranean Sea Bass (5/5), Filet Mignon (4.5/5) and their special rib eyes (5/5).

Remember, this is on the expensive side ad you would see a lot of business folks ... and, honestly, I also saw a lot of young gals who would hang out with older dudes who brought out their big cars! Makes it fun for people watching as well :))

Highly Recommend as it turned out to be one of the best I ever been too where everything comes out that yummy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Live_It_Ez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    67
    28
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saronno, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It definitely might be better”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I wanted to try the Bandera as I drove by it many times. When I finally went I have to say that the experience it was bit of a disappointment. Everything in the location and the service is great. The place is very nice and the waitress was extremely nice and useful. The only problem was that the food was so and so. Don't get me wrong. What we ate was good, but without personality and a little bit overpriced. Being Corona del Mar you have to expect the price, but honestly I was expecting something better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaGuidoBiasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Chicken!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

They have the best rotisserie chicken! It's so juicy and is prepared with a great sauce. The cornbread appetizer is also highly recommended as it is served hot in a pan and it's a sensation of flavors. The mashed potatoes here are also my favorites. You can't go wrong with this place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DawsonDotJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“They got the formula down”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Normally, I don't care for corporate restaurants, but Bandera (and its siblings Gulfstream and Houston's) have really nailed some great appetizers. The roasted artichokes are fabulous. The drinks are terrific, and the portions are so big it's easy to share an entree. My only complaint is that they rush diners.

Helpful?
Thank Parks_and_plays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great everything”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best corn bread anywhere. Nice menu with wonderful food. Service is mostly very good. This is owned buy the same company that owns Houstons.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandera also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Bandera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing