We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stop on the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Corning Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stop on the way”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped at this Best Western in Corning on the way home from a trip to Oregon and, other than my GPS initially sending me to the wrong address, but finding the excellent signage on the freeway to correct, my stay was pleasant and uneventful. After a long six hour drive, it was nice to enter the quiet lobby to the friendly smile of the receptionist and smell cookies baking, which she indicated would be ready presently. Check-in was quick and uneventful and the 2nd floor room easy to find. The hotel has apparently been refurbished and all furnishings, paint and amenities appear new or near new. The kind bed was pillowtop and medium firm. There was a larger personal-sized refer and small microwave. As I fixed a few items to eat in the room and promptly fell asleep, I didn't really try out any of the other hotel amenities. I left the following morning, eating breakfast on the road rather than in the hotel, so have no review of breakfast. I did sample the hotel lobby coffee when arriving and found it to be hot and tasty. I did note the breakfast area seemed a bit small for a hotel that size. The internet was wireless, fast and a username/password was provided at check-in The in-room coffee-maker was single cup and there were four servings/condiments plus four cups. I used one cup to heat some soup in the microwave and it worked great. The bathroom/sink area used new motion-sensing/timers to start/stop lighting and I liked this feature. Walk into the toilet area and the light automatically turns on. No fumbling for switches in the dark. Plenty of towels and washcloths. Room reviewed, 219, was right at the top of the mid-building staircase so it was an easy jaunt down/up to/from the parking lot. It was quiet, though that may have been due to light attendance that particular night. If you're driving along I5 in that long, desolate stretch from Sacramento to Redding, consider this hotel as an alternative to those in the larger cities along the route. I'm glad I did. I saved about 20.00 over similar rooms in Redding or Red Bluff and enjoyed a 'plus' experience. PS - if you need gas, don't bother with the congested gas stations near the freeway on-ramps, rather head down 99 1/2 mile to the big Travel America truck stop. Their passenger car fueling station is huge and was practically empty. If heading south anyway, it's a quick shot to the next freeway on-ramp.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank camachinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yolanda a, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Corning Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review! Our staff takes great pride in providing our guests with the best customer service possible. Again, thanks for your great feedback and tips :)
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    174
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
216
157
62
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

To be honest, I think we expected more from a Best Western Plus. Our room was a little dated and worn. The bathroom could have been cleaner; hairs in the tub and sink when we checked in. Nothing horrible but not outstanding, and for the price we thought it could be nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yolanda a, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Corning Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I would like to Thank You for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests either good or bad to improve on every step. I am quite suprised you found your room to be outdated and worn, as we have completely remodeled our hotel. Cleanliness is one of our priorities and I deeply apologize if this was not provided to you. Please feel free to contact me, as I would love to speak to you regarding this matter.

Best Western Plus Corning Inn
530-824-5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We travel with a dog which sometimes limits our choices. this hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. It is a great stop over when traveling from southern CA to the Pacific northwest. Right off I 5. Very nice pool, great breakfast, comfy bed. We will be back and are sharing this hotel with family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yolanda a, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Corning Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
As a Pet Friendly hotel, it is wonderful to see we were able to accomodate you and your pet :)
Thank You very much for a great review! I am glad you got to enjoy our new Pillow-Top beds and our Hot Breakfast. See you and your pet soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co. CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Clean convenient to I5. Stayed here over night heading up to WA. A bit pricy, over all neat and clean. Not to many places to eat, we ate at the iron skillet was ok. Had time to visit the olive pit, fun thing to do.

Room Tip: Good place to stay over a over night stay if your heading way up north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liasOrangeCo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yolanda a, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Corning Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are happy that you were pleased with your stay and I am glad the Iron Skillet worked out for you. We offer a list of Restaurants at our Front Desk that you may want to try for your next time stay :) Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice Place to stay. We always stay at Best Western when traveling. BW Corning in its new location was perfect but a little pricey for the area, we thought. Still, a solid value and a very nice place to stay. Clean, quiet & well-run. We enjoyed the pool & jacuzzi on a very hot day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yolanda a, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Corning Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward for next time you travel through Corning. Good to see you enjoyed our Indoor Heated Pool and Jacuzzi ;) We wish you a most wonderful day and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Convenient to the I5 and a great place to stop and break any journey. Check your GPS though as it may take you off the I5 Hwy (heading North) too early making a bee line for the Best Western SIGN standing in a field!! Hotel is couple of miles further along Hwy 99. Best Western took this hotel over three years ago and its great, excellent value for money, clean with comfortable beds all you need when passing through even staying longer it has an indoor pool and jacuzzi. Breakfast's included and whilst not a gourmet expereince is better than some of the free hot breakfasts offered by other hotels of a similar standard. I know it's to do with keeping prices down and convenience but please can we get back to using REAL crockery and cutlery .... tea out of a plastic coated paper cup first thing in the morning is an assault on my palate (I know picky, picky!) Last but not least the young lady who checked us in and was present at breakfast should be promoted to Manager she was amazing and such a loyal employee, owners be aware. She explained how the hotel has evolved and improved in the last three years, how staff had worked hard and were committed to making this the best hotel in the area ..... she's done it all on her own by the sound of her enthusiasm!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflier24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yolanda a, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Corning Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review and recommendations for our hotel! It’s great to know you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as the excellent service and warm hospitality of our staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again. Thank you again for your review ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel was very clean, especially the bathroom. The tub was spotless and I noticed that they changed out the shower curtain for a clean one as well (unlike many others). The ac was quiet, and even though we were right off the highway, you couldn't hear the cars passing. There's a nice indoor pool (but we didn't have time to swim) located in the lobby but it closes at 10pm unlike the Best Western we stayed at in Indio, CA which was open 24 hours. Breakfast was convenient with coffee, tea, juice, waffle maker, donuts, biscuits, bacon, eggs, and yogurt, but they didn't have as much variety for breakfast as the non-"plus" Best Western in Indio. Overall however, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yolanda a, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Corning Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing about your last stay at our Hotel. We are delighted to receive great feedback from all our guests. We always try our best to provide comfortable clean rooms :)
We hope to see you next time!
PS: Our guests can always ask for pool hours to be extended. Front Desk is at your service 24/7 for any help you may need
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corning
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Rolling Hills
3.6 mi away
The Lodge at Rolling Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Corning
Super 8 Corning
#2 of 8 in Corning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Red Bluff
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Bluff - South Redding Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Corning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Corning Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Corning Inn
Address: 910 Highway 99 West, Corning, CA 96021 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Corning
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Corning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Corning Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Corning Inn! The new hotel the BEST WESTERN PLUS Corning Inn, Corning, California offers prime location and easy access to Interstate five with all the comfort and quality for business and leisure travelers needs.Interior corridor hotel offers heated indoor pool and spa, large suites with whirlpool in room, business center, fitness room, free Wi-Fi Internet access and free healthy breakfast with well appointed new guest rooms consist of 32 inch LCD television.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Corning Inn is located off Interstate 5 at Exit 631 of Corning Road. We are within walking distance to several restaurants including Mexican Casa Ramos, Olive Pit, Round Table Pizza, Starbucks® and Subway.Hotel is only two miles from the Rolling Hill Casino and Golf Course. In addition, we are just a short drive from nearby towns such as Red Bluff, Chico, Willows, Redding and Paradise.The friendly outstanding staff at the Best Western ready to help for your safe stay.We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Corning Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Corning Hotel Corning
Comfort Inn Corning
Corning Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing