We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not A Chance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Economy Inn

Economy Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Economy Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Corning
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not A Chance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Cheap, dingy, well worn, not friendly. Definitey not pet friendly.Not worth it if it at any price. We looked at a room and definitly decide to go across the street to a much nice lodging. The owner/manager seemed a littlannoyed that we decided not to stay and gave us a wave off like get out of here. Don't stay here unless you are cheap, well worn and not friendly.

Room Tip: Away from office, he looks like the snoopy type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RealCustomerTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh p, Owner at Economy Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
The hotel has a no pet policy, and the policy is avalible on-line and posted at front desk. The hotel also has a AAA diamond rating and all rooms have been recently remodeled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

I enjoyed the charm of this hotel, especially the cement block walls and prison style bathroom. It was very clean and comfortable. The cement walls were helpful in muffling any noises. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Ken, the manager, is pleasant and helpful. We had a non-smoking king with microwave/fridge at an amazing price. We liked it so much we stayed for about 4 nights versus the 1 (planned). We are on a 35 day road trip and this was a great place to stop and chill. Casino nearby, town with Wal-Mart etc. only 15 minutes away. Close to Olive Pit for wonderful tastings and meals. No foul odor at this motel-style facility. Cereal and muffins for breakfast at this motel. Would stay here again for sure at this price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlamathFalls, OR
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

When I'm on the road I want a clean, quiet, inexpensive room to stay in for a few hours. This motel exceeded my expectations.
It has very strong internet connections in all the rooms. Rooms are roomy and clean. Furthermore, the prices is more than reasonable.

Room Tip: Best forget the continental breakfast. Small package of shampo is supplied but no hair drier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here last month while visiting Northern California. The rooms were recently renovated and very clean - even the sheets were immaculate. Most importantly to me, the bathroom was exceptionally clean. With free Wi-Fi, breakfast and HBO, this hotel was a great deal for its price. Though we didn't go into the pool, it was clean (and we saw others who seemed to enjoy it). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is not the Ritz, but for the price of the room, which was half of what the other chain hotels charge in Corning, this room was acceptable. When staying at a motel that is called the Economy Lodge, I look for a room that is clean, with clean sheets on the bed and everything working. For $45, we had a clean room with a double bed, free Wi-Fi, cable TV with HBO, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator, excellent air conditioning in 114 degree heat, a clean, and refreshing pool to swim in. Yes, the curtains, carpet and bedspread were worn, but acceptable. The managers (owners) are not very outgoing, but professional to deal with.

We broke down in Corning, and this community went out of their way to help us in every way imaginable. We were reduced to walking all over town, with summer heat between 112 and 114 during the three days we were there (it was a holiday weekend in which the repair garage was closed). The Napa Auto Parts store called every mechanic they knew to see if they could help us, and the tow truck driver drove us first to a truck stop, then to the repair facility, then to a hotel for...get this...a grand total of $60! He even gave us his card and told us to call him if we needed anything at all. All this, combined with a very reasonable stay at a reasonable motel made an unfortunate situation much less stressful.

I would recommend this motel for those traveling I-5 just in need of a clean room to stay overnight. We would stay here again should the occasion arise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyfern31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

It is a very clean room,they provide in room coffee,continental breakfast,wireless internet,fridge and microwave in room and a friendly staff,and all for a good price, but,if you are paying with cash for the room,be prepared to pay a $30 deposit along, with the room rate,in which you do get back when you check out.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arwen_Windwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corning hotels
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Corning
Super 8 Corning
#2 of 7 in Corning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Corning Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Rolling Hills
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Rolling Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Property: Economy Inn
Address: 945 South Highway 99 West, Corning, CA 96021
Location: United States > California > Corning
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Corning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing