We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Rolling Hills
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Corning
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Positives: Arrived on a Saturday and checked in at 3pm as told we could. Room was nice, 2 queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, and easy access to lobby(stairs or elevator).
There is an indoor patio with a pool and hot tub, and a lot of chairs and tables. You are given a coupon for breakfast at check-in (which makes paying $104 for 1 night accommodations a little easier to pay) for the buffet where the food is good. The Lodge is adjacent to the Rolling Hills Casino, and there is an arcade for kids, which has a good variety of games.
Negatives: The TV kept loosing the signal, the air conditioner/fan was very noisy (even on low), and the fridge was also noisy. I suggest some humidifiers or air cleaners to keep the room air circulated, or ceiling fans.

Room Tip: Second floor room 201 & 203 are close to exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducka62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 86 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

On the positive side, the room was large, bed was comfortable, had refrigerator, microwave, small table and chairs. The staff was friendly and efficient. A full breakfast is offered in the casino buffet which was good. Cons...smoking is allowed in some rooms and the hallway reeked of some perfumy smell that seemed to be an attempt to cover up the smoke smell, but made things worse. Rough, thin towels in the bathroom and and weak, not very warm shower. Decorating of rooms mediocre. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmasheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Room had dirty toilet paper on the floor upon arrival.
Rooms are so small, you have to be sitting down on the side of the bed for the second person in room to pass by you - way too much furniture for a room so small.
TV stations went in and out, full of static -not sure if computer usage was affecting, but it was very annoying. Sleep timer did not work.
Window cannot be left open as there's no lock on it, did not feel safe leaving it open.
Management's incompetent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travel52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

I was just given this job, and I'm looking through the old reviews here. I was very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay with us. I would like to assure you that is not a typical stay at The Lodge. We have upgraded our TVs and TV stations, along with the wifi system, and the reception is great for both. We are in the process of working on the room's decor, and really appreciate your helpful comments. The hotel has been under new management since 2012, so I really hope you will give us another chance to shine for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We've stayed in many a spa-suite, but this one cannot get listed desirably with what is out there. Our first stay in any of the 'Vagabond' Inns has been our last.

Plus:
Rooms are clean
Service is good
Breakfast is exceptional
In-room spa is an authentic Jacuzzi - with a 24 hour public spa downstairs

Minus:
Teeny TV in a dated cabinet (though we didn't use - photo)
Teeny Room with dated furnishings (barely enough space to walk in front of bed)
Rock wall view (see photo)
NO wireless internet - pay $$ extra for a cable (in a suite??!!)
On-the-wall dispensers for soaps & lotions??!! (uck)
"Plane-Jane" bath & amenities

Bottom line, this room is NOT worth $192 a night by any stretch. Stay in the Ramada or take a plain room and get all the 'plus' points listed above (exept Jacuzzi) without the extra cost.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review here. It really helps us to know what areas we are doing good in, and those we need to improve. We still offer clean rooms, good service and exceptional breakfasts. I am happy to say that our TVs have been replaced with flat screen HDTVs, we have high-speed wifi, no Ethernet cables necessary! We are in the process of upgrading the linens and towels as well as other amenities in our Jacuzzi suites.
When the property was built, the owners decided to install the wall dispensers in the showers as an environmental measure. It reduces the amount of plastic waste in our landfills. We continually try to find ways to lessen our impact on the environment from.
We hope you will try us again, I think you will find the rates more reasonable if you visit during the week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at The Lodge one night on our way home from vacation. The room was close to the lobby as we had requested, which was great. The hotel staff was wonderful and attentive. We asked them for extra pillows and a ethernet cord (they do not have high speed internet) and they were brought to us right away.

The standard room is small. It has a king sized bed, and nice furnishings, but there is so much crammed into this room that it feels very very small. There is a fridge and microwave, and a good televison. There needs to be better channels on the tv though. The channels are limited. The air conditioning is outstanding. The decor is nice, and the bathroom is fine, but the door opens too close to the toliet. The tub/shower combo is fine, but the side of the tub is tall, very tall.

This place needs new pillows!!!!!! Have you ever had your head on a block of cement? That is what their pillows feel like. The mattresses need to be replaced also. It was like laying down into a marshmellow. The love seat also needs to be replaced. Sitting on the floor wouldn't have been much different than sitting on this sofa.

The breakfast buffet in the complimentary in the casino. That is a nice touch. Also, there is a breezeway between the buildings into the casino so you don't have to go out into the weather. The grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ima_Traveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Reading back through time, I found your review. Thank you for leaving such a detailed and informative review! Very helpful for other travelers. We are glad that our staff was able to meet your needs during your stay, that is always a high priority with us.
I thought you would like to know about some upgrades which have recently gone on at the hotel! We now have high-speed wifi connections, complimentary for guests. We have also upgraded the TVs to HD, and have some new channels, and we installed new mattresses! We aren't stopping there though, we have plans for new bedding and more.
We hope you will return soon to see all the new improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

This property does a great job. The rooms and public areas are clean, the staff is friendly and efficient. The rates are reasonable. As it is adjacent to the Casino and golf course, you have access to decent food and entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We hope you have or will return to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

Very nice clean room. Friendly staff. Quiet. Large parking area. Voucher for free breakfast at attached casino's cafe or buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ejbOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Hello, I'm reading these reviews from away back, and I want to thank you for your contribution here. Your review mentions something that many people don't realize, and that is that the vouchers for a free breakfast can be used at any of the food service areas in the casino between 7 and 11am. There are even some earlier options for those who need to get on the road before the buffet opens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corning
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Rolling Hills
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Corning Inn
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Corning
Super 8 Corning
#2 of 8 in Corning
422 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Bluff - South Redding Area
23.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Rolling Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Rolling Hills

Address: 2665 Everett Freeman Way, Corning, CA 96021-9000 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Executive Corning The Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Corning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Corning
Price Range: $136 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lodge at Rolling Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both luxury and comfort await you at The Lodge at Rolling Hills. Our amenities and the warmth and friendliness of our customer service will make your stay with us unforgettable. We offer our guests a comfortable, family friendly stay, minutes away from all of the incredible attractions Corning has to offer like the Rolling Hills Casino and Sevillano Links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Rolling Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Executive Corning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing