We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Difference A Year Makes!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Corning
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What A Difference A Year Makes!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

FIRST, check our review from “Loved it because of the GREAT STAFF!!!” Aug 23 2011.
NOW......we were making our yearly trip to Southern CA and were on our way back. We tend to over-extend ourselves while traveling so, like last time, when we arrived we were very tired. We discussed staying in Sacramento but decided to push ourselves to Corning because of the great stay we had last time.
WOW what a difference a year makes. We got there at a reasonable hour this time and asked for Scott who was so great to us last time. She didn't know any Scott. We asked about Millie, also no idea. As it turns out the entire management an staff has changed and not for the better.
We tried to check in and were met with what appeared to be a 15 year old who was being trained by someone that didn't look much older than her. We were hot and tired and didn't like being part of a training exercise as it doubled the time it took to check us in. We got to our room was far less clean than what we remembered. The A/C was busted and we moved to another room. In that room the remote didn't work so we asked for new batteries. The desk didn't have any.
We went to breakfast the next morning. The breakfast server was about the same age as the girl from the previous night. We were discussing the difference from our last visit and a man sitting at the next table, apparently a regular, said that the hotel was in the process of being sold and that nothing is being fixed or replaced.
On our way out we asked for a manager to express our concerns. We were given a business card and told there was no managers available on the weekends. We commented on the A/C and batteries for the remote and were told there was no maintenance person on the weekends either.
We might stay here in future but we certainly won't push ourselves or go out of our way for it.
Too bad it used to be a great place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    18
    16
    12
See reviews for
51
30
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I just booked a room for our 4th stay at this facility. They are very dog friendly! They always give us a a room that's convenient for us taking our dog out at night. We attend a number of Rotary events at the Casino, and actually prefer this facility to the ones that are attached to the casino!

Breakfast is tops and really good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIECorning, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I love the fact that we are a pet friendly hotel and that we could accommodate your needs so well.
This year I started an annual event "For the LOVE of Pets" Celebrating the fact that we are pet friendly. We had a BBQ, Talent and Beauty competition and had a variety of different vendors from local business attend, all proceeds went to Second Chance Pet Rescue. We love our animals just as much as our guests love theirs!
I will forward your accolades to all the staff...
Thank you for your rave reviews and return business!
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Everything here was the best. The staff was incredible & the room wad amazing. Breakfast had a great selection & was fresh & tasty. Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squeekypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIECorning, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thanks a Million for your great review! We strive to be the best in everything we do here. From Front Desk to Housekeeping and everywhere in between. I'm Thrilled that you have taken the time to show your appreciation and am pleased you had a wonderful stay.
Our breakfast is full of variety and options, the fan favorite has to be the Cinnamon rolls! Hands down...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, CA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I made an online reservation. However, I was not aware that they had a no cancellation policy for online reservations. We needed to cancel the reservation due to external circumstances. My friend who is traveling with me spent 45 minutes on the phone asking for an exception, climbing up the managerial ladder. No one would budge. None of us were impressed with how they handled the situation--there wasn't even a manager present at the hotel when we called! None of us will stay at Holiday Inn Express in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwcagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIECorning, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I am sincerely apologetic for the service that you felt was lacking. I understand the frustration when wanting to alter a reservation and not able to do so. When booking through a third party site, we at the hotel level have our hands tied.
I would love the chance to accommodate any future stay here at the hotel, please call and ask to speak the Operations Manager.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will utilize this as a great training tool for all parties involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

The first room I got was not appropriately supplied with soap, etc. so the front desk moved me to a suite. Only difference between the suite and basic room was a counter top with a mini fridge below and small "bar sized" sink. However no wash cloth or towels for the bar sink. The mini fridge froze my food - I guess I should have checked the temperature but I assumed the housekeeper did that :) Great breakfast, good location to highway, reasonable rates. When you book ask about the birds - when I was there in February there were migrating birds that filled the surrounding trees, flying over cars and covering with bird droppings. I was told they are only there a few weeks each year but what a big problem. I would stay again based on convenience and price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
heidi84,

Thank you for your recent stay and providing feedback. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received, but pleased the staff was a highlight of your stay. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here for two night (Sept. 2011). We asked for "quiet" and was given a fourth floor
room. We saw nothing but big trucks all around the motel, but we heard nothing. The room was cleaner than any we stayed at (even Bellagio's in Vegas). Bathroom was spotless. Right across the street is McDonald's, which is convenient. However, this Inn's free breakfast was very nice and the breakfast area again spotless. We return each year to visit friends in Orland, and this is the motel we will stay in from this point forward. We found the staff to go out of their way to accommodate, and they were friendly and efficient in doing so.
Nothing to complain about and lots to recommend as far as we're concerned.

Room Tip: We made a reservation for two beds, non smoking, quiet: that's what we received.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squierwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

It was late and we were looking for a place to stay. We stopped there first because they are right next to the freeway. I am so glad we did. The price was a little out of our price range but the guy at the front desk, Scott was awesome. He was funny and even though we were dog tired and on a budget he was able to work within our budget and still managed to make us feel like our business mattered. He really sold the inclusive breakfast as a money saver and it was. We had our two kids with us and the food was very good and they had a great selection including an automated pancake machine which I have never seen. The room was clean and the hotel was kind of ordinary in other respects but Scott really made it a gem of a hotel. He was gone when we got up so I didn't get a chance to say how much we appreciated his hospitality but Milly was also very nice. You just don't see many people like these guys anymore in customer service. We will certainly stay again the next time we go to California.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorningGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We are thrilled you were pleased with your stay! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I have posted your comments for our staff to read. I agree that the full hot breakfast is a cost saving incentive and I personally frequent the pancake machine. We would be delighted to have you visit us again on your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corning
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Corning Inn
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Rolling Hills
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Rolling Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Corning
Super 8 Corning
#2 of 7 in Corning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
20.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Bluff - South Redding Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning
Address: 3350 Sunrise Way, Corning, CA 96021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Corning
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Corning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated off Interstate 5 (I-5) and in proximity to the Rolling Hills Casino, the Sacramento River, Thunderhill Raceway, and many lakes ideal for fishing and boating. Corning is well known for being the Olive Capital of the United States. The hotel is located 120 miles north of Sacramento, 19 miles from Red Bluff, 30 miles from Chico, 30 miles from Willows,and 50 miles from Redding. The Holiday Inn Express Corning is the perfect halfway point to many destinations. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Corning offers 78 rooms on four floors and features a complimentary breakfast, complimentary wireless internet access, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, exercise room, and business center. The nearby town of Chico is home to California State University, Chico (CSUC) and has a large athletic department, The Chico State Wildcats, which hosts sporting events throughout the year. Other area attractions are the Wildflower Bike Race, the Outlaws Baseball League, and the National YoYo Competition. Be sure to find your way to Bidwell Park, the Silver Dollar Speedway, Bidwell Mansion, and the various popular swimming holes, restaurants and downtown nightclubs. Red Bluff, only 15 miles away hosts rodeos and motorcross at the Tehama County Fairgrounds. Visit Corning, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Corning
Holiday Inn Express Corning
Holiday Inn Corning
Corning Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing