We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stop in at - Best olives ever!!”
Review of Olive Pit

Olive Pit
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Since 1967 the Olive Pit gourmet retail store features over 120 different kinds of olives, many Balsamic vinegars, wine, craft beer, gifts, nuts, candy and so much more. We also have a Café that features burgers and sandwiches where you can pile on the toppings to suit your taste. We offer free tasting of over 150 products and also offer a wine and craft beer tasting room, current tasting room fee 5 tastes for $5.
Restaurant details
Description: Since 1967 the Olive Pit gourmet retail store features over 120 different kinds of olives, many Balsamic vinegars, wine, craft beer, gifts, nuts, candy and so much more. We also have a Café that features burgers and sandwiches where you can pile on the toppings to suit your taste. We offer free tasting of over 150 products and also offer a wine and craft beer tasting room, current tasting room fee 5 tastes for $5.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

We stop by the Olive Pit every time we go to California, which is about once a year. They have the very best olives and they let you taste them before making a decision on which ones to buy. The garlic stuffed olives are the best!! The cafe/restaurant has good food. The shop has tons of items besides olives such as nuts, olive oil, candy, etc. Great place to stop in at!

Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We love to hear that you enjoy our tasting bar, as well as our many different olives. And we definitely agree with you, Garlic Stuffed are the best!
We look forward to seeing you on your next yearly trip!
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2017

We were traveling back to San Diego again to stay with family and wanted to pick up a little gifty gift. Great options including you can grab an empty box and load it up with favorites, or you can get one of the pre packed boxes.
I have been so obsessed with the Almond Shake here I HAD to get it, to try something else, like the Hazelnut. would mean to NOT GET the Almond. NO WAY! So I hatched a diabolical scheme to get both,.... and now I might just have to double up each time I visit. Or flip a coin I guess. Just AMAZING shakes! LOVE IT!
See ya next time Olive Pit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

We love reviews like this! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stop with us and we love your shake story. You picked two great flavors, so we understand the pickle you were in.
We cannot wait to see you again!
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

If you want to absorb local area "culture" but only have 15 minutes to stretch your legs... Parking and everything was sufficient, sample table was inside with many options. The building is new so it is not "authentic" or historical. A large amount of different olives were being sold inside, prices were fair and not inflated, and Corning area olives were labeled as such.

Thank Luna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our tasting bar and our many varieties of olives.
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

this place seems to be a bit of a local institution. the food is a little ordinary but still quite good. the beer & wine bar is a lot of fun, and the olive shakes are very tasty too.

watch out for misquitos parked outside.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thank you for the review! We are glad to hear that you had a great time in our wine & beer tasting area. We also agree with you, the shakes are very tasty!
We hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

I always stop at the Olive Pit to buy olives when i'm driving by. The prices are good and the selection of olives is huge. The have olive oil and lots of other foods. They also have a grill which makes a few sandwiches and burgers.

1  Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy the olives and olive oils, as well as our cafe!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next drive by.
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olive Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing