We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olives, lots of different styles of olives”
Review of Olive Pit

Olive Pit
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Since 1967 the Olive Pit gourmet retail store features over 120 different kinds of olives, many Balsamic vinegars, wine, craft beer, gifts, nuts, candy and so much more. We also have a Café that features burgers and sandwiches where you can pile on the toppings to suit your taste. We offer free tasting of over 150 products and also offer a wine and craft beer tasting room, current tasting room fee 5 tastes for $5.
Restaurant details
Description: Since 1967 the Olive Pit gourmet retail store features over 120 different kinds of olives, many Balsamic vinegars, wine, craft beer, gifts, nuts, candy and so much more. We also have a Café that features burgers and sandwiches where you can pile on the toppings to suit your taste. We offer free tasting of over 150 products and also offer a wine and craft beer tasting room, current tasting room fee 5 tastes for $5.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

I always stop at the Olive Pit to buy olives when i'm driving by. The prices are good and the selection of olives is huge. The have olive oil and lots of other foods. They also have a grill which makes a few sandwiches and burgers.

1  Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy the olives and olive oils, as well as our cafe!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next drive by.
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 228 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2017

The Olive Pit is not only a great place to shop for olives in all forms, and other gourmet items, but they have a small cafe with good sandwiches and a great selection of bottled soft drinks as well as milk shakes and some bizarre ice cream and milk shakes with flavored balsamic vinegar. Very nice stop, close to a freeway exit.

1  Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thanks for the great review! We love that you enjoyed everything in our cafe; the food, drink options, and delicious milkshakes!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

We were traveling from Sacramento to Ashland and decided to have a break in Corning and try the olive oil tastings. There are two well-reviewed sites within a few minutes of I-5 so we visited both. The first (Olive Pit) turned out to be a store with everything olive plus soaps, jellies, aprons etc. There was a display of tasting olives and some oils at the counter with an employee to help if you were interested in going beyond the bread dipping into communal olive oil bowls. The store was very busy and the tasting assistant was overwhelmed. The second stop was Lucero Olive Oil which turned out to include both the oil processing plant as well as a tasting room. This is the place to go if you want to actually taste and learn about olive oils. We were the only people there so received a lot of attention from the two tasting assistants. We sipped oil from cups, learning how to do it correctly and what to look for (much like wine tasting). When we identified what we liked, we were offered additional versions with the same flavor profile. When we were finished in the tasting room, we stepped into the processing building to look at the pictures on the wall (it was off-season for processing) and by chance met the manager who kindly gave as a short lecture on the process and answered our questions. (They offer reserve tours on their website, but we had not signed up for one). Both sites are worth visiting as they are so close together and offer different experiences.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeannebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stop in the Olive City! Thank you so much for coming in. Sorry our tasting bar was hectic and crowded with so many other Olive Pit fans -peak hours, especially in the summer can be intense! We hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers, The Olive Pit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

Great rest stop. I always stop here when skiing the I5 trek to or from CA. True their balsamic vinegar milk shakes for the first time; loved it. A grown up milkshake is how I describe it. Their stuff isn't cheap, but the selection of nuts, candies, oils, and of course olives is almost overwhelming. Been there many times, will never try it all no matter how long I live! Much preferred to the standard rest stops on that trip.

Thank 8UKvisitor2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Sounds like you are a true Olive Pit fan! We love it. Thank you so much for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the balsamic vinegar shake, as well as the wide selection our store has to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next I5 trek.
Cheers,
The Olive Pit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

We were running late and stopped in. Easy access from the freeway. Surprised to find a few nice vegetarian items and I liked the Natural Brew drinks of things like Ginger ale and root beer. The gift shop was nice, but we were there for food. Overall, I'd eat there again.

Thank Tory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thanks for stopping in and visiting us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our menu options, as well as our drink options as well. We definitely agree with you, the Natural Brew drinks are one of our favorites!
We appreciate the review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olive Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing