We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barney's is the BEST!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barney's Hickory Pit
Ranked #197 of 309 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: Barbecue, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barney's is the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I am 54 years old, born and raised in Concord. My parents began taking our family to Barney's before I can remember. To this day it is still one of our families favorite places to eat. My sisters who live out of state, when visiting, Barney's is the first place thay must go to eat! We love their ribs!!! And the gravy is amazing, the only place I know that serves ribs this way! Long Live Barney'a!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really good BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. My favorite thing to get is the French dip. They stack the sandwich with the best flavored steak, and serve it with a large, piping hot cup of au jus. The au jus is great! I could practically drink it as is hahaha I am not a huge fan of BBQ sauce so I always get it on the side and give it to whoever I'm with. If it's your first time eating here I'd reccomend getting the sauce on the side, it's not for everyone. The service is usually pretty good, and the food comes pretty quickly. The decor isn't the greatest, looks like it hasn't changed much since the 60s, but don't let it fool you. The food is great,, for a good price too

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spartacus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
“Ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The ribs were really very good, but the sauce wasn't the greatest. We had to add our own which was a little on the sweet side but the ribs were awesome and so was the coleslaw!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank caroprifold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
379 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Food was Ok, but the place is dingy and the service slow.

Helpful?
Thank Mikeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Generational Family Eater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Started eating at The Hicory Pit in Oakland on Telegraph Ave in 1950
with Mom & Dad on Thrus night "Dinner Out"

Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barney's Hickory Pit also viewed

 

Been to Barney's Hickory Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing