We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for lunch”
Review of Mimi's Cafe

Mimi's Cafe
Ranked #127 of 316 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Concord, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good value for lunch”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Enjoyed our latest visit to Mimi's. We had a very peppy, charming waitress. Very much enjoyed the corn chowder!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank stagemom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Dinner was delicious and we needed a "to-go" box. The waiter was very attentive. The only complaint would be the air conditioning was too high - I needed a coverup to keep warm; however, when I mentioned it was cold, they did turn it down and was pleasant after that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Breakfast”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been to Mims many times, but strictly for breakfast and during breakfast time, not transitioning meals (breakfast-lunch). It was always, fast, hot, and plenty of food. Cornbeef hash is made in house. Same for the hashbrowns. We always need a to go box. Don't know what those other people consider small portions? A trough of food maybe? Service is always friendly and coffee is almost over kill on the re-fills. If it was so bad like the previous raters state..why is it packed all the time?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmelara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs a good clean”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Mimi's Cafe was busy, transitioning from breakfast to lunch. It took 3 requests to get water and the rest of our silverware, and the coffee was never refilled. The food was overly greasy, and my salad plate had old egg stuck to the edge. My cobb salad had old lettuce, and possibly fake bacon. The smell of bathroom airfreshner permeated the entire restaurant, eww. The entire restaurant is worn, grimy, greasy and seriously needs a cleaning and painting. The ladies room looked like it hadn't been well scrubbed in years.

Helpful?
Thank Ca6440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have visited this Mimi's 3 or 4 times and to me it is always pretty much so-so. The food is not really well presented or appetizing, though some in our group really like the place. The portions are small and for the price you will prbably leave a little hungry. I tried the 3-cheese quiche this last time. It came with a salad that looked and tasted like it had been pre-prepared and sat in the refrigerator for a day or two. The quiche was flavorful but less than satisfying, tasting like it, too, was pre-prepared. I have tried other selections, including the french dip, that weren't much better. The booths look attractive but we have been seated at one of the center tables each time. The tables are uncovered and show the wear-and-tear of long use. The chairs creak and are wobbly. All-in-all not a very favorable experience (again).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimi's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mimi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing