We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access but not the best of natures beauty”

Contra Costa Canal Trail
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Easy access but not the best of natures beauty”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a trail that was stuck in the middle of a town. Cemented canal with houses butting up along the trail. For someone who actually lives in the woods, this is not pretty. But certainly better than going around a track.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cpaw19ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We use it frequently and have for years.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

There are beautiful views of the valley from most of the trail, and access to Lime Ridge Open Space.
Presently herons are nesting over the trail along San Miguel Road, and we have recently seen ducks, egrets, herons, hummingbirds bluejays and more. Others have seen otters.
The trail is smooth, bicyclists for the most part let you know they are there. I am older and feel more comfortable walking with someone, but we see many solo runners.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best walking trail in town!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We walk on this trail nearly every day when the weather is good. Much safer than dealing with traffic on the streets. Level paved walking surfaces and well marked crossings for streets. Lots of friendly walkers to chat with if you are so inclined. Dogs need to be on leashes. Poop bags are located in dispensers along the trail, as are trash cans. If you like to walk, give this trail a try, it goes for miles through Walnut Creek, Pleasant Hill, Martinez, and Concord.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice mainly flat trail for running or biking”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The trail is mainly flat and smooth. I've seen a maintenance worker filling in a pot-hole. At least in the areas where I've been, there aren't many roads to cross which is a plus. The canal doesn't look very beautiful since fences surround it because the canal water is processed for use by the city. However, you'll sometimes see ducks swimming in the canal or squirrels along the trail. The trail has a good variety of shaded and non-shaded areas. If you're looking for some elevation change, Lime Ridge Regional Open Space meets up with this trail.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PSCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Run”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

It is fairly easy to run around Pleasant Hill in the morning. I stumbled upon the Contra Costa Canal trail and it was a very nice alternative to the neighborhoods. I don't know exactly how long it is, but it was long enough to accommodate my 5 mile run.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TanMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contra Costa Canal Trail also viewed

 

Been to Contra Costa Canal Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing