We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of 54 Mint Rosticceria & Formaggi - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
54 Mint Rosticceria & Formaggi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: connected to 54 Mint in San Francisco
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Unexpectedly located in a little mall away from downtown. It has wonderful homemade pastas and the bread is incredible. Hubby says their meatballs are "spot on" and he is very hard to please. The only reason I did not give them a 5 is because I was slightly (oh so slightly) disappointed in their vegetables. They only had a sauteed mix. I need more variety in my veggies.
Service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best around”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fresh, delicious and friendly! Been here 3 times in the past 2 months and it has yet to disappoint! We have tried the cannelloni, lasagna, several chef specials, risotto croquettes and the tiramisu all very delicious. Make a reservation if going on a Sat night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great local place for italian!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great place for authentic yet innovative italian food. For lunch, the pork belly panini is unique - great flavor, very filling. for dinner, the risotto croquettes were out of this world. The canneloni was light and fluffy, my papardelle with braised ox tail was rustic - yummy! Sadly, we didn't have room for dessert, so we'll need to go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GigiCSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
282 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“authentic italian food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a very Italian restaurant with lots of charm and great authentic Italian food. Yes, it is located in a strip mall, but so what. Once inside its another world. There is a very friendly and casual atmosphere, but don’t be fooled, this is definitely an upscale dining experience. It is a mom and pop place - well actually it is owned by an uncle and nephew. Our server, Matteo (?) was the nephew-owner and thus certainly knew the food and wine well and was extremely helpful with our choices. The regular menu, while containing excellent dishes, is not extensive. It includes appetizers, pastas, and larger entrees. However, there is also a weekly changing menu of specials: three items in each of the above three categories. Everything we tried was absolutely delicious and the presentation is great. My wife had the Branzino baked in parchment. When it was ready, our server brought it to the table and presented to us the cooked fish and then took it away. He then returned with the plated fish filleted. My lamb shoulder over polenta was mouth-watering good as was the mozzarella and risotto croquettes. For dessert, the chocolate mousse with caramel and sea salt was scrumptious. There is a small, well-chosen Italian wine list. The décor is simple, but welcoming. There is also an outside patio. Service is spot-on

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
170 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Food, Intimate atmosphere”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a small establishment so you do indeed need reservations on Friday or Saturday nights. The menu is limited; however, a nice variety. The prices are moderate to pricey. Food was very good with ample portions. I had lasgnea $15), my husband had the special, baked cod ($26). Both were very flavorful. We had a risotto appetizer that was very good ($10). The house wine (white) was crisp and light. My husband had a full bodied red that exceeded his expectations. Good wine selection by the glass. This is definitely not a place to bring small children. Service was attentative, but not invasive. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 54 Mint Rosticceria & Formaggi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing