We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandros Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$467
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagles Palace(Ouranoupolis)
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagles Villas(Ouranoupoli)
$948
$858
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akrathos Beach Hotel(Ouranoupolis)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agionissi Resort(Ammouliani)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Xenia Ouranopolis(Ouranoupolis)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Theoxenia Hotel(Ouranoupolis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Archontiko Hotel(Ammouliani)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
116
97
62
27
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
97
62
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalexandros palacenew buildingbeach barprivate beachsea viewammouliani islandstayed longerroom tipthe wi fifive star hotelper daywhole complexthe hotel is cleanbrilliant stafffree of chargedouble roomfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 320 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The hotel is in the middle of no-where. Near the port of tripiti that you can take the ship to the Ammouliani island.
Hotel is not a hotel as such but could be classified as appartments. It has a reception, and is built on a landscape upwards. There is a swimming pool, mostly empty because guest use the "private" beach, which is decent, 200m from the hotel. Service is desent. At reasonable prices. Food a la cart value for money. and good quality.
Junior suite is at the end of the hill, overlooking the sea. Big enough room with two rooms, that can accommodate 3-4 people. A small lcd tv, and a mini fridge, that you need to advice them to fill up as mini bar. No indication for room service or anything else. A safe exist if you pay, beach towels you need to pay 5eur for each (non-refundable). No wifi in room. There is wifi near the reception area but could not connect. There are bathroom amenities, (as a joke). Facilities in-room looks as a 3star hotel cannot really understand why classified 5star. An lcd tv does not make if 5ver.
Cleaning was a joke. We left the room at 11am and returned at 3pm because our child wanted to sleep. Noone came to cleaen... At 3.45 there was a know at the door to clean the room. I said no way.
Food was very low quality. It was a buffet and you could find something to eat however not for a 5star and not for everybody. Breakfast was better but still very low quality.
Exercise was good, going up and down the room and swimming pool and beach.
Although I had a relaxed good time and suntan will not return to same hotel.
No morning activities exist. Evening included a disco, which is music and children dancing around, my son loved it, but that was it. Nothing more.
Maybe because it has a spa- not seen it- can make it a 5?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TomasMousoulides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosPalace, Owner at Alexandros Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2015

We appreciate that you took the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel and we apologise for not being able to serve you in the best way we could. However, please rest assured that we are constantly upgrading our services to ensure a pleasant stay for our customers. We really hope to see you again!

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I've mixed feelings with this hotel.The rooms were good and spacious but I didn't like the
decoration.The beach was near,the swimming pools were clean.
I didn't like the people who worked there.Young (cheap) students of eastern european
tourist schools who didn't speak Greek(we're in Greece ,remember?),who didn't speak
English well (we're in Europe,remember?)or French or German...I couldn't get a decent
frappe coffee in Greece.The food was ok, but not a 5-star meal...
If you don't have a car you cannot go to Ouranoupolis ,or get a ferry for Ammouliani.
I chose this hotel because I wanted to leave my children at the kid's club and spend
some time with my husband.The teacher there didn't speak greek and the children
had difficulty communicating with her.She was friendly though and tried her best

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katiastayros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosPalace, Owner at Alexandros Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2015

We appreciate that you took the time to send us your feedback. We are constantly upgrading our services to ensure a pleasant stay for our customers. We really hope to see you again!

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We were on vacation in July month 2010. We had a double room overlooking the mountains. The Hotel is located in a very isolated location in the mountains. If you want to enter a place with people you have to take a car to Ouranopolis which is 7,5 Km away.
There was a large selection of of food in the Hotel Restaurant. But the quality was very bad. The Hotel rooms were clean. The Ventilation in the Hotel Rooms was disastrous even if you have aircondition in the room. It was necessary to have the aircon turned on during the night becuase of the bad ventilation. which meant I had a cold all the days.
I was very disappointed at the beach. The water was very clean but the the beach was filled with large stones. The beachbar was unusually poor. they could not make any drings without destroying them. very amateurish, and the bar prices were high.
It seems that Hotel Aleksandros aiming higher than they can handle. Basically, I would not recommend people travel to Halkidiki peninsula third-Athos. it is a tedious peninsula both for families and couple and the hotel deserves only 3 stars and not 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bltr96ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosPalace, Owner at Alexandros Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2015

We appreciate that you took the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel and we apologise for not being able to serve you in the best way we could. However, please rest assured that we are constantly upgrading our services to ensure a pleasant stay for our customers. We really hope to see you again!

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Was very clean, stuff were very polite, food good enough, beach sandy, clean but some grass after 15m. Very good position for exploring other beaches. Amoulani, Komitsa and Kozi are must see

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlucic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosPalace, Owner at Alexandros Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2015

We appreciate that you took the time to send us your feedback. We are constantly upgrading our services to ensure a pleasant stay for our customers. We really hope to see you again!

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

My first impression of the hotel was good, given the fact that we were in the new part and the hotel was 5 minutes walking distance from the beach which was also acceptable small but with relatively clean sand mixed with tiny gravel. Everything in this hotel is relative- room cleanliness, services, staff attitude, food. The old parts of the hotel were awful, with old furniture. The room was nice and new, AC working properly, it was just quite dark somehow, especially in the bathroom. Room cleaning was almost always in the afternoon which caused problems especially to people with children. Money disappeared from our room and when I inquired about it at the reception all I got was 'well it's impossible, and anyway that's what you have a safe deposit box for'- true, yet you don't expect this in a 5* hotel right...some days the room was clean some days with dirty floor and our bedclothes thrown aside or not all of the towels had been exchanged. On Saturday night there was a wedding by the second pool until 2am. TV channels were only in Greek , a few in Russian and only CNN ans BBC in English. No wireless Internet , only a computer room with 4 computers in it. The beach beds were at first free if you order anything at the bar, then on July 1st paid you get a ticket and with it you go to the bar and order withing the amount of the ticket, on the next day- absolutely free. Beer was 3 euro in the morning- they said they had new prices, in the afternoon 3,50 again- quite confusing. Rules changing the whole time. Food- acceptable, but every day for 1 week we had the same for breakfast and dinner, and clearly not well distributed because there was always fight for food and people walking around with empty plates waiting for whatever they wished to eat. As July approached and the number of tourists increased the staff at the restaurant grew more unprofessional and chaotic- telling you they're busy and you should ask someone else for a chair, dragging chairs on the floor, bringing silverware without wrapping it in a napkin- things you can survive but don't match the hotel's 5* presentation. 99% of people there were families with little children, so you must keep it in mind. Tourists are Bulgarian, Romanian, Serbian, Russian and Macedonian mainly. A nice thing to do is hire a boat for a day and go on a round trip to the island of Ammouliani. All in all not a bad experience but more like a 3+ star one, and everything depends a lot on your expectations and sometimes luck.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosPalace, Owner at Alexandros Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2015

We appreciate that you took the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel and we apologise for not being able to serve you in the best way we could. However, please rest assured that we are constantly upgrading our services to ensure a pleasant stay for our customers. We really hope to see you again!

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews