We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on Doubletree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shame on Doubletree”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family was taking a week’s vacation in the L.A. area and we chose this hotel based on its positive reviews and the availability of a “suite” room that offered a separate, but combined sleeping area for our son. When we arrived, something didn’t look quite right as there were coned off areas in the parking lot and the front desk was empty, with a sign directing elsewhere for the front desk.

They informed us that a crew was shooting a movie there that week and needed parts of the hotel. The staff was working from a temporary desk. As the week went on, the crew expanded their footprint in taking over the lower level of the hotel. Most of the courtyard was filled with equipment and blocked off. So were the restaurant, the business center and vending area where you could expect to print something or grab a quick snack. Parking spots were reserved day and night for the crew, even when they weren’t there, so we had to look harder for a spot and walk farther each day. Each day we were admonished in the lobby of the hotel to walk quietly and no talking allowed, as this disturbed the crew.

The actual hotel facility and our room were fine and the staff was courteous and service oriented, but we should have been informed before arriving that this was taking place. Essentially we were treated as unwelcome visitors to a movie set, rather than hotel guests who should have been able to enjoy equal, full access to the hotel. Doubletree offered a free breakfast each morning as compensation, along with a small goodie bag of Hollywood kids toys, but it wasn’t enough for the inconvenience.

I wrote earlier this week to the general manager’s email address listed in our room. I’m still awaiting a response.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNYCMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
On behalf of all the staff at The DoubleTree by Hilton Los Angeles Commerce, we would like to thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. During the filming at our property, we wanted to ensure the satisfaction and enjoyment of our hotel for you, and I regret these expectations were not exceeded. I can understand the valuable time you set aside to spend with your family on vacation. We provided the most informative information to our guests during filming, with signage and detailed explanation of events taking place.

I apologize you were not contacted prior to your arrival regarding the filming. Knowing you did not feel welcomed and valued makes me concerned. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for taking time to share your stay experience.

Tiffany D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    294
    125
    44
    37
See reviews for
282
188
54
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The elevators were tiny and super slow and the menu for the dining was small, other than that the rooms were clean and other services were nice. I did notice the permit displayed in the elevator was expired perhaps thats the reason behind the slowness. The room was clean, this is not a place where you can open your curtains in your room to enjoy the view, we looked out to a business parking lot. The room is a great value for a double tree and is centrally located to major attractions in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience on Trip Advisor. We are appreciative for your response, as your feedback helps us refine our service goals. We are excited to announce a new menu in our restaurant TerraNova, as well as Happy Hour from 3p.m. to 5p.m. in the bar.
The updated records of our elevator permits are on file in our accounting office. We are grateful for your feedback regarding the slow elevator experience, and our engineering team is addressing this concern. I'm glad our central location accomodated your stay. Thank you again for your valuable insight. We hope to see you again soon!

Tiffany D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff accommodated us with an early check-in and everyone was super polite, ultra professional and helpful. The room was nicely appointed, but the bathtub drain would not lock down on it's own to seal for a bath. The room was very quiet and had a modern television.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomhauerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you kindly for your recent review on Trip Advisor! I'm grateful we had the opportunity to accomodate you with an early arrival, providing professional and exceptional guest service. I'm happy knowing you enjoyed our clean, comfortable guest rooms, with modern amenities. Thank you for your feedback on the bathtub drain, as this information is helpful to improve our future service for you. We look forward to your next at our property! Thank you again.

Tiffany D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room itself was clean and quiet, however the service was not great. It is located only a short drive from all the tourist spots, hollywood etc which is good, but the hotel itself is right next to the outlet mall which you also share a car park with - making parking close to the hotel challenging at busy times. Breakfast was buffet style again but the food was quite dry like it had been left out for a while. When we arrived there were many dirty used tables and no one clearing them so it didn't give the best impression.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteB1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am concerned our service did not exceed your expectations, and regret you left our property feeling dissatisfied. I will provide your feedback about the restaurant to our Food & Beverage manager. Sharing your experience is truly helpful, as we strive to provide the highest levels of guest satisfaction and service. Thank you again for your review.

Tiffany D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I deliberately booked this property to co-incide a 24 hr stopover from Europe to NZ. Was surprised on check-in to have the front desk try to push me to move properties to Santa Monica when the only reason I booked Commerce was for the outlet mall shopping next door. There was no offer of assistance to get my luggage to my 6th floor HHonors room.
The room was very basic (dated decor) but adequate for 24 hrs. Disappointing to have to pay for wifi and that only one device could access wifi from the supplied access code.
The pool and gym were well equipped and the lobby bar staff were very friendly and helpful.
Were it not for the shopping right next door I wold not stay at this property again. The taxi ride was very expensive from LAX (even in non-peak traffic)!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi04NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you kindly for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are truly grateful for your feedback, as your insight allows us to refine our service levels and goals. I apologize you were asked to relocate to another DoubleTree property due to an issue with the guest room. I can understand how this would be upsetting after choosing a specific location. I regret you were not offered assistance with your luggage, and will follow up with our front office team.

We do offer complimentary internet in our business center, and a paid option for our guest rooms. I'm glad you enjoyed the pool and gym, as well as the shopping next door.

We truly appreciate your reponse, and hope to welcome you again in the future! Thank you again for the review.

Tiffany D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent staff! Clean, quiet rooms. Great fitness center. Strongly suggest you become an HHonors member to avoid the $9.95 daily charge for the internet. Breakfast was a tad expensive, but very good and items cooked to order are available as well as the buffet. I am an HHonors member and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to respond on Trip Advisor! We here at The DoubleTree By Hilton Los Angeles Commerce value your time and feedback. We appreciate your compliments on our staff, and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our clean, quiet rooms. Thank you for your loyalty as a Hilton Honors member. We look forward to your future stays at our property. We will have our warm DoubleTree chocolate chip & walnut cookies waiting!

Tiffany D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Although we usually stay with family or friends in the LA area, we needed a place for 5 of us (2 adults & 3 kids). With the location somewhat "protected" within the citadel outlets, I felt very safe walking around with the kids. Loved the fresh cookies & being able to walk to the outlets after our arrival. Plenty of space in the 1BR suite with the kids sharing the pull out couch & using the chairs as another sleeping spot for the littlest one. The buffet breakfast was decent for the price, especially having the made-to-order waffles & omelet. The pool was a litle small but the lounge chairs were comfortable & they had noodles for the kids to use. Lastly, we were very satisfied with the service provided by the staff (front desk, restaurant, room service for extra towels /blankets).
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the room was quite noisy next to the freeway (the 5). We were given a Hilton honors room higher up in the hotel (which I really shouldn't be complaining about butjust wanted to warn others that may have issue with noise), Perhaps at this location, lower rooms may not be as noisy because the walls surrounding the citadel shops (& part of the hotel) may create a barrier to the freeway noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imchiuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany D, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience on Trip Advisor! On behalf of The DoubleTree by Hilton Los Angeles Commerce staff, I would like to thank you for your compliments on our service and guest satisfaction. I'm glad you enjoyed our location next to The Citadel Outlets, as well as the pool area with your family.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the noise you experienced. We do offer complimentary ear plugs for our light sleepers. I'm looking forward to your next visit! Thank you again for the wonderful review.

Tiffany D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Commerce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
Address: 5757 Telegraph Rd, Commerce, CA 90040-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Commerce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*In May 2017, the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Commerce completed a 5 million dollar renovation. *Offers contemporary Southern California accommodations in the perfect location for business, vacation, shopping, or special occasion travel. *TerraNova Restaurant featuring California Italian Cuisine. *Adjacent to the Citadel Outlets offering the best in shopping and dining. *With over 6,000 sq. ft. of meeting & banquet space, we are the perfect location of events up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Commerce
Commerce Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing