We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harlan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harlan House
Ranked #2 of 4 Columbia B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice rooms, jaccuzzi , great views. The location is surrounded by woods. You can eve even see deers running around the location. The hostess is great, hospitable and friendly. The place is very close to downtown too. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rajat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have been returning to this beautiful Victorian Bed & Breakfast for consecutive 14 years! It is a true gem, complemented by wonderful scenery. Guests are treated to comfortable and tastefully furnished rooms with private bathrooms. The breakfast sumptuously prepared to your enjoyment. You will feel welcomed by the hostess, and find yourself surrounded by antiques that will take you back in time to the 1800's. The quietness and stillness is something you will truly get to appreciate. Deer are common on the grounds, as are birds happily singing away. I am looking forward to visiting again for an extended stay this Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable and nice. My favorite is the Rose Room & Wine Cellar Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissGuy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a project up in Columbia and so I have stayed at the Harlan House multiple times. Sam is a wonderful host. Breakfasts are wonderful and the rooms are well appointed. Nothing is fancy here, but you will feel cared for and get excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

As a regular visitor to Columbia, California and the beautiful Harlan House Bed & Breakfast since November of 1999, I always look forward to returning. Service is excellent, rooms are very comfortable and the property is beautiful. Proprietor will make your stay enjoyable, and the breakfast, best there is. Excellent location and points of interest are easily accessible. I look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissGuy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Like many of the bed and breakfast places in Britain that we have stayed in, this fine old house’s décor offered pleasant nostalgia by reminding me of my grandparents’ house. The 19th century house was perfect for our visit to Columbia’s reconstructed 19th century gold rush town. Our owner-hostess was gracious, friendly and helpful. She cooked us a delicious breakfast that certainly beat any breakfast proudly advertised as “Full English” or “Full Scottish” in the UK. She also shared the secret of those marvellous scrambled eggs that were scrumptious and unlike any I had ever tasted before. She shared the ingredients, but not me; you will have to stay with her in her beautiful deer-view home to get that recipe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artmurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I just love this place. Sam (the owner) made us feel right at home. We stayed in the ‘Wine Cellar” and even though the average daily temperature high was 90 throughout our stay, the room was always nice and cool. The décor is very charming and beckons you come inside and relax. The bath room is huge and has the bonus of an indoor hot tub to soak away sore muscles.

Sam will cook you a breakfast to order, but we found that if you let her surprise you, you’ll get something amazing. Her banana-blueberry pancakes are to die for and her home-made sweet breads are divine. She makes a fantastic egg scramble loaded with goodies and you won’t need lunch after you’re done. Be prepared to go for a nice long walk to work off her breakfast because you won’t be able to stop yourself from eating every, delicious bite.

If you stay here, do yourself a favor and sit quietly out on the back porch either at dusk or dawn and you’re sure to see plenty of deer and other critters in the field behind the B&B. It’s a great way to start the day or end an evening.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the Wine Cellar, you won't be disappointed. Even when it's 90 degr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheQwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sam is a very good host and she has a lovely home just a couple of streets away from the fascinating centre of Columbia with its old shops and businesses dating back in style to gold prospecting days. Watch the deer from one of the outdoor sitting areas or take a dip in the hot tub if you have the cottage room.

Room Tip: If you like the idea of sitting in a hot tub, maybe after a day's sightseeing, pick the separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanRosemary8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
6.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
3.8 mi away
Bradford Place Inn and Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harlan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harlan House

Property: The Harlan House
Address: 22890 School House Rd, Columbia, CA 95310-9433
Location: United States > California > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing