We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B in Columbia, California”
Review of The Harlan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harlan House
Ranked #2 of 4 Columbia B&B and Inns
Columbia, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B in Columbia, California”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As a regular visitor to Columbia, California and the beautiful Harlan House Bed & Breakfast since November of 1999, I always look forward to returning. Service is excellent, rooms are very comfortable and the property is beautiful. Proprietor will make your stay enjoyable, and the breakfast, best there is. Excellent location and points of interest are easily accessible. I look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissGuy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Like many of the bed and breakfast places in Britain that we have stayed in, this fine old house’s décor offered pleasant nostalgia by reminding me of my grandparents’ house. The 19th century house was perfect for our visit to Columbia’s reconstructed 19th century gold rush town. Our owner-hostess was gracious, friendly and helpful. She cooked us a delicious breakfast that certainly beat any breakfast proudly advertised as “Full English” or “Full Scottish” in the UK. She also shared the secret of those marvellous scrambled eggs that were scrumptious and unlike any I had ever tasted before. She shared the ingredients, but not me; you will have to stay with her in her beautiful deer-view home to get that recipe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artmurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I just love this place. Sam (the owner) made us feel right at home. We stayed in the ‘Wine Cellar” and even though the average daily temperature high was 90 throughout our stay, the room was always nice and cool. The décor is very charming and beckons you come inside and relax. The bath room is huge and has the bonus of an indoor hot tub to soak away sore muscles.

Sam will cook you a breakfast to order, but we found that if you let her surprise you, you’ll get something amazing. Her banana-blueberry pancakes are to die for and her home-made sweet breads are divine. She makes a fantastic egg scramble loaded with goodies and you won’t need lunch after you’re done. Be prepared to go for a nice long walk to work off her breakfast because you won’t be able to stop yourself from eating every, delicious bite.

If you stay here, do yourself a favor and sit quietly out on the back porch either at dusk or dawn and you’re sure to see plenty of deer and other critters in the field behind the B&B. It’s a great way to start the day or end an evening.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the Wine Cellar, you won't be disappointed. Even when it's 90 degr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheQwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sam is a very good host and she has a lovely home just a couple of streets away from the fascinating centre of Columbia with its old shops and businesses dating back in style to gold prospecting days. Watch the deer from one of the outdoor sitting areas or take a dip in the hot tub if you have the cottage room.

Room Tip: If you like the idea of sitting in a hot tub, maybe after a day's sightseeing, pick the separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanRosemary8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Absolutely no complaints. Everything was incredible. A historic house right near Columbia State Park, the old schoolhouse, and cemetery. Beautiful old home. Our room had a big and very comfortable bed with bathroom, extra pillows, chairs, a gas fireplace controlled by thermostat, and even a tv with a VHS collection for late nights after Columbia has gone to bed! Sam was extremely accommodating and made us a varied, big, amazing breakfast both mornings with coffee and a visit with her 21 year old cat, Scooter. Quick drive to Sonora, which has great restaurants and shops. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jalyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in this bed and breakfast for a few days during Christmas vacation. The location was perfect. It's in the historic town of Columbia, but it's not on the main street, so it's very quiet and cozy. The proprietor, Samantha, was wonderful and gave us good directions for various side trips. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the breakfast was excellent and served exactly when we wanted it.
The town of Columbia is very cute and the stage coach tour is a must.
We would come here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oldmanofthemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were invited to a wedding in Sonoma but the hotel options were limited. I was thinking of just driving the three hours home until I read reviews about Harlan House. I am so glad I booked a stay there, it is a lovely two story home built at the turn of the century just up the street from Columbia State Park and minutes from downtown Sonoma. There are rooms in the darling main house, a wine cellar, and a cottage, and the prices are very reasonable. The owner Sam is delightful and cooks your breakfast to order in the morning and keeps the grounds so lovely. It is a beautiful home with lots of special touches everywhere from antiques, comfy furnishings, plenty of towels even wine set out in the room. Her website clearly shows each of the rooms and was very accurate. We really enjoyed our first visit, and wish we could have stayed longer. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We loved the wine cellar, it has a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel4us22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
4.0 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
388 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
122 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
154 reviews
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harlan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harlan House

Property: The Harlan House
Address: 22890 School House Rd, Columbia, CA 95310-9433
Location: United States > California > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing