We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RV overnight experience”
Review of 49er RV Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
49er RV Ranch
Star, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RV overnight experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our short stay so much - very nice location, wonderful people. The historic buildings on site and the amenities were great. We decided we should have stayed longer and may do that next time, which will be soon. Terrific area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank chrisrvtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our visit began with a very receptive check in, followed by 3 staff members assisting us with positioning of our rig. Very efficient and helpful staff helped us park with one smooth evolution in a very difficult, but awesome site in the trees overlooking the main camp area and camp fire. Gratis dinner on Fridays at the campfire was a welcome change to our planned dinner, due to our later than expected arrival. After dinner, Cricket, the camps resident musician provided some relaxing and very nice bluegrass guitar and banjo songs with an open offer to partake in marshmallows by the campfire along with an offer for gold panning hands on demonstrations in the morning. We did not take part in the marshmallows or gold panning because our plans took us elsewhere, but will do this on future visits. Upon the unfortunate end of our stay, getting out from our spot was met with equivalent customer service as well as a 2 for 1 special return trip offer if we booked at that time. We very much look forward to our return trip. Happy travels!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Ecarlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fun place to go with lots of things to see and do in the area. Campground folks were very helpful and friendly. Plan on returning in June and hope the weather will be as wonderful as it was on the last visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCFC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WORTH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been RVing full time since August, 2011 and this has been one of my favorite stays. I stayed here three months and and found the place to be great for long term and short term RVers. The installed FIOS super fast internet, a must for full timers. The property has a lot of character with a rustic feel. They host camp fires with period entertainment. Full hook ups with strong 50 amp service. I found the staff to be very helpful in solving my issues. The location is walking distance to the historic gold rush town of Columbia and is an easy drive to Yosemite National Park. I will definitely be a repeat guest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymoustexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The best I can say about 49r Ranch is that it is located in a beautiful setting. However I found the park to feel small and congested. What the ultimate disappointment was is the fact that our first time camper coupon of $20 was not honored and we had reserved 2 sites! When we checked in the night before we forgot to show the coupon. The next morning however we took it up there and was told that it would not be honored. There is no mention of the timing on the coupon whatsoever. The clerk said they should put that restriction on there in the future. We spoke to the owner as well and after enjoying breakfast with us at our campsite he walked away saying that he would rather we used it on our next trip. Sorry, but there wont be a next trip for us or the friends we had along with us. Shame on you!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck F, Manager at 49er RV Ranch, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Julie,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on the 49er RV Ranch. I am disappointed that your stay was not what it should have been, and I consider this an opportunity to improve our guest relations. Our policy is to honor the $20.00 first time coupon even if not presented at check-in and I apologize on behalf of the Ranch that our staff member did not handle this correctly, we will use this as an opportunity to train our entire staff in the proper procedures should this situation arise again in the future. I ask that you contact me directly so that I can insure that you are compensated for our error, I take pleasure in welcoming you back to the Ranch I can be reached at Chuck@49rv.com or 209-532-4978. I will personally take care of you to insure your next stay is most enjoyable.
Chuck
Ranch Foreman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Looking for a friendly spot where you can park your RV or travel trailer while you explore the Gold Country near Angels Camp, Sonora, Columbia and Murphy's? Look no farther than the 49er RV Ranch, located a half-mile distant from historic Columbia State Park. Staying three nights, we found the staff to be friendly and eager to share info about places to visit in the region. First-time visitors can download a $20 discount voucher from the 49er RV Ranch web site. The ranch itself is a little tricky to find, as the rural road extends directly away from the state park and is a block off the main road through Columbia. The ranch includes both permanent sites for mobile homes and a central area near the front entrance with pads for overnight or short-term RV visitors. All sites include full electrical, water, sewer, and cable TV hookups and free WiFi access. The on-site store can meet most guests' needs for picnic supplies and sundries, including -- in my case -- a replacement toothbrush. You can also fill your propane tanks on-site. NOTE: Be careful not to depend solely on your GPS if you're pulling a travel trailer when traveling in this part of the Sierra foothills, as the most direct route from Point A to Point B may not be appropriate for pulling a trailer. "Traveling the world one meal at a time..."

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSteveCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck F, Manager at 49er RV Ranch, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Steve, Thank you for the feedback on the 49er RV Ranch, you were a great guest we welcome you back and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Chuck
Ranch Foreman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here with Family and Friends,had alot of fun.Thanksgiving Dinner was awsome,all the different dishes,so so good.Thanks to all the people that helped organize this event.The Christmas Parade in Sonora was great.The entire stay was alot of fun,and we already booked for next year.Hats off to the 49er RV Ranch.
The Borba's

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
4.4 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
216 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
807 reviews
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 49er RV Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 49er RV Ranch

Property: 49er RV Ranch
Address: 23223 Italian Bar Rd, PO Box 569, Columbia, CA 95310-9751
Location: United States > California > Columbia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest campground in California. In 1852 serving gold rush covered wagons. Today, RV visitors to Columbia State Historic Park, a preserved living gold rush town and gateway to California’s historic Gold Rush. Between Sacramento, Yosemite & Lake Tahoe. Full RV service with Old Ranch Hospitality. Home base for: gold prospecting, stagecoach 7 steam train rides, antiquing, live theaters, dining, golfing, fishing, water & snow skiing. Relax in the peaceful history of this exceptional full service campground. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing