We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice little stop over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Gem Motel

Columbia Gem Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Gem Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Columbia
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We did an overnight trip to the area and needed a place that was dog friendly. We found the Columbia Gem. We stayed in one of their cabins which was the size of a guest room, but nice that it was separate and private. It was a cute little place, quiet, clean, had air conditioning, microwave fridge and all additional amenities you'd miss if it wasn't there...no negatives really. The only thing is that our dog had to always be on a leash which is understandable since the property is road side. Rene the owner was very nice and helpful. Nice little stop over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I were visiting his parents in Columbia over Memorial Day weekend and we had the most pleasant stay at Columbia Gem.

The room was spacious, comfortable, immaculately clean and quaintly decorated. Ample towels were provided and although they were a bit small, they were abundant and our friendly housekeeper, Louise, was more than willing to give us extra towels upon request. The room included a TV, hair dryer, microwave and coffee maker. Coffee, cream and sugar were also generously provided.

The owner, Rene, was friendly, welcoming and generous. He showed us excellent hospitality and was extremely accomodating. Rene gave me the peace of mind of knowing that my cat, Misty, was welcome at the motel and that she was safe and happy during our stay. Rene was even sweet enough to keep an eye on Misty during the day and he would say hello to her whenever he walked by and saw her in our window. Rene gave us personalized attention and we felt at home at Columbia Gem. He even came out a few times, sat outside with us and we shared laughs and had very pleasant coversations with him.

Next time we are in or near Columbia, we will definately stay at Columbia Gem again. It is the best value in the area. Thank you for making our trip so pleasant and comfortable and thank you for accomodating Misty!

Room Tip: Room 9 was perfect. It had two queen beds, one a little firmer than the other so we were able to pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Webmaster at Columbia Gem Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing us.
We are very happy with the nice review that you posted.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Cute tiny cabins. We spent one night in cabin number 5. Room was clean and tidy. The cabins are very small - but enough if all you want is to bath and sleep for a night or two. First the bathing part - the towels were on the small side (high school gym size) were clean but stained. Bathroom is tiny - one person at a time. All ok. What was NOT OK: THE BED was very hard and we felt each spring under our body (we are not large people). Upon our departure we mentioned the bed to the manager - Rene - and his response was "Duly noted" which to me meant nothing would be done. At $109 per night if the other cabin beds are like cabin 5 - there are much better options in nearby Sonora.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livinginprunecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Webmaster at Columbia Gem Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello livinginprunecity:

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. It is quite a balancing act trying to find a medium between a hard and a soft mattress. All of our mattresses and bedding are kept new and fresh. We exchange all of our mattresses, bedding, etc. frequently. I'm sorry that we didn't find the exact firmness for you this time, maybe next time. Please don't give up on us.

Again, thanks for staying with us.

Rob Hoerntlein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Columbia Gem Motel is a wonderful place to stay when in the Sonora-Columbia area. We have stayed there many times over the last 10 years. Rene, the host, is sincerely dedicated to providing a clean, customer service-oriented establishment. We love the personal treatment we receive -- unlike any national chain establishment. The cottages are compact, but charming. Given its proximity to the road running between Sonora and Columbia State Historic Park, the Gem is surprisingly quiet -- we are seldom aware of traffic. The Columbia Gem has become our home away from home whenever we are in the area (4-5 times annually).

Room Tip: The motel section rooms are larger, but the cottages are great fun and (my wife adds) very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Webmaster at Columbia Gem Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello Richard S:

Thank you very much for your loyalty over the years. We always look forward to your visits. Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review. We spend a lot of money and time to make sure that every detail is perfect for each of our guests.

Rob Hoerntlein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

My sister and daughter checked in early Saturday afternoon for a 2-night stay at the Gem Motel in Columbia, CA over Memorial Day weekend 2010. The manager, Rene, claimed 3 nights had been booked. During the discussion, he answered his phone and was angrily talking to someone about a problem with his motorcycle. Thirty minutes later, the room dispute was settled and ended in friendly conversation. By evening he was in a taxi hunting them down at Marble Quarry campgrounds shouting out the window to whomever he saw “where is the (our last name) Family Reunion!?”. When my daughter, mother and sister approached him in the car, he wanted to know why they had not checked in yet. The receipt was offered to prove it, but he was out of his mind and would not listen, did not believe it, now claiming they had double booked. He had completely mixed up all the reservations for the family members staying at his motel and had decided to kick all of them out, from my mom who is 74 to my 19-month old granddaughter. We were 6 women attending our 27th Family Reunion, and our belongings were being thrown out to the street by his housekeeper as Rene forced us out of our rooms at 8:00 at night holding a double-barrel shotgun!

The moment the gun entered the picture, my daughter called the sheriff’s office. Statements were taken, the gun was confiscated but it was his property and he had not raised the gun, so he was not arrested. He had to be pointing the gun at someone for it to be considered a threat, not just holding it while screaming profanities and having his housekeeper physically snatch the room key from them. My mom was so frightened, she was shaking and crying, just wanted to get her money back and get out of there. Rene was trying to keep the money but the sheriff helped enforce the refund. We were discouraged from pressing charges because further interrogation and court procedures would be required. We live 3 hours away and were now left with no place to stay late at night on a holiday weekend.

Rene’s unpredictable and dangerous behavior caused us to feel threatened and worry for the safety of our loved ones. Our family has stayed at this motel for the past several years and thought we had established a good relationship with him. We are not sure what caused the personality change and volatile behavior and the sheriff did not pursue it. Something is not right there and I especially warn women and children to stay away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank KEGKEG10131013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

What a great find. It's a quiet motel tha tis family run. We stayed in a 2 room cabin with a toddler and it was perfect. Clean, quiet, had a porch to sit on and watch him play. He was able to ride his scooter all over the property and chase the cats. Owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erinautical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

We spent Presidents day weekend at the Gem and found it to be a nice place. We chose the Gem because it allowed us to stay with our dog. We stayed in one of the little cabins and it cost something just under $100 for the night. The room was clean with new carpeting, modest decor, small fridge and microwave. The bed was a little soft for my particular tastes but it was a good mattress, new and without sinkholes so it being softer than I am used to didn't affect my back. I liked the nice cotton quilt on the bed. The front porch gets good sun and it was nice to just hang out and enjoy. The main road is out front but we didn't notice it once we went to sleep. The gem is a better stay than the cookie cutter places, a bit funky in the good kind of a way, not the Ritz by any stretch but a good stay for the area..

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank DonStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
0.0 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
0.0 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
1859 Historic National Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gem Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gem Motel

Property: Columbia Gem Motel
Address: 22131 Parrotts Ferry Road, Columbia, CA 95310
Location: United States > California > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 139
Also Known As:
Columbia Gem Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing