We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Person At Front Desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Colton
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Colton
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rude Person At Front Desk”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The motel is of the old style with multiple buildings and long hallways. The room had a smell to it.
That was a turn off. But what makes this motel unacceptable is the guy at the front desk. HIs name is "Andy" and I will never forget his rude and disrespectful manner.
We stayed here for four nights and on the first morning I went down to the breakfast area to get some oatmeal and orange juice for my wife. I always take breakfast back to the room for my wife, so she can enjoy her breakfast and watch the morning news. I have done this for over twenty years of traveling on business. No one had complained about it until this morning.
As I was going out of the breakfast area, I heard someone yelling "Hey! Hey! you can't take any food out of the breakfast area! " It was the man behind the front desk. I then asked him if I could take this to my wife and I will be back to eat in the breakfast area. He responded by continued yelling "No! No! no food out of the breakfast area!"
I have never been addressed like that on all of the years of travelling and that includes travel over seas. It was the rudest thing I have ever experienced. So I took the oatmeal and orange juice back in the room and put it down. And I never came back to the front until I checked out.
On the morning of check out, He (Andy) asked me "How was your stay?"
I told him that it was ok until he started yelling at me. He then started to argue with me about it!!!
I could not believe it was happening! It was just awful!!
I got my receipt and was out of there!!
I then drove to a Hampton inn in Highland Ca. and the service was excellent!!! And the price was just four dollars a night more than this dump.
Since this experience, I will never stay at a Choice Hotel again!
FYI
I have found that the Best Western Brand is a good replacement for the Choice Hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Colton, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations.But our hotels staff was just following the rules. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Andy Patel
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    39
    12
    5
    13
See reviews for
43
36
15
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although the staff was very pleasant, and my breakfast was pretty good with scrambles eggs and slices of ham, I would not return.

The interior of my room seems mostly clean although I was visited by ants. They probably came because the interior and exterior trash cans were overflowing with trash and condom wrappers. The hallways had a bad smell, probably from the trash.

The inside of the elevator was adorned with fingerprints and splatters of ????? all over the frame and walls.

As I walked outside to my car in the morning, I had trouble seeing across the street through the thick layer of smog, not fog.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Colton, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Comfort Inn & Suites.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding Filth,Ants and trash on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our maintenance department to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Colton.

Kind Regards,

Andy Patel
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
909.825.9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was so impressed with the cleanliness of the room! From windows to the TV screen, spotless! I liked the secure doors & exits! The parking area was very clean and very well lit. The bed was amazingly comfortable with pillows galore that were for every kind of 'sleeeeep!' AC was fresh and cold. Floor & carpet so clean, going shoeless was actually nice. Towels were not worn out and thin either! Frig kept things very cold and microwave was great. Coffee pot lost out on being in such tip top shape. No one knows how to clean them, unless they are a real coffee drinker! The TV and programming was excellent! Lighting was great too. I seriously think that large arrows or plaques with color coding of some type would help guests find their way through the labrynth of hallways. It was very confusing each time they were traversed. With things in your hands or carrying them in your arms, this was an added burden. Sound didn't travel and this was a first floor room. Doors didn't slam shut so noise was NOT an issue here at all, even with industry so near the location. The tall sign can be seen from the freeway and it helps a lot if you are new to the area! Apartments across the street were clean and quiet. Traffic was never an issue either. Can't ask for more at their rates! Never thought to take a photo, the room looked just like the ones I saw on the website. Front desk & Service staff were professionals. The breakfast was fresh, tasty, plentiful and quite a variety, for family and adult. Coffee 24/7 made the room's maker less of an inconvenience. This rivaled Best Westerns! This was so much better! Decor was superb. Laundry room was clean as well. It is well worth every penny to stay here! I hope to do so again and again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Colton, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are glad to learn you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. All of us here at Comfort Inn & Suites appreciates you taking the time out from your busy schedule to write us a review, I am sure you will be glad to learn that we are considering your suggestion .Please let us know if you have any more suggestions or comments since that is only way we can improve our product and service. I hope you choose Comfort Inn & Suites, Colton again for your accommodation needs when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great rates but terrible service. The employee's at the front desk were very rude to me in not one but several occasions when simply housekeeping request were made. Even though the rooms were nice it still didn't make up for the lack of customer service. We requested sheets the first night for the pull out bed, we didn't get them until 11:30 pm, and that was only after being rudely told they didn't have any (which wasn't true). Denied pool towels because they didn't have any, and the list goes on and on...the front desk staff did not make our stay pleasant at all.

Room Tip: Pull out beds do not have sheets. They are only given to you upon request, and that is only if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler7405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Colton, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I would like to apologize for your inconvenience. The evening of your visit was not a common occurrence. Our hotel is normally very quiet, and our staff very attentive. Again if you come back to Colton, we will be more than happy to give you a complimentary upgrade, and I guarantee you will have a great stay. If you have any questions, please contact me at (909) 825-9100. Thank You Andy Patel , Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Rooms very clean, comfortable beds - the staff was very friendly and helpful (after leaving my phone charger at home, they arranged to let me borrow a cord). Breakfast was a notch better than other most other hotel continental breakfasts. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djgilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Colton, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our survey and sharing your great experience with other potential guests. Our staff appreciates when they are recognized for their outstanding work. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel was very comforable, the staff was very helpfil especialy Terrie who answer any and all my questions. The hotel is clean and serves a great breakfast. It has been a pleasure staying here. The pool and pool area was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Colton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We are glad to learn you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. All of us here at Comfort Inn & Suites appreciates you taking the time out from your busy schedule to write us a review, I am sure you will be glad to learn that we are considering your suggestion .Please let us know if you have any more suggestions or comments since that is only way we can improve our product and service. I hope you choose Comfort Inn & Suites, Colton again for your accommodation needs when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and rented 3 rooms during a family vacation to southern CA to attend our daughter's graduation from Medical School at Loma Linda University. This hotel was chosen because it was conveniently located by the interstates for travel to Disneyland, etc., but was also close to the graduation festivities. We were taveling with young children and teens and they loved the pool and fitness facility. The premises were kept extremely clean, both inside and out and the staff was extremely friendly, The complimentary breakfast was very good. The beds were about the most comfortable beds all of us have ever slept in. The reson for the very good rating was due to the surrounding neighborhood, which was a bit sketch. However, we felt extremely safe inside the cardlocked entries.

Room Tip: All rooms were very good, but we particularly liked the King rooms with a sofa and refrigerator. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Colton, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and your Time. It means a lot to us to see our guest come back to stay again. Our staff works very hard to provide every guest the best possible stay and we are happy you are pleased with all your stays. Thank you again and see you Soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arrowhead Hotel
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Colton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 32 in San Bernardino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn San Bernardino
Quality Inn San Bernardino
#14 of 32 in San Bernardino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Colton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Colton

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Colton
Address: 450 Sperry Dr, Colton, CA 92324-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Colton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Colton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Colton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is brand new hotel in san bernardino, opened in end of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Colton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing