We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful village Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Three Horseshoes
Ranked #1 of 2 Briston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful village Inn”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night on the 11th May. It was my husband's birthday and the pub ticked all the boxes that we wanted. It was spotlessly clean, we were in Room No 1 which was very spacious and once again spotlessly clean. The bed was was the best we have have ever slept in for comfort ( a wonderful night's sleep). We ate in the dining room on the Saturday evening and had a very nice meal. Next morning we came down for an excellent breakfast nice and hot and also on hot plates. All the staff were very friendly as were the owners of the pub. I would certainly recommend this pub and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The pub is in a pleasant village four miles from Holt and nine miles from the coast at Weybourne. The staff in the bar and restaurant are very friendly. The room we stayed in was spacious with pleasant décor and was spotlessly clean. We ate our dinner in the popular restaurant and enjoyed a delicious meal. In the morning we had a tasty full English breakfast.

We didn't realise that the pub had a special 'mini beer festival' on and had a comedian/vocalist on the night we stayed. On taking our food order Rachael told us that things would quieten down by 12.00 - 12.30am. In actual fact once the act was over at 11.00pm and the guests had finished chatting outside a while later, all was quiet much earlier than we expected. However, what we didn't expect was the noise from washing up in the kitchen below our room to go on till 2.00am and the continued noise of what we assume was an extractor system from the kitchen to continue, without break, throughout the night. Maybe some sort of sound proofing, which I realise is not that easy in an old property, might be worth looking into, if rooms over the kitchen are to be let out to paying guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margent_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I booked for 1 Saturday night whilst our kids were on rugby tour in Holt, warm welcome, great room, lovely dinner on Saturday and a full english Sunday. I could find no fault with our stay, there is some noise occasionally but what do people expect from a pub! Would easily reccomend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My friends and I were staying on a local campsite and were told to try out the Three Horseshoes.

We headed there on a midweek evening for dinner. We were greeted by very friendly barstaff who were a good laugh and very knowledgeable about their menu and beers (the bloke in paticular was a credit to the pub).

The menu was well designed and included a number of dishes which incorporated local produce. We had starters, mains and deserts. All were excellents and in no way could I fault the quality of the food or its price.

So why 4 stars and not 5? Well, on the night we went the pub was very busy with a darts game, cards meeting and approx 30 locals. Its excellent to see a country pub with this much activity, but there were not really enough staff, something the staff did apologise for as there were considerable delays between courses. However the food and value more than made up for this, I would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximusbrambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a very good local pub. We enjoyed lunch here and the quality of the food was good. However we sat down at 1.15 pm and weren't served until well after 2.00 pm. If I had any criticism of the food it was that it was perhaps a bit over-ambitious and slightly at odds with the down to earth style of the pub. Simple food can be excellent! However the landlord's point in the response to the previous review is right. This is a proper Norfolk local, not a chunk of Chelsea near the sea. We'd definitely go again but might take a 12.30 booking....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JutN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had booked a 2 night stay at the Horseshoes. On arrival, the bar, restaurant and room was lovely. Clean and tastefully decorated. We had an evening meal which again was lovely. Service was good and prompt. We decided to go to our room about half past 10. The pub by this point was so full that there was no where to sit anyway. In our room, the music was unacceptably loud. We were not too bothered by this though, as although tired, it was a pub and we had to expect an element of noise. We considered it may quiten down around 11pm. 11pm came, 11.30pm came, midnight came, 12.30am came as did 1am. By this point it was truly awful. It replicated a nightclub and clearly no respect for the guests from the landlord or staff. We packed our bags, and went to the bar to pay. The pub had emptied to a handfull of young customers, still drinking and having their club night. We paid for our meals and left at 1.45am. A terrible experience and ruined our weekend. Clearly a wonderful local pub with great atmoshphere and a good 'lock in'. Lovely food and accommodation has been carefully done, however, the two do not mix and if you want to encourage people to stay, then noise has to be respected. The staff informed us as we were leaving that there were 2 parties on that night for the locals..... maybe we should have been warned of this and given a time that the music would finish? This would be the norm if staying in any accommodation that had a function..... This was not a function but a typical Friday night. I have stayed at many pubs and this has to be the worst I have ever experienced. On reflection I paid for our meals and drinks, but have regretted giving them a penny- They should have offered us the money. We were however offered a free drink 'on the house' at 1.45am!!!! Not a chance with an hour and a halfs travel back home at that time. Never again. Shame because with a little experience this pub could be lovely. As I said it ticks all the right boxes but the landlord and landlady clearly need to decide whether they are a lock in loud local pub or whether they want to focus their trade on meals and residents. The two do not combine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kate f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobE909, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We do not apologise for being busy!

With so many pubs around the country, including several in the North Norfolk area, closing on a regular basis we are not going to apologise for bucking the trend and being busy. Far from there being a “function” on the Friday night in question there was in fact just a good number of locals and visitors in the pub with a couple of regulars celebration their birthdays. There were also a good number of diners in the restaurant and bar areas enjoying good food from local producers with many staying on after to enjoy the atmosphere of a good local pub being busy with happy customers. Lock IN? Benefiting from a 24/7 licence we do not have the need for a “lock in” we simply allow people to enjoy their evening without the need to finish and be gone by 11pm.

We are not a Posh B&B or Gastro pub and we do not want to be and nor do we charge their prices; you can find these establishments all over North Norfolk. They have managed to alienate the `Locals’ which is probably why you will find so many locals using us for both good local food & drink and to celebrate family occasions. We are proud to be the `Local’ being one of the very few pubs in the area where there is still a landlord and landlady running their own pub. With over thirty years in the trade we are very pleased to have succeeded in such difficult financial times in bringing The Three Horseshoes back to the centre of the community, this would have been impossible without our local support. If you ask anyone they will say we are a good local pub that does good food and B&B. We have never pretended to be anything else.

Unfortunately in life you cannot please everyone although we do try our best to accommodate all our clientele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Lovely large room, recently and tastefully decorated with generous amounts of storage space. Large ensuite room, also recently decorated. Only a few miles from the seaside resorts of Sheringham and Cromer. I don't eat meat and it was nice to have several choices on the menu and specials board. Very welcoming and friendly staff, good bar and restaurant service. A pleasant stay, one of the nicest pub bedrooms I've stayed in.

Problems with partner having problems with hot water! I woke up in the morning, showered in the large en-suite, showered again just before bedtime, everything was fine. Partner wanted to shower before evening meal, 3-4pm and there was no hot water in the shower or in the wash basin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not-so-young-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Briston
6.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
579 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
24.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
217 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Horseshoes

Property: The Three Horseshoes
Address: West End Norwich Road, Briston NR24 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Briston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Briston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Horseshoes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former coaching inn on the outskirts of Briston, just 8 miles from the North Norfolk coast and 4 miles from Holt, dating from the 1880s, has been newly renovated by proprietors Rob and Sue Eustace. The Three Horseshoes offers a warm welcome to the local community and visitors to the North Norfolk coast. The Three Horseshoes offers generous helpings of proper pub food serving all day, using fine ingredients from North Norfolk including beef from Briston, crab from Cromer, mussels from Morston, local vegetables, together with jams and chutneys made by Sue Eustace herself. Offering a range of traditional cask ales, lagers and ciders with an excellent wine list and serving traditional and modern cuisine using fine ingredients sourced from local producers and now with lovely new rooms for B&B, The Three Horseshoes is an ideal base to explore the Norfolk countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Three Horseshoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing