We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice site friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Osyth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over the weekend, the site was clean and tidy and the staff in reception and the club house were very friendly and helpfull.

Our caravan was a silver grade one and was very nice and had everything we needed. The TV was on the small size (12" i think) but apart from that we had no problems with the caravan.

We went in the club house everynight and there was entertainment for the kids each night, there's a nice climbing frame just outside the clubhouse for the kids to play on.

The site is on the quite side (which was perfect for us) but there is still things going on that you can join in on if you wish.

Overall had a nice stay and would have no issue about staying on this site again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eltnux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It was a pleasure to read that you both had a lovely time here at Oaklands Holiday Park.

I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 144 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

we have visited this park twice and it is a lovely park with a fishing lake on site which is great, the staff are helpful and friendly and the caravan was clean and spacious, the location is excellent also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clare g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about Oaklands Holiday Park.

I do hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

oaklands is a very nice site club house is small but very freindly staff got to say stayed there several times last year food was not very good but this year a vast inprovement if you have children not much for them to do but great for a base to explore essex and beach is only 8 min car ride away

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archie4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Oaklands, and I do hope that you will re-visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

my husband and i have just had a relaxing weeks break at oaklands our accomadation was a gold rated caravan which was superb we did a spot of fishing on the lake and loved the peace and calmness and injoyed a couple of beers in the evenings in the quaint club the lady on reception was very helpfull the park was lovely and clean and not to far away from clacton itself we will certainly be going back and book for the fishing next time .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulmorphew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It was lovely to read your positive comments about Oaklands Holiday Park.

I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Oaklands for a midweek break in September and very much enjoyed our stay. Park Holidays very helpfully split their parks into Active & Fun and Relax & Explore sites and, as one of the latter, Oaklands is great. The lake is very picturesque too.

The Park is easy to navigate and although we weren't given a map at check in, found the caravan first time. The caravan; a Gold, was immaculately clean, in excellent condition and one of the most spacious I've seen. We had everything we needed inside. Additionally I would say the beds and sofas were very comfy and the shower was great!

Park staff were always helpful, especially in the Complex where we had some very tasty food and enjoyed the freebie vouchers too! The playground is great, although the swings are a bit high for little legs! We took a while to walk around the whole site and although some of the vans on site look like they must be from the 1970's, the whole park is very tidy, clean and well-kept and everyone you meet says hello.

There is an area in the Reception to get some basic bits, which is handy and they have some leaflets in there too. Tesco is very close by as well, took us 10 mins if that to drive, its huge so main shopping can be done there easily. We didn't have time to visit the nearby PHUK sites of St Osyth and Seawick, but its nice to know we could've gone there if we wanted to.

Nearby attractions are quite easy to get too as most roads lead to or via Colchester in this area. We visited Clacton for the afternoon-the pier and the beach are lovely, great arcades etc on the pier and reasonably priced Adventure Golf. We also spent a leisurely day wandering around Colchester which is pretty-although the Castle is closed the Castle Park is lovely and the cafe does very good food. A visit to Marks Hall Arboretum was probably the highlight of the trip-stunning lakes and gardens were well worth the walk! We also visited Gnome Magic-quite funny to see all the gnomes throughout the wood, good as a novelty trip but quite pricey.

Overall I found the local area to be tranquil and pretty, the Park peaceful and relaxing and the caravan met all of our needs very well. Would definitely return - good value for money.

Room Tip: You can park outside all units, so accessability shouldn't be an issue for most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disney_Mushu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

It was a pleasure to read your lovely comments about both the park and the staff.

I do hope that you will come back, and visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked a mid week break. Caravan was basic but clean. Was booked for fishing the lake. Was slightly disappointed that the edge was completely taken over by caravans and the only place available was on a rather narrow floating pontoon. This is not made clear on the website. Apparently a couple of owners didn't mind you fishing near their pitch but they were in occupation. However there were plenty of decent fish to catch. the pontoon was slippery after this weeks rain where wildfowl had messed too. Could do with being swept daily. We did enjoy our stay and found all staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill5830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do have a number of plots around the lake where you can fish, if you do visit us again, please let us know so that we can make you aware of all the areas available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed (two adults 28 & 25), in a 'Gold Caravan' for three nights at the end of August. We found the park without any hassle, and were greeted by friendly reception staff. It's a relatively small park, so finding our caravan wasn't difficult, which was good. Check in was easy and we were impressed with the space/facilities in the caravan. We had a toddler with us (22 months) who has just started sleeping in a bed as opposed to a cot, and we easily able to attach her bed guard to one of the beds in the smaller rooms. She slept through every night, despite losing her comfort blanket on the journey somewhere (which the staff were helpful when looking).

We spent three pleasant nights in the caravan, and every thing that we needed was a short drive away. It was a little dissapointing that there wasn't any where to get a paper in the morning within walking distance but this wasn't a big deal. We only visited one of the other parks once to go swimming, which was fine, basic but everything we needed really.

There was a friendly atmosphere, and everyone we encountered was pleasant, it seemed like there was a high percentage of regulars, but everyone we encountered was friendly. There was a playground which little'un enjoyed, it was a little run down but not too bad.

On the whole, this was a nice cheap trip that we all enjoyed and would happily recommend or visit again. We were concerned from some reviews that it would be noisy but it wasn't really noticeable.

Only downpoints really was the TV was very small considering we were with a toddler so were in most nights, and that wifi was expensive, particularly having to buy a week when we were only there for 3 days.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the gold caravan we stayed in, which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelbyw1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately the televisions are a standard size in all our caravans.

I do hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Osyth
2.6 mi away
Seawick Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
3.1 mi away
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - ...
#10 of 15 in Clacton-on-Sea
888 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pa...
#14 of 15 in Clacton-on-Sea
848 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Barnfield B&B
#3 of 5 in St Osyth
6 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lee Wick Farm Cottages & Glamping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Colchester Road, St Osyth, Clacton-on-Sea CO16 8HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea > St Osyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Osyth
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklands is ideal for those looking for a peaceful countryside setting yet within easy reach of both Colchester with it's great shopping and the popular seaside resorts of the Essex Coast. The Park is surrounded by countryside but features an attractive fishing lake as its centre piece. You don’t have to be a fisherman to enjoy the lake as it’s also an ideal spot to relax and take in the local wildlife. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing