We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with Excellant food”
Review of TJ's Roadhouse

TJ's Roadhouse
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Colfax
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Colfax, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly with Excellant food”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great local family restaurant and roadside stop. Along CA-80 Colfax, CA There are so many good things from their home made chips to homemade burger buns. Pasta's are yummy, steak sandwich nice and tender, burgers and BLT to die for. But the best is the friendly service and how they make you feel like home. You have to save room for the get desserts. Homemade chocolate chip cake or key lime pie or homemade bread pudding there's always something we end up indulging in.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clipperbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

TJ's was recommended by Guy and Sierra Sun Cloud Inn and it was great food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank shelleyl905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“BLT a specialty...”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We drove from Roseville to Colfax just for this restaurant's famous BLT sandwiches, and weren't disappointed. The restaurant is a rustic place with a western theme just off Highway 80. A great place to stop on the way to or from Reno from the Bay Area or San Joaquin Valley.
The sandwiches were delicious. Ample slices of thick bacon with tomatoes that actually tasted like tomatoes - a rare thing these days.
Their hamburgers are also locally famous and the ones we saw at the next table looked pretty damned good!
We'll be back - and soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WBrecheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Another busy place”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

excellent food and its always fresh. Some of their food plates are so loaded with food I dont know how they do it. It will fill you up for days so bring a tummy. Weekends are they busy time. Great coffee and employees.

Helpful?
Thank didugetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
1 review
“Jem off of the freeway”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have been looking for a place to eat with the kids after a day in Tahoe and we've found it! The owner approached us in a friendly way when we entered. The food was fresh - seemed like it was all homemade. Fries delicious, fried chicken yummy, and salad great! I like the amount of food and side options (i.e. baked yam).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to TJ's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing