We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Drive !”
Review of Colfax Greek Bistro - CLOSED

Colfax Greek Bistro
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
SOO Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive !”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had a great authentic tasting falafel here. The owner bends over backwards to please . All in all , friendly and homey atmosphere. If youre a hiker she has tons of info on hikes in the area. An interesting ol' little town too. Will be back for some baklava............mmmmmmmmmmmmm

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patonbeaupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good ethnic food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Small, family-type cafe-- very informally run. Decor could be improved, but is made up for by friendliness of owner and teenage daughter. Food very tasty, seemed authentic and fresh. Owner's speech impediment is from an illness, not substance abuse or developmental delay as some have thought. I wish more locals would support this business; I think the small mountain town of Colfax may not be the best place for an ethnic restaurant to succeed. Worth the 30 minute round-trip drive. Interesting small art gallery in the back of the cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
226 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Not that great, OK for Colfax I guess....”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I agree with James (other reviewer) that the owner is a very nice lady.

However, if you look at the Yelp reviews, there will be quite a mixed bag of reviews.

Even though I liked her food, there will be other folks who (for whatever reasons) will loathe this place.

My constructive criticism is/was; too much like a lounge or living room with a lot of mismatched furniture and chairs. Heard the "ding" of a microwave several times as the food was being prepared.
Cleanliness not at same elevated levels as a typical restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gyro to die for!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Oh my gosh....I love history....I love local businesses....I love ethnic food... this fits the bill. :) The owner, Elan, is so sweet and accommodating. She provides a diverse selection of both local and ethnic beers and wine, which you can casually sip while she prepares your meal. I love the authentic gyro as well as the spanikopita. Her tzatziki sauce is delightfully fresh and garlicy (so ya both gotta eat it). If you're in a hurry, call in and preorder, but if you want to relax, this is the place.... she has couches to lounge on...a bar to hang out, and tables to eat at. But seriously, the gyro, in COLFAX, is a rarity, and to die for!!! I just wish she were open more days. This is also the place to have a special occasion....enough room for everyone. Her daughter, Sophia, is a delight, and in between her homework, she is wonderful addition to the bistro, helping her mom out. Also clean bathrooms and an art gallery, with Colfax history strewn throughout. Love it, love it, love it. :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colfax Greek Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing