We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Stayed at the complex during Memorial day weekend 2009. We were there with a large group of friends to visit Yosemite National Park and a reunion of classmates from high school. Some stayed at this complex while most did not(those were the lucky ones).

When you enter the complex you are engulfed by cigarette smoke, and if you love the smell of an ashtray you are at home here.

Check in was no issue and smooth. Room in the new tower was just ok, nothing great. Maid service varied depending on who cleaned the room, since they took away old towels, but did not replace all of them at each cleaning. Some days they put it full set of towels, other days they did not. Room was non smoking as was the floor.

The restaurants varied. The buffet was ok but closes early so if you want to eat there after 9pm you may have a problem, the food stays in the displays for a long time, the bakery who supposedly serves freshly baked goods actually serves stale pastry. The Cafe serves food that is very fatty and just so so. The Diner is ok, but along with everyone else serves pre cooked burgers and unless you want it well done you are out of luck. Overall the food quality is average to poor always cold and though reasonably priced, I would go elsewhere.

The staff overall is semi friendly and depends on who you are dealing with. At the bakery early in the AM they are surly and not awake yet, and at the other restaurants even though the place is not overly busy they are overwhelmed by a large table of guests.

Though the restaurants are smoke free, they mostly have open air to the casino and therefore you can still inhale the smoke from the casino floor and feel like you are in the middle of an ashtray. This is a total turnoff from anything.

So again if you like to sit in the middle of an ashtray, this is the right place for you. Otherwise there are better places elsewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gabesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 397 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2009

Wanted to do a short getaway for Valentine's Day, which fell on a Saturday during a long holiday weekend. The hotel was fully booked (400 rooms). Despite it supposedly being more like a Vegas style Indian casino as opposed to some others in the local area, there was still a significant odor of cigarettes upon entering the property, although that wasn't an issue in the restaurant or room. When we got into the room, it was apparent that the air conditioning was not working as it should be, The room was warm and stuffy. An engineer responded and agreed that it was not working properly. We were moved to another room, and guess what....the same AC problem. After that we just lived with it for the one night.
Went to Nativos for dinner with another couple. The food was good...service was a little slow. We think that it was due to the fact that they were completely booked for the night also. The portebello mushroom appetizer was very good and large. Good bread and a good wine selection.
As we are not gamblers, there is very little to do here other than to eat and drink. We were going to throw a few bucks into the slots, but the place was absolutely jammed, so we went back up to the room.
The next morning our water in the room began turning into a dark brown color...totally unusable. We called the front desk and they said that the "filters" were being changed out. Come to find out that all 400 rooms were experiencing the same problem, along with the restaurants. Everybody was complaining. They discounted our room, which was originally more expensive than what we have paid in Vegas, upon checkout, which was early for us due to the water situation.
If you are a gambler who either smokes or can stand the smell, then this would an OK place to come. If you want to spend some quality time in a casino environment, save up and go to Las Vegas. Your overall experience will be exceedingly better.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJDClovisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

My grandparents have been long time fans of the Chukchansi Casino so my husband and I decided that we'd travel to the casino for his 26th birthday. A month or two before his birthday we saw on their website that a new hotel tower had just opened along with a great indoor/outdoor pool area. We called the resort and made reservations in the new tower. The price of the room was great and we looked forward to seeing what this casino had to offer.

We got a later start than we had planned. We didn't arrive until about 7PM. We checked in and went to find our room. The room was large and well appointed and even smelt new! We had checked out the menus for the on-site restaurants and loved the menu for the Market Buffet. By the time we got there and were ready for dinner everything was closed though besides Goldfields. We were bummed that they didn't stay open later or have "after hours" like other casinos we have been too. We decided to eat at Goldfields and the food was wonderful as was the service. We were just disappointed that we weren't going to be able to dine at the buffet. Dinner at Goldfields was the first meal we had eaten that day so several hours later, we here hungry again....good thing we had brought some sodas, a bag of chips, and some birthday dessert with us as there weren't even 24 hour snack shops or food vending machines anywhere.

The casino was clean however we found it not as easy to get around as other casinos. I think some other casinos are just better laid out.

Later that night we went down to check out the pool. We knew it was probably closed for the night but we wanted to see what time it opened again so we could enjoy it before check out the next morning. Once we got to the doors that led to the pool a sign was posted that it would be closed the following day. Major disappointment! We love swimming and the fact that they had a heated indoor/outdoor pool was a huge selling point for us and for it to be closed once we got there was disappointing. The view from our room was of the huge air conditioning system on the roof below us and we could hear the "humming" of system all night long.

All in all we had an average stay. The room was beautiful, the service was great, the food was good but the hours are lacking as are the views and the pool was closed. We'll probably visit again when we head up to Yosemite as it is in a great location but we won't be heading there for the "casino" experience any time soon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summer0fstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

We were offered two free nights stay at the new hotel tower for a standard room. It was a very nice place to stay, very new. Its location is ideal for a short trip to the southern entrance to Yosemite National Park. There is casino gambling and great little shops and a fantastic Buffet. The hotel rooms were larger than average, very clean and modern.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jeep_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed there for a long weekend in September. Overall, it was an above-average Indian casino but not outstanding. The rooms in the new tower and the restaurants were all nice. There was construction going on in the main lobby but it was only a minor distraction. I didn't hear any noise from the construction. We were there with our one year old son and I don't recommend it for children. For example, there were no cribs in the entire hotel. The pool bar was a disappointment but the buffett, on the other hand, was excellent.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Mgbeaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

The rooms are adequate and quiet. Staff not friendly. No one smiles here! One warning, the casino slot machines are OLD. They are very faded and don't spin smoothly. They were definitely brought in from another casino. Why build a beautiful place and put in discarded junk?

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2travel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

A great time was had for a birthday weekend with my husband and friends. We stayed in the "older" tower which doesn't feel old at all. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated.

We checked out the new Spa/Fitness Center and found free bottled water in the workout room in a fridge. (Get some and put it in your room for later).

Nativo's Italian restaurant was excellent. Service was a bit slow but then our reservations were fudged into an already full time slot. All six of us tried a different entree and after taste testing were fully satisfied that it was the best eating on the property.

The casino itself was busier as the night went on and yes, we did hit a jackpot of $1,500 which put on a smile. Clean, well cared for casino and overall ambience made this the perfect birthday weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank visaliavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coarsegold
9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
8.8 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
9 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
10.8 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino

Address: 711 Lucky Ln, Coarsegold, CA 93614-8206
Location: United States > California > Coarsegold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Price Range: $120 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chukchansi Gold Resort and Casino embodies the ultimate in comfort, luxury, relaxation and excitement. Become inspired by the breathtaking views of the beautiful Sierra foothills from our luxurious and well-appointed rooms and suites. Escape to the luxurious Serenity Springs Spa to have your well-being and natural beauty rejuvenated. Treat yourself to Chukchansi’s unforgettable entertainment and dining experiences. And see why our world-class gaming offers the most ways to win. From the doorstep of the world-renowned Yosemite National Park you’ll find first-class attractions, including majestic lakes, exceptional skiing, championship golf and many other recreational opportunities. Your stay will leave you with a new appreciation for the Sierra Nevada foothills that we call home. The area’s natural beauty and an inherited respect for our native land is apparent in our ongoing environmental initiatives and a Green program in our Hotel rooms that promotes water conservation and use of environmentally-friendly products. Even before the towering Ponderosa pines are in your rearview mirror you’ll be looking forward to your next trip to Chukchansi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chukchansi Gold Hotel Coarsegold
Chukchansi Gold Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing