We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...Let Down In Other Areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Reviewed December 6, 2008

My grandparents have been long time fans of the Chukchansi Casino so my husband and I decided that we'd travel to the casino for his 26th birthday. A month or two before his birthday we saw on their website that a new hotel tower had just opened along with a great indoor/outdoor pool area. We called the resort and made reservations in the new tower. The price of the room was great and we looked forward to seeing what this casino had to offer.

We got a later start than we had planned. We didn't arrive until about 7PM. We checked in and went to find our room. The room was large and well appointed and even smelt new! We had checked out the menus for the on-site restaurants and loved the menu for the Market Buffet. By the time we got there and were ready for dinner everything was closed though besides Goldfields. We were bummed that they didn't stay open later or have "after hours" like other casinos we have been too. We decided to eat at Goldfields and the food was wonderful as was the service. We were just disappointed that we weren't going to be able to dine at the buffet. Dinner at Goldfields was the first meal we had eaten that day so several hours later, we here hungry again....good thing we had brought some sodas, a bag of chips, and some birthday dessert with us as there weren't even 24 hour snack shops or food vending machines anywhere.

The casino was clean however we found it not as easy to get around as other casinos. I think some other casinos are just better laid out.

Later that night we went down to check out the pool. We knew it was probably closed for the night but we wanted to see what time it opened again so we could enjoy it before check out the next morning. Once we got to the doors that led to the pool a sign was posted that it would be closed the following day. Major disappointment! We love swimming and the fact that they had a heated indoor/outdoor pool was a huge selling point for us and for it to be closed once we got there was disappointing. The view from our room was of the huge air conditioning system on the roof below us and we could hear the "humming" of system all night long.

All in all we had an average stay. The room was beautiful, the service was great, the food was good but the hours are lacking as are the views and the pool was closed. We'll probably visit again when we head up to Yosemite as it is in a great location but we won't be heading there for the "casino" experience any time soon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summer0fstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 381 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2008

We were offered two free nights stay at the new hotel tower for a standard room. It was a very nice place to stay, very new. Its location is ideal for a short trip to the southern entrance to Yosemite National Park. There is casino gambling and great little shops and a fantastic Buffet. The hotel rooms were larger than average, very clean and modern.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jeep_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed there for a long weekend in September. Overall, it was an above-average Indian casino but not outstanding. The rooms in the new tower and the restaurants were all nice. There was construction going on in the main lobby but it was only a minor distraction. I didn't hear any noise from the construction. We were there with our one year old son and I don't recommend it for children. For example, there were no cribs in the entire hotel. The pool bar was a disappointment but the buffett, on the other hand, was excellent.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Mgbeaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

The rooms are adequate and quiet. Staff not friendly. No one smiles here! One warning, the casino slot machines are OLD. They are very faded and don't spin smoothly. They were definitely brought in from another casino. Why build a beautiful place and put in discarded junk?

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2travel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

A great time was had for a birthday weekend with my husband and friends. We stayed in the "older" tower which doesn't feel old at all. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated.

We checked out the new Spa/Fitness Center and found free bottled water in the workout room in a fridge. (Get some and put it in your room for later).

Nativo's Italian restaurant was excellent. Service was a bit slow but then our reservations were fudged into an already full time slot. All six of us tried a different entree and after taste testing were fully satisfied that it was the best eating on the property.

The casino itself was busier as the night went on and yes, we did hit a jackpot of $1,500 which put on a smile. Clean, well cared for casino and overall ambience made this the perfect birthday weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank visaliavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Our travel goup stayed here for two nights while visiting Yosemite.
The entrance is quite eye catching with a large lake with forest atmosphere and a bear statue reaching for a salmon while another bear statue watched from the shore.
Upon arrival we were graciously greeted by a staff member and indoctrinated in the method of room keys. Our luggage was picked up and delivered to our rooms with surprising haste.
Our room was quite large with double windows facing East looking down at the entrance. The room was well appointed with two queen beds; an armoir with TV; safe; extra drawers and storage. Attractive indian pictures decorated the walls. There is a table with two chairs and a lamp. Internet access is available at this location. The night stand was between the beds with two lamps individually operated. There are two large drawers in this stand. Alarm clock radio,telephone and writing material completed the night stand.
The beds had attractive spreads; plenty of pillows and warm blankets. A thermostat took care of cooling and heating. They were central and therefore quiet.
There is a coffee pot with ample coffee;sweeteners and creamer. Two ceramic cups were a welcome change from styrafoam. These are in a corner away from the room proper.
The bath had lots of large soft towels and washclothes. The usual bath amentities were joined by a cute rubber duck that we were encouraged to take. There is advertising on it but not ostentacious.
Water was hot and plentiful and soft. There is a separate table with mirror and bench with hairdryer. The sink is separate from the shower and toilet by a door. Nice feature allowing one to prpare while the other bathes.
A large clothes closet with doors held an ironing board and iron.
The main restaurant has delicious food with rather abunbdant portions. Shareing an order is encouraged and the prices are below normal restaurants.
The only downer is the casino allows smoking but the system filters well so the odor does not permeate beyond the casino.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I run a tour operator company in St. Louis, MO. We recently did a tour of the CA National Parks which included a night at the Chukchansi Gold Casino for the night. Just 10 miles from the hotel, our motorcoach broke down. Upon learning of the breakdown, I called the front desk of the hotel (I was not with the group) and within a half hour, the hotel had their shuttle to the bus to begin bringing passengers to the hotel. I was EXTREMELY happy with the prompt help and positive action taken by the front desk and management of the hotel. They really helped minimize the negative impact to my customers. This is a great property with an outstanding staff!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank stlouistourguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coarsegold
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
8.3 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
253 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino

Address: 711 Lucky Ln, Coarsegold, CA 93614-8206
Location: United States > California > Coarsegold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Price Range: $127 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chukchansi Gold Resort and Casino embodies the ultimate in comfort, luxury, relaxation and excitement. Become inspired by the breathtaking views of the beautiful Sierra foothills from our luxurious and well-appointed rooms and suites. Escape to the luxurious Serenity Springs Spa to have your well-being and natural beauty rejuvenated. Treat yourself to Chukchansi’s unforgettable entertainment and dining experiences. And see why our world-class gaming offers the most ways to win. From the doorstep of the world-renowned Yosemite National Park you’ll find first-class attractions, including majestic lakes, exceptional skiing, championship golf and many other recreational opportunities. Your stay will leave you with a new appreciation for the Sierra Nevada foothills that we call home. The area’s natural beauty and an inherited respect for our native land is apparent in our ongoing environmental initiatives and a Green program in our Hotel rooms that promotes water conservation and use of environmentally-friendly products. Even before the towering Ponderosa pines are in your rearview mirror you’ll be looking forward to your next trip to Chukchansi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chukchansi Gold Hotel Coarsegold
Chukchansi Gold Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing