We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

First time we have stayed at Chukchansi while we were visiting Yosemite. Our suite was comfortable and well appointed, accommodates a small family easily with two bathrooms and a nice seating area in the front room.

The resort restaurants offer more variety than we expected and the food was good. The atmosphere on weekdays is quiet and relaxed, and no crowds to speak of.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    87
    48
    21
    27
See reviews for
84
101
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The pro's : very nice new rooms in the new wing of the hotel. We liked the pool area, it wasn't too busy. Staff was friendly enough. The con's : food options were limited as many restaurants were closed. Pizza from the bakery was horrible. The location is great for a visit to Yosemite.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed two nights with our three kids recently with a big hiking day in Yosemite between. We got everything we wanted out of the hotel; buffet one night, a little casino action both nights, swimming for kids a couple times, lots of room for kids playpen. The room was nice & big & the bathroom was a treat with the whirlpool bath. Only complaints were that there is a lot of smoking downstairs in casino-and the arcade has relatively short hours.

I would have given four stars if not for how the hotel acted when I made a big mistake.

I was loading the van & marveling how I got so many of the bags in the back upon departure. I even mentioned to my wife this fact, who was getting a two year old in car seat. She like that as no one would have a bag under their feet.

We did not notice that my wife's big bag was not in van at all. Either one of my kids rolled it over to a nearby bench, or I was too tired from the trip to notice it on the curb. We drove all the way home, about four hours away.

We called & found out that security had found it, did an inventory, & had it safely stored. There was no ID on the bag for them to call.

I did searches on how to get the bag delivered, but the hotel decided to send it AT THEIR COST. They REFUSED to let me pay for it. It arrived the next day. The bag had, among other things, four swimsuits, that were to be used at swimming lessons the next day.

I am SO ready for another trip to Yosemite, & my family agrees that we will stay at the Chukchansi again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Check in us at 3:00 our room was not ready until 6:00pm. Rude hotel staff, pool area was filthy, room stunk and was not very clean! This used to be a very nice place years ago :( but has gone downhill horribly :(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Botanical1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coarsegold hotels

Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice place with super potential. Unfortunately, its severely lacking in management.

Terrible attitude (Missy) at check-in. Check-in supervisor seems to take issues personal and has no options to help customers. One check-in clerk (Johnna) seemed to have it together.

Suite needs attention. Carpet is rolling up. TV remode was dead. Towels need fabric softener.

Room service was good. Bell desk was good. Valet was good.

Need to open the other restaurants.

*** Basically, this place needs a good management staff.***
Some people are right to work with people and some need to work in housekeeping.

Room Tip: Be sure to pound NO SMOKING into the head of the person making reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepytime53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Chukchansi for 4 nights. My two boys and my wife were headed to Yosemite National Park and we stayed at Chukchansi. We would leave every morning and come back in the afternoon. It was very convenient to have the free valet parking. The rooms were picked up every day and they were kept clean. The pools and gym were clean and well kept. Service was really good. On our departure we forgot some garments back in our room. The hotel personnel got a hold of my wife right away and then they mailed our stuff back to our house. I thought that was a very nice gesture. Thank you Michelle Johnson and the rest of the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the second newer Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Consuelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
Level Contributor
203 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overall, Chukchansi is a nice hotel and a decent place to stay if visiting Yosemite (probably 90 minutes from Yosemite Valley and 30 mins or so to the South Entrance). The hotel lobby and grounds are very nice. The casino is decent - typical of a Harrah's type. Disappointed at the restaurant selection. Looks like 3 of the restaurants are completely closed down and one evening the Noodle Bar was closed (which turned out to be not so great), the buffet shutdown early (OK buffet), leaving us with just Goldfields (decent but long wait) or the expensive steakhouse (which we did not eat at). The rooms are nice and clean but tough to keep cool for some reason.

I usually don't complain about the service unless it is consistently not good. This qualifies. The security guards throughout the casino made you feel like a criminal the way they watched. The wait staff was not very attentive in most places. The front desk people looked like they were just going through the motions and not very warm.

Just a bad service vibe throughout most of the place. Not everyone obviously. When we were served wine in a water glass at the noodle place, I went to the steakhouse and the bartender brought us over a nice glass since the Asian restaurant did not have wine glasses.

So - nice hotel, things to do at night (which is hard to find in this area) but they need more restaurants open and a lesson in customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bubbafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coarsegold
9.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
8.8 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
18.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino

Property: Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
Address: 711 Lucky Ln, Coarsegold, CA 93614-8206
Location: United States > California > Coarsegold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chukchansi Gold Resort And Casino
Chukchansi Gold Hotel Coarsegold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing