We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on the I-5”
Review of Harris Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harris Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coalinga
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oasis on the I-5”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've traveled b/f on I-5 between OR & AZ for 35 years and only recently (FINALLY) stopped in at the Harris Ranch. It is a beautiful property, capturing the rugged, independent "Cowboy Spirit" combined with the elegance & hospitality of a country manor. Caution - it is a working cattle ranch, as your nose will quickly confirm. With the largest feedlot in CA located just a few miles down the road, there is NO ESCAPING the pungent, earthy smell of cattle. The room was VERY spacious & well appointed. We quickly received delivery of a small refrigerator upon request. The highlight of our stay was dinner at the restaurant. CAUTION - bring a hearty appetite! The portions were quite generous. Having been appropriately warned, we opted to SPLIT the Beef Wellington (made with Portabello Mushrooms in place of pate, so no geese were harmed in the preparation!) Our server, Jessica, was especially delightful and engaging. Will definitely dine here again, whether we stay at the hotel or not!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Luxury King room, very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallywing313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    174
    66
    29
    13
See reviews for
124
176
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Harris Ranch seems to be a victim of its own success. Over the years this place has morphed into a wannabe upscale place to rest and relax on the long and largely empty I5 stretch in central California. The rooms are nice but lack basic appointments such as microwave and refrigerator and they are a bit small. Depending on where your room is, it can be quite a hike to the bar and restaurant.

The bar and restaurant is delightfully decorated. The food on the other hand does not measure up, especially considering the Harris Ranch reputation for fine beef. The club steak was out and out tough. The short rib BBQ was unremarkable, a braised short rib with some BBQ sauce poured on it and served over flavorless refried beans. One of our party had the 6 oz fillet which was very good but at a cost of $27 with no trimmings. Generally, the food was edible but substantially overpriced considering the quality of fare.

One gets the distinct impression that they have figured out they are the only game in town (but there is no town) and they are going to extract their pound of flesh. You will find it well worth your time (and pocketbook) to plan your trip so as to skate right on by Harris Ranch. A couple of miles off the interstate will yield big dividends in how you enjoy and spend your travel dollars.

PS The same is true of refueling whatever you are driving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our family stopped here on the way to Southern California. The suite configuration worked great for us and our small kids with a door that closed between the rooms. We had breakfast at the restaurant - good food and great service but quite pricey. The pool and hot tub looked inviting - next trip through we may arrive earlier and enjoy some of the amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skikayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We honestly had not expected much along hwy 5 but were pleasantly surprised by our stay here. First the rooms are really comfortable including some of the coziest beds I've slept in at a hotel. The K-cup coffee was a very nice touch. And even the bath amenities were wonderful. And at $150 per night on the day before thanksgiving I think the value was fantastic. We will most definitely plan to stay here again on the long trip from Los Angeles to San Francisco. And don't miss out on fantastic breakfast at the adjacent restaurant. It was great too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S&S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stay here at least once a year. It is convenient as we travel between our home on the Oregon coast and our place in Scottsdale. This is a great place to stay with a dog: spacious lawns, lots of trees and interesting fields nearby. The rooms are well appointed and I expect those not in dog-patch do better. We enjoy it enough not to be upset with the price. I would NOT make it a destination but it provides the service we need. Winter is better than summer. Insects are an issue some seasons.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped in a few days ago for lunch at the Harris Ranch Dining Room. Not impressed!
My husband ordered the beef wellington and it was overcooked and filled with cheese. The menu said it was a traditional bw and it was far from it. I had prime rib and crab. The prime rib was great but the crab legs had been sliced and were very dry and tasteless. The usual dip for crab is drawn butter, but not here. Instead it was some sort of mixture that was unrecognizable. The chefs are evidently trying to be creative and are ruining traditional dishes. We paid over $100 for this lunch and that was drinking only water. I had heard it was such a great place to eat. Sorry, but I think it is highly overrated. The service was great and the waiter friendly, but that was the only really good thing about our experience,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

when living in CA, used to travel from Southern CA to Sacramento at least four times a year. Used to stop at Harris Ranch - the first time was a total treat - and after that - each time was a treat. The food (meat) was exceptional - and used to purchase in their meat market all the time on the way home from Sacramento. I do miss Harris Ranch, living in Las Vegas now. The smell of the cows never bothered me for I knew I could eat the best beef there was right there. The atmosphere was/is delightful - and they have a really nice gift shop where I purchased several beautiful items for friends/family. It is a bit pricy, but isn't good food worth it?

Room Tip: Have stayed over only once, but the room was lovely. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingerTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalinga
0.7 mi away
Best Western Big Country Inn
24.0 mi away
Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites
24.4 mi away
Motel 6 Lemoore
Motel 6 Lemoore
#6 of 6 in Lemoore
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Coalinga East
Motel 6 Coalinga East
#5 of 7 in Coalinga
84 reviews
10.5 mi away
Laura Lodge
Laura Lodge
#4 of 7 in Coalinga
13 reviews
9.8 mi away
Royal Lodge
Royal Lodge
#3 of 7 in Coalinga
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Ranch Inn

Property: Harris Ranch Inn
Address: 24505 W Dorris Ave, Coalinga, CA 93210-9667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coalinga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coalinga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harris Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself with a stay at the Inn. The exterior is as handsome as an early California Hacienda, but it's what's inside the Inn at Harris Ranch that makes it truly special. Each of the 153 guestrooms and suites are tastefully designed in an inviting classic country theme. Enjoy an array of amenities to help you relax and unwind. Tax Free Rooms That's right when you stay at Harris Ranch, our rooms are tax free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harris Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Ranch Inn Hotel Coalinga
Harris Ranch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing