We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice local steaks and seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cool Hand Luke's Steak House

Cool Hand Luke's Steak House
955 Shaw Ave, Ste A, Clovis, CA 93612-3989
559-297-7435
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 256 Restaurants in Clovis
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice local steaks and seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a rustic western style steakhouse. Very popular with locals and you usually have to wait for a table. Nice comfy bar with stout drinks while you wait. The steaks are basic but really good, and my wife likes the salmon and campfire shrimp combo. Dinner salads are really good and have these tasty little onion strings on them. Service is almost always outstanding.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OldRockKnucklehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    23
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The ABSOLUTE best steak in town!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you want a great steak, you will not be dissapointed here!!!! The 16oz Rib eye steak is the absolute best in town. Fantastic Service!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Mediocre food and steaks. I don't think the place is worth the 50 characters required for a review here.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank lisachocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cool Hand Luke's good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Without reservations, we had to wait about 20 minutes before we would get a table. That is what the hostess said when we entered Cool Hand Luke's, and indeed, after 20 minutes our pager blinked, and we got a table.

The restaurant is informal, in a kind of western style. No problems with that, and the menu offered plenty of choices. The appertisers were great, and a meal on themselves. As main course we had rib eye (very good) and prime rib (very fat, well prepared and not our cup of tea).

Next time we will go to Luke's again, order the rib eye and something else on the menu :-)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmenemNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Western Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The food was Deliciously prepared with a Southern taste of friendliness.

Helpful?
Thank Ivy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cool Hand Luke's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Cool Hand Luke's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing