We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Japanese (casual dining)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I Love Sushi

I Love Sushi
Ranked #23 of 256 Restaurants in Clovis
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese (casual dining)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have experienced their service of Careful personality & Deliciously prepared foods, with a Delightful ambiance, at "I Love Sushi" especially on my birthdays :) thanks to my children!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
201 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun hole-in-the-wall place with great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very good sushi, nice salads, eclectic decor, fun place to eat. The buttons to call your server are a unique touch too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rams1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Declining quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have been an I Love Sushi patron since it opened. They used to provide generous and unique rolls with good quality sushi and sashimi. Service was never blazing fast, but that was to be expected with the quality you recieved at the other end.

My last few visits (over the last few months) have witnessed a decline in service, portion size and quality. On my last visit I noticed a dramatic difference. If you view their web site, you will see pictures of rolls and other items. The reality is nothing like the pictures taken a number of years ago. I did not see a roll exit the kitchen that had more than 6 small slices. I recieved an unagi (eel) roll that in the past had pieces of unagi draped over it. Now (if there is unagi in it) it has been run through the food procesor and blended with tuna and placed hidden in the middle.

I also ordered maguro sashimi. It was the smallest pair of sliced fish I have ever seen in any sushi restuarant. I mean 20 plus years of eating sushi and I never saw a smaller piece of fish delivered to my table. I advised the waitress of this and she took the item back. The manager returned with my ORIGINAL slice and proceeded to tell me how I was wrong, how they have always looked like this and how they are weighing their portions so no one gets more or less.

I tipped our waitress well and advised her that this place is off my list. I thanked her and will never return. there are several sushi restuarants in the area I will gladly spend my money in. This place is evidently declining, or has had a change in ownership or management that is going to make this place fail. If you're smart, find another place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love their Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the seaweed salad as well as the Dirty Harry roll. Very fresh and tasty.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank goodchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“What are the staff doing?!?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I'm sorry, I've really tried to give this place a chance but the service is always so bad that I can't live with myself if I rate it any higher.

The sushi is OK, moderately priced for a sliver of what you'd receive elsewhere, and the atmosphere isn't too bad either, but unless you have all day (or evening) to sit and wait around for your food, the service here might scare you away- I know that's what happened with me.

On multiple occasions I've waited well over an hour (one time an hour and a half) to get my order. There were just two of us and we didn't order anything extravogant. The facility seems to be properly staffed, but I have no idea what everyone is doing because they weren't waiting on us, making our food, or checking on us to at least give us a glimmer of hope that our food would soon arrive.

I'm sorry I love sushi. I know you appear to be popular, and I might have a different experience if I visited you in the evening, but you don't value my time or hunger enough to give me an acceptable dining experience- so I'm breaking up with you. Afterall, Sushi and Pop is right down the street....

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Love Sushi also viewed

 

Been to I Love Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing