We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat eaters delight”
Review of Shila Korean BBQ

Shila Korean BBQ
Ranked #105 of 272 Restaurants in Clovis
Restaurant details
Clovis, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meat eaters delight”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Ate here yesterday…on a Thursday and got there @ opening time (11am). There were 5 in our party. Your seated @ granite countertop table with a grill in the middle. Lunch is $12.99 and $14.99 depending on the meats chosen. For our group we all chose 3 meats: bulgogi, pork belly and spicy chicken. Basically you cook your own food and sides are offered as well. The sides were Korean pancake, kim-chee, bean sprouts with sesame oil, cucumber with vinegar, potato salad and rice if you choose. Come here only if you want lots of meat. We got our money's worth for 5 guys………6 full plates of bulgogi, along with one dish of spicy chicken, 2 dishes of pork belly and 3 dishes of Korean pancake. Our group went to town with such good flavored food. If your hungry…..go here but you need 2 people to eat here….you can't eat alone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Finally tried the new Korean BBQ restaurant called Shila. Had no preconceived ideas of the menu. It is a beautiful place and the food was both interesting and overall just ok. Your meat choices are brought to the table, and you proceed to cook them on your personal grill at the center of the table. There are several side dishes already at your preset table, including our favorite of the meal, a large pancake, made of what seemed to be potatoes. The BBQ chicken was quite good, and the thinly sliced beef was better than the short ribs. Go with a hearty appetite and it's all you can eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank papaal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome experience at the best Korean BBQ in Clovis!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I can't say that the service is quite top notch, but the food is excellent!

I'd highly recommend the cow tongue and beef brisket. They cook really quick and are really tasty. The pork neck is also incredibly good. I wasn't the biggest fan of the baby octopus (it didn't seem the freshest), but the squid was just perfect.

Prices range by height for children (so expect to pay full price if your chile is older than 8 or 9). Prices range for adults between lunch and dinner and between different selections of meats. For example, there's a base price at lunch, but if you want to add seafood, plan on a couple extra dollars per person.

This is a place I'd highly recommend if you're into all you can eat, trying new things, and being a carnivore.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food, but ugh...the noise level is terrible”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was happy to see Fresno/Clovis finally got an authentic Korean BBQ restaurant. However, since I frequently dine alone, I was disappointed to learn that the restaurant does not cater to single diners. Tables have a 2 person minimum and singles are charged for 2. I got my friend to join me.

The menu is all you can eat style with 3 levels of pricing on the dinner menu $17.99, $20.99 and $25.99. The higher the level the more choices of meat such as shrimp or Tiger shrimp. We chose the $17.99 price and were told that both of us had to have the same price level. One person could not have a different price level meal. Odd but possibly due to one person getting a lower price meal and eating the higher priced meal options.

The table is equipped with a hibachi in the center. If the grill gets too much cooked residue it will be swapped out for a fresh one. A plate of fresh, raw meats are served and you do the cooking. Be very careful here. Although we were given 2 sets of tongs to handle the meat, we were NOT advised in food safety. Be sure to avoid cross contamination by using one set of tongs for raw meat and the other for cooked meat.

When you are seated, there are bowls of Kimchee and other side dishes waiting for you. Pickled radish, bean sprouts, potato salad, noodles, Korean pancake and a small green salad. All of these were very good and nothing like you have eaten in other area restaurants. Yay for that. Our server brought bowls of hot steamed rice. We selected the bulgogi, chicken and pork belly to start. The meat cooked quickly on the hot grill and was tasty. The pork belly, a Korean style bacon was good. The chicken and bulgogi were tender and also very good. The boneless short ribs were excellent and nicely spiced. We also asked for mixed vegetables and were served green and red peppers, mushrooms, zucchini and onions which we cooked on the grill.

The Korean pancake is a flour-based pancake with scallions, peppers and onions. We cooked it a little more on the grill and agreed that it was better crisped up and eaten hot.

We loved our meal and the opportunity to experience authentic Korean BBQ, but the noise level in the restaurant was terrible. The hip hop music was a nice addition to the atmosphere, but it too added to the noise level. Perhaps an outdoor seat would be a good alternative.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank salesmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shila Korean BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Shila Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing