We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good sashimi”

Kijima Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #95 of 269 Restaurants in Clovis
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good sashimi”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I travel all over the country and whenever in an unfamiliar town I look for a good locals joint. I read the reviews posted here and on other sites. Two descriptions caught my eye 1) hole in the wall in strip center and 2) good sashimi. Well, everyone knows the best places are local hole in the wall restaurants. Sure it's not an upscale restaurant but it good food at a good price. I had tuna sashimi and seaweed salad. Both were very good. They also served a cucumber salad that was great. Fast service, good food and a good value...'nuff said!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sanger, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My fav for sushi/Japanese food in Clovis/Fresno area”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Favorite place In our area to enjoy Japanese style dishes, sashimi or sushi. Friendly staff, small but adequate dinning. Not one of the trendy joints with sushi and loud music or train tracks of old food floating by. Authentic, more traditional, quality food. Made fresh to order. Like the staff, but we have our favorite waitress. She is really good! We've tried most of the Japanese Restaurants in the area, hands down this is it!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and service - great value!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were just stopping over in Fresno on way from Vegas to yosemite and looking for somewhere reasonably healthy to eat after too much excess! We happened to see this place as we drove past and decided to stop. Great little place with excellent sashimi and huge bento boxes for a very reasonable price. The teriyaki salmon was delicious and can highly recommend this place if you are looking for somewhere to eat in Fresno.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate_M44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Traditional Japanese in Town”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you like traditional japanese / sushi, then you have to try this place. Dont expect fancy sauces or nuts, just good ol sushi. My favorite sushi spot in town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank whip383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place for sushi in Fresno/Clovis.”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

If you really love sushi (not talking about rolls) this is the place.
I can tan't talk about the other other dishes and rolls, as I never had
anything but sushi here.

The fish is always fresh, the rice is just right.

Nothing fancy, and they have never disappointed me.
Been going there for over 10 years.

I find the prices very reasonable, comparable to other sushi bars.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ams30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kijima Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kijima Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing