We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Pass This One Up”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mad Duck

The Mad Duck
Ranked #4 of 267 Restaurants in Clovis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: About the Duck We are a family of seven friends who wanted to build a restaurant that values integrity over profits, quality over laziness, and our guests above all. When we first got the idea for the Duck we wanted to do it right, we wanted to do it simply, most of all we wanted to do what we love, work together and make great food. Our restaurant is our testament to what we think restaurants should be; fresh, friendly, and lively. Hope to see you soon, and often!
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Pass This One Up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We've eaten at the Mad Duck a number of times. It is a nice friendly neighborhood restaurant. Lots of menu items are served in plastic baskets but they'll bring you a plate if you ask. The last time we were there the restaurant was really cold. We should have mentioned our discomfort to the staff, but we didn't. Outside eating area is available and is really pleasant on warm afternoons.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lwagsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

When the Public House closed, one of the bartenders there went in and owns part of the Mad Duck. Its small. Has outdoor seating, but that is also small.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hea1t1her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Salad great - Burger missed the mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were told to get the burgers, told best in town. Well my wife had the " Gilroy Burger" and we had salads. No joke, my wife's meat portion was so small she had to cut into two pieces just to fill out a bun that was no bigger than a English muffin. Our salads were wonderful, no joke. When we told our friends and family who told us to go eat their, they said the would have sent it back.

Maybe a repeat visit, Maybe.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
367 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quack! A great place to migrate to for great food and fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great sports bar. Very good service and outstanding food. Fun atmosphere. Awesome appetizers. The burgers are unique and very tasty. Super salads. All of this at a great price. I would definitely migrate here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

FOOD
I've tried a few things on the menu and all have been very tasty. A few of the stand outs are the Beet Salad, Triple Bypass sandwich, and their Fries. The french fries are so good. I don't know what they batter or season the potatoes with, and I don't care, they're great!

DRINKS
They have quite a few taps and a full bar. They have some creative cocktails, which most of those are their version of a classic drink. Their take on a Manhattan is quite nice.

ATMOSPHERE
Very casual, comfortable. A little bit of a sport bar going on. I do wish they had more seating, but they'd need a new location for that to happen.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank superjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mad Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing