We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Owners-very remote location-paper thin walls!”
Review of Old Crocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Crocker Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The good: the linens and bedding were very comfortable, good quality & clean - even the pull-out sofa used by our nephew & his wife was great. The breakfasts were wonderful. The grounds were huge and secluded and we saw deer in the lawn-very cool. The Inn also accepted our nephew's dog since we were not in the main house - for a very nominal extra fee. All very much appreciated.
The not so good: the pictures on the walks looked to be from a dime store & none were hanging straight (may be just a pet peeve of mine); the water from the faucets was brown when we first arrived! Owner explained he had just changed over the pumps on the well-so that was cleared up without much of a delay but that should have been checked before we arrived. The very small TV was ancient-we didn't even try it.
The really bad: the walls were paper thin! The people on the other side of the building we were in (we were in the Central Pacific Suite) started pounding on our door about a half hour after we arrived - then proceeded to tell us they were up there for the peace & quiet! That was not the Owner's fault we realized-but still most of the clientele was much older than us (& my husband & I are in our 50's)! Those sitting around the place even stopped talking & stared at us when we arrived & we're just your average couple! Very odd.
The really bad: dead mouse in the pool, broken pool chairs scattered around that did not look like the place was being kept up at all, windows that were hard to open - again - lack of maintenance or attention to detail.
From the photos on the website we expected something nicer & I was embarrassed when we walked into our suite since I had made the reservations. My family said "it was not THAT bad" - but that's not a strong endorsement either.
Could be very special with some attention to maintenance, some over due upgrades and definitely more insulation in the walls!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravelFromPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sconesncrepes, Owner at Old Crocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for taking time to provide a review. We appreciate your positive comments and welcome constructive criticism.
We are sorry our inn did not meet your full expectations. First, the walls between the rooms are well insulated and normal conversation and TV sounds do not transmit. We will check for those sticky windows; they happen from time to time in historic buildings. Some of the pictures are very old cowboy prints from the ranch of my childhood that we think fit the historic and rustic motif of the inn. We hope you appreciated the beautiful California landscapes painted by a noted artist. We are family friendly and have all ages from infants to grandparents.
We apologize for the water problem. It was a serious but temporary and we thought it would be cleared up before you checked in. We regret the inconvenience.
Our pool is serviced every day and the furniture put back in place after guests rearrange it. Not sure what was broken as we have just checked and stored it for the winter. We take cleanliness, attention to detail and maintenance seriously as our many reviews mention.
Oh, yes we sometimes have crooked wall hangings. This is California after all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Old Crocker Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 321 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed at the Old Crocker Inn a few times now, and it's consistently a great experience. We always stay in the Jupiter Room, with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, a fire place, mini fridge with fresh water, large bathroom complete with spa-style robes, and a private deck with table and chairs. The grounds are beautiful and we love wandering around in the morning - last time we saw deer! There is a pool and hammocks, and chairs lining the porch on the main building. This place is nestled away in the trees, on a hill overlooking wine country, and it truly feels like you're miles away from anything stressful. I always leave feeling relaxed and refreshed, like I've taken a trip to the country. Tony and Marcia are great hosts - there is always wine and baked goods upon arrival, and delicious, 3-course breakfasts with herbs from the garden. If you're looking for a cozy B&B with comfortable rooms and gracious hosts, this is your spot! It's in a perfect location for a wine tasting weekend - we usually go to Campovida in Hopland and then come here - just a 20 minute drive away. I highly, highly recommend this to couples, friends and families!

Room Tip: We like the Jupiter room as it's separate from the main building. There are a few private cottag...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Old Crocker Inn and absolutely loved it. The wrap around deck outside my room was a wonderful place to sit, relax, commune with nature and enjoy the view over the Sonoma wine country. The room inside was clean and comfortable with many period touches reflecting the history of the house. The property is arranged as a comfortable ranch house amid grounds including a pool. The Old Crocker Inn has a long history as a hunting lodge, dude ranch, and now a B&B. It is out of the way enough for a quiet retreat, yet close enough to interesting towns, excellent wineries, ancient redwood groves, and stunning coastline in this most beautiful part of California. I can see why the Crocker family chose this spot in the 1800s, and thankfully we can all enjoy it today.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a unique character, check the website and choose your very own style.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euromarketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Happened upon the Old Crocker Inn when searching for a place to stay. This is a charming, clean place to stay. Tony & Marcia are the owners and run the place and made us feel right at home. Peaceful setting, great rooms and delicious snacks and breakfast. Plan t spend some time on the grounds. Decks and pool area are so relaxing. A great place for a whole group. I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the little cabins which was great. All have nice patios or decks. I think I'...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Old Crocker Inn on several occasions and have always been very pleased with our accommodations and the warm welcome we receive. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, Tony and Marcia are wonderful hosts, and the breakfast is fantastic. In Sonoma it's hard to find a good value in lodging but the Old Crocker Inn is a gem.

Room Tip: We like the Jupiter room. It's small but very cozy and the bathroom is amazing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Old Crocker Inn was beautiful. It is feels secluded and quiet. We stayed in the Jupiter cottage and the room was comfortable and clean. They had lots of movie DVDs to choose from and a TV and DVD player in the room. There were also board games and other past times to choose from. The pool was a short walk away from the cottages and lodge, which made it feel very private. There were often a doe and her two fawns roaming around the gardens munching on the shrubbery and flowers. The couple that runs the BnB were great! Breakfast was good. They don't really offer options - they offered one main course - but were easy about changing it a little when asked. The only drawback (I didn't think it was as big of a drawback as my husband did) was how far it was from the closest town. There is actually a sign as you're getting close to the Inn saying "don't despair, you're almost there"! It was about a 20 minute drive to town. But in town, there was an Italian restaurant called Diavola Pizzeria & Salumeria. It was probably the best Italian meal I've ever had. So that was a plus! I would definitely recommend the Old Crocker Inn! It was totally worth the money. Plus, they are a participant in the wine passport thing that gets you 2 free tastings at over 120 local wineries. Saved us a lot in tasting fees.

Room Tip: Make sure you spend one dinner at Diavola Pizzeria & Salumeria. In all my world travels, it is t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brtst11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Beware!
We booked in February, through Expedia. When we arrived, the owner wouldn't host us for more than two nights, although we had booked five. And Expedia had sent us a confirmation!
The owner said he could not get in touch with us to confirme the reservation. Expedia says that their reservation is good.
Weekend beginning of August...we ended up in a Holiday Inn beside the freeway in another - boring - town.
The Inn is situated in a beautiful area, quiet, well equipped with a nice pool and great breakfasts. Shame that they throw us out after two days!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Gunnar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
11.7 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
5.3 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cloverdale Wine Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
24.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
581 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kelley & Young Wine Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Crocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Crocker Inn

Address: 1126 Old Crocker Inn Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425-4333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range: $178 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Crocker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a hunting retreat owned by railroad magnate Charles Crocker in the 1880s, the Crocker Ranch has been a sheep ranch, dude ranch, restaurant and B&B. Tucked into the hillside above Sonoma County's Alexander and Dry Creek Valleys, two of California's great wine appellations, the Old Crocker Inn offers ten guest rooms and cottages, full breakfasts, massage service, a swimming pool and plenty of space to relax. This is rustic luxury at its best, just minutes from Healdsburg and dozens of world-class wineries and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Old Crocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Crocker Hotel Cloverdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing