We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beer, good food, good people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruth McGowan's Brew Pub

Ruth McGowan's Brew Pub
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Cloverdale
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good beer, good food, good people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This brewpub had seven of its ales on tap, and I tried the lot. They do 4oz tasters at $1.50 a glass so its not an expensive night. But beware, some are potent - the Monster Brown Ale has an ABV of 7.6% and even the moreish Cloverdale (amber) Ale is 5.8%.

The food was good - we had two variations of burgers - and the portions were generous.

The only downside is that they don't serve spirits. My wife thought one of their wine based cocktails could have done with a vodka kick.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deryck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino
2 reviews
“Good food, good beers and great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had the chicken chimichanga and the patty melt. The beers are very diverse and excellent! The service was exceptionnal!
We will go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bouboulette80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Made a visitor feel really welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went in here for a meal on our first day in Cloverdale and staff made us feel very welcome. We both had burgers which were some of the best we've had. Great value as well as a great atmosphere. Just a shame we did not have time to visit for a second time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miles2784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They prepare takeouts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had fried calamari and hamburgers to go for dinner so that I could enjoy with the wines I bought that day. It was fantastic! People there were so friendly even though I was out of town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sleepless_In_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gotta love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Family friendly, fun place. What could be better than a great selection of tasty brews, good food and watching the Giant's? We enjoyed the food but the beer is great! Brewmaster Tim Gallagher supplies robust selection of beer for any taste preference. On a hot afternoon, try the Citrus Wheat or for the the hop heads the Monster Brown. The Dry Irish Stout has a beautiful creamy head. For the newcomers, the sampler is a great way to start.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Midgegallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth McGowan's Brew Pub also viewed

Cloverdale, Sonoma County
Cloverdale, Sonoma County
 

Been to Ruth McGowan's Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing