We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the beer selection.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruth McGowan's Brew Pub

Ruth McGowan's Brew Pub
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Cloverdale
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the beer selection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Went for a few beers after dinner. Most of their beers are brewed in house and the have a wide variety. Each one we tried was excellent. The service was excellent, we sat at the bar. We didn't order any food but everyone else was raving about it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

My wife and I ate here before Friday Night Live a couple of months ago. They were packed but we only had a very brief wait. We made it a little complicated with a large order we split and another small order, a soup I think it was. We figured we'd just spit it, hoping for an extra plate perhaps, but they split things in two, some here, some there, much more than they needed to, they really went out of their way. The primary order was fish and chips, and I forget what the secondary one was. But reasonable prices, outstanding service, a real locals place, we saw a few people we knew. I might be underrating it with a 4, not a 5, but to me a 5 is exceptional, more than good or very good. They routinely have specials on a sidewalk board out front, and while I've only been there once they often look very good. We will be back soon I hope.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leldel@optonline.net
Level Contributor
161 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Great Pub in Wine Country - GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Excellant Bar Food - Great home brewed beer. Nice change after tasting wine all day. The specials looked excellant.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank leldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good brews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Enjoyed the darker ales from this unassuming brew pub. We were in Cloverdale to explore the wine country but appreciated the opportunity to sample some of the local ale. Good atmosphere and food was better than expected.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband and I love, love, love this place for breakfast on the weekends when Paul is cooking. Not only is the food delicious, it is presented beautifully (who would think in a Brew Pub?) The portions are quite healthy and not to be missed (if you like Eggs Benedict) is their sampler Eggs Benedict plate. Another favorite is the Huevos Rancheros. We stumbled upon this place on Father's Day when we were looking for a restroom and have been going back for breakfast on the weekends ever since!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat2062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth McGowan's Brew Pub also viewed

Cloverdale, Sonoma County
 
Cloverdale, Sonoma County
Cloverdale, Sonoma County
 

Been to Ruth McGowan's Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing