We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge on the Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 5 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
1 review
“Exceptional service, great food!”
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed with Stan and Anna from July 3rd thru the 5th. The B and B was very nice, and spotlessly clean. The friends that we were traveling with had toured the Sonoma area previously and wanted to get married at the Shelford House because of its charm and location on a beautiful countryside. The Smith's don't normally host weddings, but agreed to make this day special for our friends, and that they did! The wedding in their lavendar garden and reception went off without a hitch. It was beautiful and memorable. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Shelford House and recommend it highly!

  • Liked — The host/hostess, the food, the room/ammenities
  • Disliked — A bit too much nearby traffic
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RascalDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    59
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
323
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Okay . Certainly not worth 4.5 ranking. It is on the intersection , one can hear loud honking.

  • Liked — room decor
  • Disliked — honking
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanna, Owner at Auberge on the Vineyard, responded to this review, August 30, 2008
As you can see from the photos, we are out in the country, and there is no denying that there will be traffic when you live in an acricultural area. Honking? Only if you try to pull out in front of a local on their way to pick up their pizza! Everyone else seems to be very happy when they stay with us, and we just wave when the traffic goes by....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed at the Shelford House and attended a wedding there over the 4th of July weekend. The hosts were wonderful people who bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. Although they don't normally host weddings, they should consider doing more of them, as they did a FABULOUS job with the whole event. The accommodations were great and the food was outstanding. We also got great recommendations from the hosts for places to visit and things to do in the area. We will definitely stay again when we return to the area and will recommend the Shelford House to all of our friends and family planning a trip to Sonoma County.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank zymurgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Shelford House B&B in Cloverdale Calif.
June 2008

My husband and I had the great pleasure of this quaint and beautiful B&B. Just two weeks ago we found ourselves in the middle of a little bit of heaven. Our trip was 10 days long and the Shelford house was one of the most memorable stays of our trip. Anna was so warm, we felt like family. Our sister in-law owns a B&B upstate N.Y. so I kind of know what to look for. Anna had it all. Anything, I mean anything we could have wanted was at hand. Things you didn't even know you needed, or would have enjoyed were right there. BREAKFAST was the best . Ten days of great B&B breakfasts are hard to beat and Anna did. One more thing. ANNA'S CHOCOLATE RUM CAKE was number one on our list of BEST things we had eaten on the trip.

So if you're looking for a real treat the room, food and hospitality at the Shelford House, is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank klockslolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

After reading so many positive reviews we shortlisted this property for new years eve for peaceful evening.

Every single review forgot to write about, hotel is right next to the road . So once You are out of the room you can hear trafic noice which is very annoying. Nothing is so great about view from the room either or breakfast .

for $156 its not worth it

  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank frnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanna, Owner at Auberge on the Vineyard, responded to this review, June 21, 2008
We are shocked with the response of this guest. As you can see from our other guests, they are thrilled to stay with us, and most return because they are happy with their visit. Our Inn is in the country, and has traffic just like every other Inn that has a road close to their them. As for the breakfasts, if this guest didn't like what we served, I would have made them something that would have been more to their liking. I always ask all of our guests if there are certain foods they do not like, so everyone walks away happy. Maybe they are just not B&B people, and we hope that they find another Inn that suits their needs.
To future guests of our Inn: Please give us a chance to show you how special your visit with us can really be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Shelford House. We were there for only one night, but it was perfect. The views from the front porch are breathtaking. Our room was cozy and had everything that we needed for a comfortable night's rest. Anna, the innkeeper, provided a delicious breakfast using local fresh fruits, breads and eggs. She was a wonderful resource for planning a drive through the surrounding area.

We would highly reccommend the Shelford House.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — The local town left a little to be desired
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mrtalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We just returned from the Shelford House - a 2-night stay for a special occasion. We live around 90-miles away from the inn/area, and have stayed in other places in Sonoma County many times over the years. This was our first visit to the Shelford House.

Anna and Stan and their staff do an awesome job to make everyone feel comfortable. We'd read all the tripadvisor reviews before booking.

Our fellow travelers were from various places, but several of them were celebrating occasions --- birthdays (us), anniversaries, and a honeymoon couple. Some had come from the SF Bay Area and others from further. It was a good group.

Anna and Stan make everyone feel comfortable and seem to have an inate sense about people. I think Anna has ears in the back of her head as I said something (not too loud) about the difference between fritatta and quiche and she answered me from across the house. They are very attuned to their guests.

The rooms are absolutely impeccable, as is their service. I think I'll call Anna the "constant cookie queen." She's always making cookies. Nothing is wanting in the rooms either. We stayed in the Sarah room (small, in the Carriage House) but we spent much of the time just relaxing and reading, even though there is a TV and other things in the parlor in the Carriage House which we could have used, but didn't.

The Sarah room was perfect for reading and relaxing as it had great lighting and we each had our own wing-back chair to read for hours. We loved it!

We arrived on a rainy Friday night, and the only thing we were missing was a place to slice the bread and cheese we'd brought. They had the wine bottle opener, the cookies, the water in the fridge in the Carriage House. Everything!

As others have said, the towels are incredibly fluffy, there are bathrobes, the ambiance and scenery is awesome (on the edge of a vineyard), the Carriage House even seems Victorian (though it's not that old).

Our only issue (as others have said) is that the traffic on River Road (right under the windows of the Sarah Room) can be noisy but the innkeepers make no bones about this. They can't control it and it's not their fault. But, they do provide "industrial grade" earplugs in the unit --- part of the package, which is wonderful. Soaps, shampoos, bath salts and a huge wonderful bottle of lotion. Great stuff!

Don't get me wrong on the traffic. It's not all day long. But, periodically a car or truck will go down that road close to the house and you can hear it and it could disturb your sleep, if noise bothers you at night. I sleep through noise but maybe others can't.

Also, I took my SO for his birthday dinner on Saturday night to Piacere Risotorante Italiano on No. Cloverdale Blvd. It's a wonderful small family restaurant . Our food was wonderful (raviolis for the birthday guy and linguini with clams for me) but it was very crowded on a Saturday night. I thought maybe we would have to wait to be seated or served. Everything was very efficient --- service was swift and excellent. I highly recommend that restaurant.

I can't say enough positive about Shelford House and our experience over this restorative long week-end, including the wineries we visited in the Dry Creek Valley appelation (Dutcher Creek, Bella, Quivira) and the wonderful Italian restaurant in Cloverdale.

Enjoy.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank platinumWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
14.6 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
8.2 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cloverdale Wine Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Vineyard Valley Inn
Vineyard Valley Inn
#2 of 4 in Cloverdale
32 reviews
14.9 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Kelley & Young Wine Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge on the Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge on the Vineyard

Property: Auberge on the Vineyard
Address: 29955 River Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425-3510 (Formerly The Shelford House)
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge on the Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge on the Vineyard enjoys unsurpassed views of Alexander Valley Vineyards. Situated at the confluence of Dry Creek, Alexander and Anderson Valleys, there are hundreds of artisan wineries to visit in the area! Our guests receive a wine tasting and discount pass, accepted at more than 100 area wineries and good for free tastings. Also included is our "almost famous" three course French inspired breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Auberge on the Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge On The Vineyard Hotel Cloverdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing