We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super charming, super sweet owners, very homey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge on the Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 5 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super charming, super sweet owners, very homey”
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Great place, very charming. Warm cookies greeting you in the PM. Owners really enjoy what they do and it shows. Only minus - one a road with a fair amt of traffic. if you were in the city you wouldn't notice it, but since it's so quiet otherwise, you can hear the cars go by if you have the windows open. If you get a room more on the back of the house, maybe you wouldn't hear it. loved the place overall though.

  • Liked — the sweet owners, views of the vineyards
  • Disliked — some traffic noise in an otherwise quiet town
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    59
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
323
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We chose a trip to Sonoma as part of our honeymoon road trip having been deterred by reports that Napa has become 'touristy', and against that backdrop we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay than the Shelford Inn.

it is located surprisingly conveniently for highway 101, yet it seems like it's in a different world. Surrounded by vineyards but within extended walking distance of the small town of Cloverdale (which has a couple of really good restaurants), we felt like we were staying with friends such was the welcome and attention to detail that innkeepers Anna and Stan paid.

The room was beautiful, the homemade breakfasts were amazing and the tips for which vineyards to visit were absolutely spot-on.

We will be back and we are lobbying friends and relatives to visit too. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — The innkeepers were excellent and knew how to make the most out of our stay
  • Disliked — Didn't stay long enough!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ignaceus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Hosts Stan and Anna were very friendly and provided a great breakfast and good sightseeing advice. We were there in the midst of a heat wave, but the air-conditioning in our room was sufficient, though the bathroom was like a sauna. The room was very comfortable. If I were to visit the area again, I would probably try to find something closer to Healdsburg, even if it were a hotel (as opposed to a B&B) in the cute town. The town of Cloverdale itself isn't even worth stepping into. There are some wineries here, but most are about 15-20 minutes south, in and around Healdsburg. Same with restaurants. And we had a great few hours one afternoon at the local indian casino (though it is admittedly an eyesore, during the day and particularly at night!) On the other hand, a stay at the Shelford is like a home away from home, cute, nice views of vineyards. One guest was using it as a base for bike rides around the area, which was an ideal idea.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MonthlyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The first floor of the carriage house is spacious and has a great view of vineyards.Very clean facility with places to sit and sip beverage of choice all around-- porches on main house, patios/decks carriage house, and wherever you walk around property. Anna and Stan very friendly and helpful. The 3 course breakfasts were delicious and unique--I am not a morning person but I eagerly bounded out of bed in anticipation of the treats to come! And being served at 9 AM allows for leisurely coffee on the porch in the cool of the morning before eating to your hearts content! The Benders, The Woodlands, Tx.

  • Liked — Breakfasts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SWBTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding,CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Anna was very friendly AND she is an excellent cook. Hopefully, she will make her chocolate rum cake while you are there. Our particular room was near a road and I was concerned about noise but all was quiet that night. The bathroom had an awesome view of a vineyard, as did the side porch with the swing. All and all, a very nice place and, for the wine country, reasonable prices.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — near a road
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2007

On our tour in the West, we booked a stay at The Shelford House from the 26th - 28th of July 2007.

We enjoyed the excellent service of the innkeepers Anna and Stan. Great breakfasts, charming Victorian house situated in the middle of vineyards , clean room .

We sure will recommend The Shelford House to our friends in Belgium. Be quick to make a reservation ...

Guy & Vera

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Be-Hopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We were extremely satisifed with our two-night stay at Shelford House. The accomodations and food were excellent. We especially enjoyed sitting on the porch with the view of the vineyards. We will stay again when we return to Napa Valley.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Going across hall to bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurse15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
14.6 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
8.2 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cloverdale Wine Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.3 mi away
Vineyard Valley Inn
Vineyard Valley Inn
#2 of 4 in Cloverdale
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kelley & Young Wine Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge on the Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge on the Vineyard

Property: Auberge on the Vineyard
Address: 29955 River Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425-3510 (Formerly The Shelford House)
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge on the Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge on the Vineyard enjoys unsurpassed views of Alexander Valley Vineyards. Situated at the confluence of Dry Creek, Alexander and Anderson Valleys, there are hundreds of artisan wineries to visit in the area! Our guests receive a wine tasting and discount pass, accepted at more than 100 area wineries and good for free tastings. Also included is our "almost famous" three course French inspired breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Auberge on the Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge On The Vineyard Hotel Cloverdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing