We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Lodge at Whitehawk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge at Whitehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Clio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Templeton
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

This is definitely a place we will return to. The location is incredibly beautiful....a hidden paradise of California. Jerry and Mary Ann are fantastic hosts. My husband got a flat while he was mountain biking and Jerry was in his truck to go pick him up before I had a chance to get off the phone. They are so friendly and attentive. By the end of the weekend I felt like we had known them for years. The food was spectacular and the cabins are clean, well decorated and private. This was one of our best vacations yet. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieTempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sacramento,calif
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We had a great get-away with our four footed friends. The accomodations were perfect, our cabin looking out on the meadow from the porch was so relaxing. Our dogs were welcomed everywhere we went. They especially liked the lawn in front of the lodge to play ball on, and the great swimming hole just for them. They also joined us for breakfast and dinner on the porch. The staff at Whitehawk are very gracious and welcoming.We will return!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Owners Jerry and Mary Ann went out of their way to ensure a perfect weekend for our annual family getaway. All 22 of us enjoyed the great meals, beautiful scenery, hiking, cycling, golf and just relaxing and enjoying the view from the porches. Their hospitality was much appreciated and we would love to return to this wonderful lodge.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurieStockton_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2009

My husband and I spend 3 wonderful days here and I recommend this place for it's location near many great hikes. The cabin was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_ikt
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

My boyfriend and I just returned from our 3rd visit within the past 14 months to the Lodge at Whitehawk, and it continues to be one of our favorite weekend getaways! The Lodge at Whitehawk offers the most relaxing and perfect lodging. The accommodations are individual cabins with peaceful front porches. The cabins are very clean and well maintained - open, airy, with high A-frame knotted pine ceilings, wonderful amenities including natural stone tile in the bathroom, wood flooring, and comfortable throw rugs. This visit we returned to the Palomino cabin, which is a one-bedroom cabin with a queen sized bed and jacuzzi tub. The front porch looks out over an open field, with the golf course, cow pasture, and mountain range in the distance. When we visited in October with another couple, we stayed in a 2-bedroom, 1-bath cabin. It was also just as nice, surprisingly roomy and laid out for comfort. Good in-room heater, which was needed in October. My only criticism is that one of the bedrooms is furnished with twin beds (intended for families, and not really made for two couples). The lodge itself is a wonderful restaurant at which we enjoyed a superb dinner. In your cabin rate, the lodge provides homemade breakfast similar to a bed and breakfast offering. No menu choices, but the meal has always been great (I always leave with recipes from the owner/chef). This past weekend we had an egg breakfast casserole with sausage, blueberry coffee cake and fruit one day, and french toast with orange sauce, bacon and fruit the next.

There are lots of outdoor activities to choose from in the area. We played golf at nearby Plumas Pines on Friday, and at Whitehawk on Saturday. Then we explored the Plumas-Eureka Park and gold mining site on Sunday. Briefly on the golf, I have to say that Whitehawk is my favorite course to play. If you don’t golf, there are endless hiking trails and lakes to kayak and swim. The owners at the lodge are very helpful and have detailed maps and recommendations. I would also recommend eating at Longboard’s located at the Plumas Pines golf course. This restaurant has an outstanding chef, and we compare the food to the best restaurants in bigger California cities. It is always such a treat to be in this beautiful, wooded, sierra getaway and find perfectly prepared and FRESH tuna, swordfish, scallops, not to mention the pork chops and risotto! If you are looking for a getaway for relaxation and peacefulness, I strongly recommend the Lodge at Whitehawk!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_ikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Jerry and Mary Ann are great hosts. The lodge and cabins are not near the main hwy. The cabins are very private and nothing beats a cup of coffee on the porch early in the morning. Great location during the week, specially if you like cycling and hiking. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2009

For the past several years we have spent Memorial Day weekend at Whitehawk Lodge. We love it there! The classy cabins, the beautiful and peaceful surroundings, the outstanding meals, and maybe most of all the wonderful people, assure that our stay will be incredible. Each day while we are there we hike, ride our bikes or explore, then return to Whitehawk to relax in our cabin's little heaven of peace and quiet. A soak in the cabin's Jaccuzi tub or nearby spa, then sitting on our private porch with a glass of wine, enjoying the meadow with the cows and horses, while we watch the sun go down. It just doesn't get any better than that! By the next morning we are always ready for one of the incredible breakfasts that are included with a stay at Whitehawk.

Jerry, Mary Ann and the staff have become friends and make us feel like family, so coming to Whitehawk really does feel like coming home. When we finally must (reluctantly) leave, we make reservations for the next year; we already have our reservations for 2010, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovewhitehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clio
5.5 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
279 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
45 reviews
7.7 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
110 reviews
11.3 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitehawk

Property: Lodge at Whitehawk
Address: 985 Whitehawk Drive, P.O. Box 175, Clio, Graeagle, CA 96106
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle > Clio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hour from Tahoe or Reno. Enjoy golfing, hiking, biking, kayaking or fishing; relax in your own private cabin, each with a deck overlooking spectacular mountain surroundings. Adjacent to award-winning Whitehawk Golf Course with charming Graeagle nearby. Unwind in our main lodge with sprawling decks, bar and dining. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, pond & tennis courts to enjoy. Pets welcome (we even have a swimming pond for dogs). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing